We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality restaurant, best stop on our trip”
Review of Barley Bree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barley Bree
Ranked #1 of 4 Muthill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights in june 2013 and it was the highlight stopover of 2 weeks touring central and east Scotland. The local food has a french influence and between us we ate 4 different meals over 2 nights, all of which were excellent. Food at neighbouring tables was going down equally well. Service was excellent from all staff from arrival to departure, at all meals and between meals. Well worth a big detour.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank X H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Barley Bree
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

Booked for dinner and an overnight stay. Room 3 (standard room) was clean, the bed very comfortable and the bedding of a high quality. I was disappointed though by the shower (electric) and the room layout. Only mirror in room was on the inside of wardrobe door which made drying my hair a bit of a chore. At £105 B&B, facilities could have been better. Dinner was good, the food being of excellent quality, with the exception of a sirloin steak which was extremely fatty. Breakfast was lovely- the bacon in particular. We enjoyed our stay however total bill was fairly hefty, with main courses costing £20 upwards.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank KarenG_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend between Christmas and New Year for a treat. The room was excellent - very good quality furnishings, comfortable beds and all the usual facilities.

We really came here for the food though as that is what it's known for. The three course menu was fantastic. We had home made bread to start which was a great touch, as were the amouse bouches of spiced parsnip soup. Great starters ( guinea fowl terrine / red snapper), the venison was fabulous, as was the made to order tarte tatin. Great service too. The food is not cheap but it is worth it - good for special occasions or a treat! The breakfast was great too - they use very good quality ingredients that they don't try and be too fancy with.

We will definitely be returning here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Received vouchers for Barley Bree from friends, we were advised to book dinner and what a wonderful experience it turned out to be. Room spotlessly clean and power shower brilliant. Menu small but varied, every course beautifully presented and perfectly cooked, service friendly and unobtrusive. First visit but certainly not the last, would recommend to anyone who enjoys excellent food and service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill_strachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Last week was at least our 6th visit to this wonderful restaurant and, without exception, the food, from the amuse bouche to the petits fours with the coffee at the end, is always beautifully presented and utterly fantastic. The French chef is an incredible talent in the kitchen and, although the menu isn't huge, there is something for everybody and I can guarantee you will not be disappointed whatever you choose. On a couple of occasions while making my booking I cheekily asked if their Lamb Shank will be on the menu that night (mouthwateringly delicious!), and each time they have made a point of doing so - such a lovely touch (you wouldn't get that in London!).
Add to this the fact that is is also a very pretty restaurant set in a centuries-old inn with original features and rustic charm, exposed brickwork, log fires, etc. owned and run by a tremendous chef and his lovely Scottish wife who really know their stuff and are very eager to please. We love it and it's always high on our list whenever we find ourselves in Scotland.

Oh, and by the way, I know for a fact that a VERY well known chef from the local area dines there on a regular basis, recommendation or what?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank galefours19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Had dinner here with friends. It did not disappoint - excellent in all respects. Friendly and professional service, fantastic food and wine, lovely surroundings. It is not cheap, but represents good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comrade98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I remember this place when it was a dingy old pub going know where. Have watched as Alison and Fabrice have bravely and carefully, nurtured and developed this now little gem. They certainly dont need my endorsement but if you havent been here your nuts. Every time I'm back home I visit and it is always consistently excellent. I wish them well on their exhilarating journey and look forward to many more wonderful meals. Actually we ought to go and stay, the've got some pretty smart rooms!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Innspiration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muthill
3.4 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
777 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Fillans
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
556 reviews
17.0 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
431 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barley Bree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barley Bree

Address: 6 Willoughby Street, Muthill PH5 2AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Muthill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Muthill
Price Range: £82 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barley Bree 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In beautiful Perthshire less than an hour from Edinburgh and Glasgow. Award-winning restaurant with 6 guest rooms all ensuite. The menus showcase local food, such as hand-dived scallops, venison carpaccio,apple tarte tatin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Barley Bree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barley Bree Hotel Muthill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing