We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garmoran Square
Nearby Hotels
Loch Shiel Hotel(Acharacle)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
50
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringlocal bakerylangoustinesfloor to ceiling windowswithout reservationstunning viewsthe cottagesopen firehigh standardsusanpropertiesapartmentaccommodationwalksheatingscotlandweather
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We just wanted to say a big thank you to Kenneth and Susan for such a wonderful week at Garmoran Square. The accommodation was everything we could ask for and the location was fantastic for day trips around Ardnamurchan. It really is a special part of Scotland – scenery, places to visit, people and amazing beaches! We have taken home lots of lovely memories so thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NR39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garmoran, Owner at Garmoran Square, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Many thanks for your great review, I am so please you really enjoyed your holiday in our area, we think it is a very special part of Scotland and it is always great when guests agree and remind us of this!

We hope to welcome you back to Garmoran again in the future

Many thanks
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Just returned from a lovely break to Garmoran Square where we stayed in the MacRuairi 1 bedroom cottage. This was perfect for our family (2 adults and a baby), the cottage is extremely well equipped and Susan & Kenneth were kind enough to provide a travel cot for us. The area is beautiful and well worth the long drive out to Mingarry Point. We really enjoyed a day trip to Tobermory from Kilchoan which is about a 50 minute drive from the cottage where you can catch the ferry service. I would recommend that you sample the catering option that Susan promotes, we had a lovely meal on our 1st night which was in the fridge on our arrival and just required heating up. It included local seafood and venison and at £15 a head for 3 courses was great value and an excellent alternative to cooking ourselves

Room Tip: Sample the catering options that are available
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArcticMonkey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garmoran, Owner at Garmoran Square, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Many thanks for your great review. It was nice to hear how much you enjoyed our lovely area and your trip to Tobermory. Garmoran Square is a good base for a holiday if wishing to do day trips to Mull, the Small Isles or Skye. We were happy to provide the travel cot, we always welcome children and hope people find that the cottages are child and baby friendly.

We hope to be able to welcome to Garmoran again in the future.

Many thanks
Susan MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

... because I'm worried it will be overrun with bookings and I would never be able to get it again!

Just back from a short break. We stayed in Macruairi, which is a one bed cottage, but it is far from small. The living room/dining room/kitchen is light and airy with views on all sides. The bedroom has plenty of storage and thoughtful touches, including bath robes, an alarm clock and hair dryer - which you don't always see in a holiday rental. Even better you can plug the hair dryer in right next to a mirror - so infuriating when the only socket is miles away from a mirror!

The bathroom has a deep bath which fills up in no time at all and a marvellous power shower which really does wake you up double quick in the morning!

This cottage is the best equipped I have ever stayed in and is luxurious without being OTT and you feel you can't touch anything for fear of breaking stuff. A great selection of DVDs for all tastes and books and games are also provided if you just want to chill out and stay in.

We can fully recommend and have already booked another cheeky break later in the year. Really looking forward to it and seeing the hosts Susan and Kenneth, who are extremely welcoming and clearly have worked very hard to bring such a high standard of accommodation to the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garmoran, Owner at Garmoran Square, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Many thanks for your great review - love the way your describe the cottage, think I will borrow some of your wording! I am really pleased you appreciated all the things we have put into the cottages, we tried hard to think of everything we would want when on holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Garmoran later in the year.

Best Regards
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Just back from a long weekend at Garmoran Square. Stayed in Macruairi the 1 bedrom cottage. What a joy. The very best self catering ever! Susan is a lovely welcoming host. This area is so beautiful and the people friendly and helpful. Would recommend without reservation. Will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doreen346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garmoran, Owner at Garmoran Square, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Many thanks for your great review, we so glad you had a lovely stay in MacRuairi, as our 1 bedroom apartment this is a great get away for couples. So nice to hear how much you enjoyed the area and how friendly and helpful you found everyone.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Garmoran Square

Best Regards
Susan MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed in the Tioram accomodation for 4 nights in September and it was the most relaxing and peaceful few days i've had in a long time. The apartment is super modern and the floor to ceiling windows open out onto beautiful views regardless of the weather. All the fttings and fixtures are top notch and i couldn't fault it. The main bedroom has a huge jacuzzi bath and the silence at night is fab.
All the surrounding countryside is amazing and there's lots to do if you love the outdoors. We took our little well behaved dog with us too and she particularly loved the underfloor heating :). We will definately return and would highly recommend this place if you want to relax & unwind.

Room Tip: Tioram has three good sized bedrooms.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garmoran, Owner at Garmoran Square, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Many thanks for your great review, we are so pleased you loved the interior and floor to ceiling windows, we really do believe these are one of the things that make Garmoran Square special, the fact you can sit and watch the changing weather, light and wildlife with Ben Resipole as a backdrop!

Hope to welcome you to Garmoran again in the future

Best Regards
Susan MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews