We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Loch Shiel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loch Shiel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Acharacle
Certificate of Excellence
Shetland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Can't comment on the rooms, as we just stopped off for food here a couple of times during a week's break in the area. Friendly staff and delicious home-made and well presented food, served up by an open fire. Would definitely visit again if we were in the area - need to try more of those desserts!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Crieffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    15
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
22
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Very friendly atmosphere made to feel welcome for a small village pub excellent choice of traditional scottish meals at value prices. Beautiful scenery at the side or loch shiel eat in or out side play area for the kids

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigp197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have just returned from a lovely weekend in shielfoot a little piece of heaven , wonderful. We had a lovely meal in the hotel . I had the chicken in whiskey sauce ,my husband had venison burger both meals were delicious, the staff were very helpful and polite. Simon was serving behind the bar, sorting bills the till the pumps and a number of other jobs at the same time, who said men cant multi task? we never waited long for anything, He was so friendly and having a laugh with us at the same time. The locals who were in couldn't of been nicer asking our names and telling us there,s whilst calling in the rounds a special hello to Frank who was dressed in all his scottish outfit looked very smart. There were locals and holiday makers in there and the bar had a great atmosphere I would recommend any one to go there for either a drink or food [go on treat yourself to a meal out] and we will definatly go back next time we are in the area , hope thats soon. Keep up the good work . Good luck and hope it goes from strength to strength.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lez2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

If like us you were "never going back" having encountered previous owners Basil and Cybil then you really need to have a rethink. Now under new management, guests are receiving 5-star service at 2-star prices. My only complaint is that we couldn't move in permanently! Lovely room with an incredible view, superb service and friendly staff - what more could you want? We'll definitely go back and will stay longer next time.

Dave and Denise

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavidBeveridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acharacle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

This hotel has received a recent change of ownership. Simon and Christine have taken over and are striving to improve tthe standards of his ilocally important. hotel and restaurant. These folk have already cleared up the formerly tatty outside and it now looks open and clean. They have removed a wall that separated the bar from the eating area making the former gloomy bar area bright and open.. We arrived for a late lunch and it came up, soup and a sandwich quickly, hot and with a friendly smile. It is early days but they have put a new menu together which includes all home cooked meals, local salmon, steaks and fish and chips. We look forward to coming back when they have settled down after the silly season . After your meal take a walk down to the shores of Loch Shiel where the old jetty stands and take in the glorious views. Take a look at their website for further details. I wish them all the very best in their new venture.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hushpuppy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Have to say had an excellent meal at the Loch Shiel in a cosy atmosphere. My chicken with haggis was one of the most flavoursome meals I've had in a long time and my husband enjoyed his pork very much too. The staff were friendly and attentive ( and didn't say "Enjoy" as they placed my meal in front of me - a real bug bear to me!) My cranachan was excellent and the sticky toffee pudding didn't last long either. Will be back to sample more soon I hope.
The bar atmosphere was congenial and the bar was filled with a mixture of locals and visitor's alike.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkilivett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We have just visited since 2012 but did not stay overnight but had a wonderful meal. The property is under new ownership and it shows....friendly faces, welcoming surroundings and a great atmosphere...... food and drinks are well priced and served with cheer....what a breath of fresh air....noticed a lot more locals in the bar since last visit and that must be a good sign...maybe our motor home could stop in the car park next visit.......good show....

Room Tip: Cannot comment as did not stay.............
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acharacle
4.3 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
12.9 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
6.6 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Strontian Hotel
The Strontian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Strontian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
12.7 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
6.6 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Shiel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Shiel Hotel

Property: Loch Shiel Hotel
Address: Acharacle, Acharacle PH36 4JL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Acharacle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Acharacle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Shiel Hotel is now under new ownership & new management. We are a small 8 bedroomed, family run hotel in the West Highlands of Scotland. Offering home cooked seasonal food, light lunches, evening meals in our friendly bar or restaurant. With views over Loch Shiel and the hills of Moidart beyond we offer a welcome escape from the hustle & bustle of your everyday routine. Great food & a warm welcome awaits ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Loch Shiel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Sheil Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel Acharacle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing