We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit, Won't be the Last”
Review of Barley Bree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barley Bree
Ranked #1 of 4 Muthill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

First visit to Barley Bree today for Sunday Lunch. Wonderful aroma of the coal fire hits you on entering. Food was excellent with special mention for the celeriac soup with Stornoway black pudding. Roast potatoes served with the roast beef were to die for. Couldn't manage dessert but a wide choice. Overall a very relaxed ambience and I will have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Owner at Barley Bree, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you so much - delighted you enjoyed it. Sunday lunch is one of our busiest days, and therefore one of the hardest to manage so we are really pleased your first experience was good and hope to welcome you back often!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were treated to a meal out here and had heard that this a was must eat-out place. The ambience and decor had character and the fire was a nice touch.

The menu was a little light in terms of choice and the dishes of food were presented well - they could be improved by serving seasonal vegetables to accompany the meal.

Overall, a lovely wee gem of a restuarant, one worth visiting if in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valued_Guest12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Visited the Barley Bree (again!) on Saturday for a family meal. It didn't disappoint our already high expectations from previous visits - the lounge with fire was truly magnificent to sit in, the wine and food were utterly spectacular and the staff couldn't be faulted. The dining room is cozy and made of wood from top to bottom giving it a really special feel and is great for spending long periods chatting whilst being brought various culinary delights. The food and wine may appear relatively expensive, however, you definitely are paying for the quality and uniqueness of the food combinations. Five star food, lovely surroundings and a truly personal interaction from the staff. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask staff for a room that will suit your needs best in terms of access/stairs, bath/shower, romantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gronald1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Owner at Barley Bree, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Very kind of you and such positive comments inspire us to continue!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had our Ruby wedding celebration here 2 years ago and had a fantastic meal, so I was really looking forward to taking my friends there, I talked it up big style. We took 2 rooms for the night so we could enjoy the night to the full. However maybe because of high expectations it was a big let down. The menu was short and the food, while decent was not memorable, the cheese board would not have fed a mouse, the staff however were excellent and the selection of Malts saved the night. Breakfast was another let down at £105 bed and breakfast a half slice of black pudding and a half slice of Haggis???? really!!!!! Definitely a let down.
PS Don't take room 3 as it requires updating, our friends in room 5 had a much nicer room with a decent shower.

Room Tip: The rooms apparently are being refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Owner at Barley Bree, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

So sorry that you didn't enjoy your time with us. If there is any aspect of your stay that you would like to discuss further with me directly then I can be contacted anytime at Barley Bree by telephone or you could write to me if you prefer.
I would however like to point out that our menu may be short but it is exactly the same size of menu that we have been doing since opening 7 years ago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Fine dining with a relaxed ambience. We went to celebrate a birthday with a young baby and an elderly granny and graduated age group in between.. The bread in particular was the first delight The menu was of a la carte standard even at lunchtime continental influences with local produce. we all found something that we would like or have always wanted to try. The ox cheek was absolutely first class and a very fussy granny loved the Hake. The Tarte Tatin was a scrumptious end to a lovely meal. Prices comparative to some celebrity chef restaurants in Edinburgh but I would suggest a less pretentious menu. This chef knows about food. . The descriptive wine list was appreciated as we are not conniseurs,but the Cabernet was a nice lunch time selection.
Much has to be made of the service. We were largely unaware of another customer who became so unwell that an ambulance had to be called. The staff were discretion itself. They were calm and efficient dealing with the incident but hardly a blip in our high standard of service..Very attentive and interested in us.
Liked the art work on the walls too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank No1AMCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

It seems rather inappropriate that the Barley Bree should rate one out of two merely in Muthill when I'm sure it could hold that position against much stiffer competition in neighbouring Crieff.
We have eaten there on several occasions but most recently for lunch. The home-baked bread was superb and the menu whilst not overwhelming you with choices was nicely balanced and even the fussiest diner would have found something to tempt him. The food was indeed excellent, the wine list gave a wide choice at reasonable prices and the service was attentive and friendly.
The Barley Bree is definitely worth a small detour if you're anywhere in that neck of the woods and certainly a restaurant that we will return to.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FlyingScotsman92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights in june 2013 and it was the highlight stopover of 2 weeks touring central and east Scotland. The local food has a french influence and between us we ate 4 different meals over 2 nights, all of which were excellent. Food at neighbouring tables was going down equally well. Service was excellent from all staff from arrival to departure, at all meals and between meals. Well worth a big detour.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank X H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muthill
3.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
586 reviews
6.2 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
806 reviews
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
The Highlandman Station
#17 of 27 in Crieff
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
4.6 mi away
Gleneagles
Gleneagles
#1 of 3 in Auchterarder
3,605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gowanlea Bed & Breakfast
Gowanlea Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Muthill
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barley Bree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barley Bree

Address: 6 Willoughby Street, Muthill PH5 2AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Muthill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Muthill
Price Range: £91 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barley Bree 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In beautiful Perthshire less than an hour from Edinburgh and Glasgow. Award-winning restaurant with 6 guest rooms all ensuite. The menus showcase local food, such as hand-dived scallops, venison carpaccio,apple tarte tatin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Barley Bree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barley Bree Hotel Muthill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing