We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab”
Review of Barley Bree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barley Bree
Ranked #1 of 4 Muthill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Great room with comfy beds. But the best thing is of course the restaurant which is really fantastic. The chef is highly acclaimed and that is apparant in all the details of the dishes. We loved every bite! Breakfast was great too and the staff really attentive! Thank you!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    29
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
35
122
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Giffnock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This was a weekend we had wanted to take for a while. We stayed over two nights and had a very relaxed weekend. A lot of This was due to the low key but efficient service by the staff. We hat a corner room which met all our needs. We ate in the Restaurant both nights as this was the main reason for our stay . The menu had a choice of four starters, mains and desserts
Everything we had was excellent and was almost tempted to have the same main twice. It was an expensive weekend, but you get what you pay for, and we did drink rather a lot. Would recommend for a special occassion.



  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgbclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was beautiful accommodation, very very clean and all new decore. Bed/bedding was like flying away to dreamland on a cloud, so comfortable! Soundproofing was good - I would not have guessed there were any other guests in the hotel. Staff were friendly but not intrusive and the included breakfast was excellent. While I have no specific complaints and had a lovely stay, I'm not convinced the hotel is as fancy as I was expecting given the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingJess2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doune, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Last year friends gave me a voucher for a meal at this hotel as part of a big birthday present.
So my wife and I decided to add the overnight stay and we were not disappointed.

Staff are delightful; friendly, always smiling, very attentive and always on hand.
Great attention to detail, and this makes the difference between very good and excellent.
We stayed in bedroom II, and although it overlooks the main road it was very quiet.
The room itself was nicely decorated and clean and very comfortable.

There is a good selection on the menu and dinner was a gastronomic treat.

Nice selection at breakfast too with buffet and hot meal choices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The place has to be ranked high on the list of best places to eat in scotland. The place has real character and the staff are tremendous. The chef has real passion for what he does and it shows. This chef is among the best in britain hands down. Tho iv never stayed. Defcoming back here

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austim00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here this weekend with two friends and had dinner and bed and breakfast. It was a lovely experience. The staff are delightful, rooms small but very comfortable and the food is delicious, imaginative and exquisitely prepared and presented. There was a vegetarian menu also which offered really unusual selections and was very much appreciated.
The hotel is in a sweet little village near Crieff and Perth. There are only a few rooms and no room service, phone or internet and they were not missed one bit. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

How often do you stay in a hotel where the room was perfect, the breakfast without fault, dinner excellent and all sensibly priced. To top it off EVERY staff member smiling, knowledgable so helpful. Not to mention Gleneagles and Crieff golf just down the road, heaven!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muthill
3.5 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
763 reviews
3.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
11.9 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Fillans
912 reviews
8.6 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barley Bree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barley Bree

Property: Barley Bree
Address: 6 Willoughby Street, Muthill PH5 2AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Muthill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Muthill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barley Bree 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In beautiful Perthshire less than an hour from Edinburgh and Glasgow. Award-winning restaurant with 6 guest rooms all ensuite. The menus showcase local food, such as hand-dived scallops, venison carpaccio,apple tarte tatin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Barley Bree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barley Bree Hotel Muthill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing