We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
66
26
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
26
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloch shielsmoked fishgreat hotelloaded burgergreat areachef markhighly recommend this hoteldining roomsea basslangoustinesopen fireporkwelcoming staffan upgradewarm welcomestayed here for one nightlasagna
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2017

I was here twice in October, For a drink and for dinner and for lunch. Very friendly great service, good food, and good company what more do you need.
I had the fish and chips both times. My pint of Belhaven was nice as well.
Its a nice local place. wander in order at the bar along with a pint and sit down when its ready.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaJLSH, Manager at Loch Shiel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your visits to us and that you felt the service, staff and food were good,
thanks again
kindest regards
Lynda
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

We travelled as a group by boat from Glenfinnan on a wild ,wet and grey day . We visited the hotel for lunch and the sight of the roaring coal fire on arrival was just what we needed ! Lunch was lovely , staff polite and friendly , toilets pristine and well equipped especially for changing baby, providing complimentary nappies and wipes . We ate in the dining room which was old fashioned and had lovely original features. All in all a lovely stop . Would like to 're visit and maybe book in next time. Keep up the good work !

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank libby767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaJLSH, Manager at Loch Shiel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you so much for your review! I am so pleased you had a nice visit and enjoyed your lunch with us.
We try to make sure that mums and dads have everything they need when they are travelling with wee ones as so often in rural areas people can be caught out with lack of supermarkets etc,
I sincerely hope you make it back to LSH one day,

kindest regards
Lynda
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Once again our stay at the Lock Sheil Hotel has been simply superb!
We were greeted by the charming (in fact very charming) Amy and immediately made to feel welcome.
Sam, behind the bar was polite, professional and friendly and very good at his job.
The rooms are immaculate, the staff so very professional and the food is first class.
Mark, the chef is a 'legend' and very amiable.
To top it all off Lynda, the boss was on top form and she runs a very 'tight ship with nothing left to chance.
PLEASE visit and enjoy a first class venue!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Louis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaJLSH, Manager at Loch Shiel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. As always it is an absolute pleasure to have you guys visit and we all look forward to seeing you again soon!
kindest regards
Lynda
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night while in Acharacle. We loved the warm welcome on arrival, on a miserable wet afternoon. The fire was lit in the bar, and we spent a lovely evening sitting with locals and visitors alike. Dinner in the conservatory was faultless. Scallops, steak and sticky toffee pudding. All beautifully cooked. The staff were friendly and really made us feel welcome. The bar comes alive in the evenings with local people popping in. Breakfast was as good as our dinner had been. Despite horrendous wind and rain outside, we all slept well. Comfy beds, immaculately clean, friendly, cosy. Loved the way the hotel has had some refurbishments but has managed to keep the feel of being in a Shooting and Fishing Lodge. Will definitely be back. Thanks guys

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Vacationer718813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaJLSH, Manager at Loch Shiel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words.
I am so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us at LSH, we endeavour to make everyone who comes through our doors as welcome as possible and our lovely locals enjoy nothing more than getting the craic with visitors, I hope we have the pleasure of your company another time in Loch Shiel hotel,

kindest regards
Lynda
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Chose the hotel because advertised as pet friendly (for which no surcharge). Traditional style country hotel, quiet location, friendly and helpful staff. Top floor room a liitle on small side but adequate.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaJLSH, Manager at Loch Shiel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review.
We do love it when guests bring along their four-legged friends! I am glad you had a nice stay with us,

kindest regards
Lynda
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews