We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous restaurant with rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barley Bree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barley Bree
Ranked #1 of 4 Muthill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant with rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here this weekend with two friends and had dinner and bed and breakfast. It was a lovely experience. The staff are delightful, rooms small but very comfortable and the food is delicious, imaginative and exquisitely prepared and presented. There was a vegetarian menu also which offered really unusual selections and was very much appreciated.
The hotel is in a sweet little village near Crieff and Perth. There are only a few rooms and no room service, phone or internet and they were not missed one bit. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    27
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
32
120
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Siddington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

How often do you stay in a hotel where the room was perfect, the breakfast without fault, dinner excellent and all sensibly priced. To top it off EVERY staff member smiling, knowledgable so helpful. Not to mention Gleneagles and Crieff golf just down the road, heaven!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenfarg, Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just been there today (26.04.2014) for lunch. This is high quality in terms of food preparation and presentation. If you walked into a really nice restaurant in rural France and got this, you'd be very, very happy.

Young front-of-house staff are courteous and efficient. Ambience is cosy and comfortable. A place to relax.

Excellent wine list and a small but perfectly put-together menu. And in terms of value for money - wonderful.

On the basis of this visit today, right up there at the top list of Perthshire restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Owner at Barley Bree, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
So glad you enjoyed the Barley Bree experience. And thank you for your comments. We do try to make sure that all our guests have a good time - sometimes hard to do that consistently - and our staff really work hard so thank you for noticing their efforts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

What a great little family run hotel - serving some of the best food I have eaten for a long while.
Great dishes, cooked faultlessly and served in a beautiful cosy restaurant with a warm friendly atmosphere.
Rooms were also really nice, big comfy bed, roll top bath and lovely furnishings.
The breakfast is also first class, cooked to order and everything was delicious.
This hotel offers great value for money and the restaurant is also a must visit for anyone who loves good food - not far away from a Michelin Star !

Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful stay !!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Owner at Barley Bree, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Too kind! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the food was up to scratch. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

My Wife and I travelled to Muthill on Wednesday 26th March for a two night stay.
Arriving at the Barley Bree we were immediately shown through to the lounge where we were provided with a refreshing cup of tea and coffee. Just what was needed after our long journey from Yorkshire. Staff made us feel so very welcomed. We were then shown to our room we stayed in room V which was lovely and clean with a really cony super kingsize bed.
eating in the evening we had a delicious dinner the food was truly sensational. Having eaten at a number of michelin starred restaurants We can honestly can say the food was every bit as good as any we had eaten at. Fabrice is truly a master chef.
If you haven't visited this restaurant with rooms you really are missing out.
Breakfast was delicious freshly cooked presentation for breakfast was every bit as good as for the evening meals care and attention to detail is clearly as important to Fabrice as the flavour of the food itself. Fabrice also makes his own brewed which was a delight so much so we bought a loaf to bring back home with us.
We can't speak highly enough about this place it is definitely somewhere we shall be returning to in the future. I look forward to seeing a michelin star being presented to the chef in our opinion the food is truly good enough its is clear why this place was voted Restaurant of the year in Scotland for 2013.
A special mention must go to front of house staff who make your stay so relaxing, nothing is too much trouble. They are all wonderful and care about the job they do.
Thank you Barley Bree for a truly wonderful two nights stay. this place is definitely one of our favourite places

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAmember09202016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Owner at Barley Bree, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again. Thank you for all the lovely positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed two nights, the room was lovely, a comfy super king bed, lovely big fluffy towels, a nice sofa to sit on, what else could we need. Best of all is the food, even if the menu is small there is plenty to choose from and we were glad we had two nights as we could sample more. The wine list was extensive. The breakfast was wonderful, not he run of the mill we particularly enjoyed the French toast with beautiful Ayrshire bacon. All in all a super weekend break.

Room Tip: If you can go for the premium room it really is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobnsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Owner at Barley Bree, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We hope to welcome you back on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

First visit to Barley Bree today for Sunday Lunch. Wonderful aroma of the coal fire hits you on entering. Food was excellent with special mention for the celeriac soup with Stornoway black pudding. Roast potatoes served with the roast beef were to die for. Couldn't manage dessert but a wide choice. Overall a very relaxed ambience and I will have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Owner at Barley Bree, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you so much - delighted you enjoyed it. Sunday lunch is one of our busiest days, and therefore one of the hardest to manage so we are really pleased your first experience was good and hope to welcome you back often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muthill
6.1 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
3.5 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
4.5 mi away
Gleneagles
Gleneagles
#1 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,995 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barley Bree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barley Bree

Property: Barley Bree
Address: 6 Willoughby Street, Muthill PH5 2AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Muthill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Muthill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barley Bree 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In beautiful Perthshire less than an hour from Edinburgh and Glasgow. Award-winning restaurant with 6 guest rooms all ensuite. The menus showcase local food, such as hand-dived scallops, venison carpaccio,apple tarte tatin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barley Bree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barley Bree Hotel Muthill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing