We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
67
27
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
27
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loch shiel locals and visitors smoked fish loaded burger spent a lovely evening country hotel highly recommend this hotel dining room warm welcome second to none langoustines welcoming staff well behaved great area an upgrade open fire sticky toffee pudding
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Pleasant enough place in a remote location , and to be truthful not many other options nearby but the food could be improved.
We just came in on the off chance and there was plenty of space ( only one other couple eating) both of us had fish and chips and it was mediocre at best and not particularly cheap, however I suppose costs are higher in these remote areas
Staff were very friendly

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JANDDBritinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaJLSH, Manager at Loch Shiel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal with us and am surprised that our fresh local mallaig haddock was not to your liking, our fish & chips is by far the most popular item on our menu and usually thoroughly enjoyed however I am glad my excellent staff made your visit more enjoyable,

kindest regards
Lynda
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Friendly staff, pleasant surroundings, good beer choice, extensive menu, quality food, good value for money, good blend of locals and visitors, all positive. Would advise to book a table for dinner because it did get busy.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
Thank scorbett69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaJLSH, Manager at Loch Shiel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave a review, I am so glad you enjoyed your time in Loch Shiel hotel and hope to see you again in the future!

kindest regards
Lynda
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

This location was a beautiful stopping point overlooking the Loch. The manager was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The food was amazing!! The best food that we ate during our week long drive through beautiful Scotland. The road to and from the Hotel was an experience as it was primarily a 1 lane road. We booked 3 rooms and the views from 2 of the rooms was amazing!

Room tip: The rain shower in a room located on the second floor was amazing!
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaJLSH, Manager at Loch Shiel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review!
I am thrilled you had an enjoyable stay with us in LSH and sincerely hope we have the pleasure of your company another time,

kindest regards
Lynda
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

I can highly recommend this hotel, situated in a lovely position at the bottom end of Loch Shiel. It may not look impressive from the outside but inside you are assured of the best of Scottish hospitality. The staff are excellent, in particular the manager, Lynda, who went out of her way to make available an impromptu drying room for wet walking gear. The room was recently renovated, clean and comfortable. The restaurant didn’t have a Michelin star but was more than adequate. In short, a little gem.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank JimH865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaJLSH, Manager at Loch Shiel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review.
It really was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us in Loch Shiel hotel and I sincerely hope we see you again in the future,

kindest regards,
Lynda
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

Popped in for lunch whilst passing by and we were both really impressed by the food and the service; I had the langoustines and soup and my husband had smoked fish and fish and chips. They were some of the freshest and tastiest and best priced I’ve had - and we’ve been coming to Scotland for over 25 years and make a point of seeking out fish restaurants to eat in. The waitress (and I can’t remember her name) was fantastic; genuine, friendly, helpful. We felt very welcome and she was giving us directions to lovely beaches andpaces to see. It was such a lovely experience that next time were up, we will make a bee line for this hotel. It’s very worth the 2 hour drive for.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaJLSH, Manager at Loch Shiel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, I am thrilled you had such an enjoyable visit.
We are very lucky to have access to beautiful fresh locally sourced seafood and I am so pleased you enjoyed it so much.
I hope you had a chance to enjoy our beautiful beaches in the glorious sunshine we have been enjoying recently and look forward to seeing you in LSH again in the future,

kindest regards
Lynda
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews