We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Easter in Glencoe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glencoe Independent Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We staying in one of the caravans ( a family with two kids, 5 and 7 ). We has a lovely welcome, the caravan was clean and spacious with everything we needed. The weather was fantastic and the kids loved having an Easter Egg hunt by the river.

We definitely intend to return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Giles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeIndyHostel, Owner at Glencoe Independent Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Wow - thanks for the great review! We enjoyed meeting you and are delighted that you had such a good time during your visit. Hopefully see you again sometime!

Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

After staying last year in the caravans we decided to come back because of the excellent quality of our previous stay.

Once again we enjoyed it so much and the caravan was spotless on our arrival, we also used the services of the onsite mountain guide and booked a walk in the mountains and felt very safe in their care. You must try it.

We will return again because of the warm welcome we received. Thanks again and see you soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregmuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeIndyHostel, Owner at Glencoe Independent Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thanks for posting such a great review, I really appreciate your business.

I know you made the most of the area while you were here, despite the changeable weather, and good to hear you enjoyed my mountain guiding services too - Go Glencoe! It was a pleasure to take you out into the mountains.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

All the best
Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We hired a six bed dorm, the whole group was together which was a great laugh. The room was toasty and although there was only two showers for whole block we had no issues getting in (although the sponge wet mat creeped me out). Service was great, the drying room was very useful and breakfast in a bag suffice. Rooms are under padlock code for security so no fears there. Unfortunately the only thing letting the hostel down is the fire doors. They slammed all morning from 6am. Luckily no one in the hostel seemed to up for a party so it didn't happen during the night. The only way to ensure they did not slam was by staying with the door until it closed over and shutting it slowly. If this could be addressed then the place would be perfect. 1 mile walk to a nice pub too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeIndyHostel, Owner at Glencoe Independent Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

HI

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your hostel stay. It is obviously of paramount importance for your safety that we have fire doors throughout and we have tried every adjustment we can to get them to close and latch quietly so I'm sorry they annoyed you. We will have a look at them again - thanks for letting us know.

All the best
Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed in the Bunkhouse on the 27/28th March. What more can ask for. The bunkhouse is so cosy and warm, with everything you need... Comfy beds, nice and clean, well equiped kitchen and a hot shower. Waking up on a morning and enjoying a cup of tea on the veranda as you take in the beautiful countryside. The Bunkhouse totally exceeded our expectations.
the owners were really helpful too, with advise around climbing Ben Nevis (which we did on the Friday), and also where to go for a drink etc.. The pub down the road serves great beer and whisky and the food looked delicious, although we catered for ourselves.
I would recommend this bunkhouse as it was brilliant, and for a first timer to Scotland I will definatly return here again.
thanks to all involved - brilliant

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catalina4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeIndyHostel, Owner at Glencoe Independent Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Hi

Thanks for such a fantastic review, it's really appreciated. I'm pretty sure you stayed in the cabin though, not the bunkhouse. The cabin is fully self contained with the small porch etc. whereas the bunkhouse is much more basic with shared facilities. Glad you enjoyed it though and managed a trip up "The Ben"!

All the best
Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We are trying to climb all the munros and we are currently away almost every weekend staying all over Scotland, we try and find affordable self catering accommodation to stay in during our weekends away also which will accept our dogs. So far this site and the caravan we stayed in has topped our list so far for favourite places to stay.
The caravan was really swanky, cosy and very clean. Some of the sites we stay in dont supply bed linen or towels and it is abit of a hassle remembering to pack them, but this was all provided for, even including washing up liquid and soap.
We had booked on line for three persons staying in the caravan for the weekend, but on the day it turned out it was just the two of us, when we arrived at the hostel we advised that it was just the two of us now, we were then told that there would be a couples discount for just two in the caravan and the discount was then refunded back into our account. It is not every day you find an establishment as honest and accomodating as that.
Also it is difficult to find a site that will allow a stay in a static carvan for two nights only. (most are minimum of three)
Brilliant Site and we will definately be back to stay for completing the other munros within the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynseyandRabbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeIndyHostel, Owner at Glencoe Independent Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Wow - that's wonderful, thanks a million and glad you had a great time! I can't add anything else to this review so will leave it there other than to say you've added an extra ray of sunshine to an already stunning day.

All the best
Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We were in the barn half way down the drive. Plenty of hot water. Cooking facilities OK for a large group. Beds adequate. back door catches in the wind and blows back into a window causing damage. Not very comfortable for sitting around chatting but then the pub is not too far away. OK bunkhouse by modern standards. Fair walk in the rain to the drying room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeIndyHostel, Owner at Glencoe Independent Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review the bunkhouse, it's really appreciated.

I hope you found Glencoe's best drying room worth the 100 metre walk!

All the best
Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Three of us stayed here for one night and had a fairly good stay. The hostel is cosy and comfortable but a few things were lacking from the experience. Our greeting was not great when we turned up and 1.30 for a 2pm check-in and were informed that we would not be allowed access to the hostel until check-in time. We understood that we couldn't get into our room until this time but given that the hostel is actually a fair way outside of the town she could have let us wait inside in the common area rather than having to hover around outside. It seemed a little unnecessary! They also say that there is free WiFi but from reading other reviews it seems that this has not been working for some time! For me this is not a problem but just stop advertising it as an amenity if it is not the case. Like I said the hostel is very cosy but having men's and women's toilets on opposite sides of the building makes everything a little complicated and is also unnecessary as they are all cubicles...all toilets could just be unisex. Other than this the experience was good. The kitchen is well equipped and there is ample parking. Beds are comfortable and location is very pretty.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank danigross88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeIndyHostel, Owner at Glencoe Independent Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your hostel stay, we really appreciate it. Great to hear you enjoyed our rural and rustic location!

I'm sorry you had to wait in the heated reception for a while before check in. We do try to get everyone in as early as possible, our earliest being 1030AM!! Unfortunately on this occasion it seems as if we were still cleaning the property for your arrival. If there are lots of late check outs it's sometimes a last minute rush to get ready for you arriving on time.

Wifi was out of action for a week. The router went faulty, Argos in Fort William don't stock them and it took a week for the new one to arrive. All sorted now.

I agree it does seem nonsensical having the bathrooms labelled. The reason we do this is due to Visit Scotland regulations which require that the sexes are segregated. It also helps with school groups etc. however we may well look into this again.

Thanks again for posting a review, hopefully see you again sometime.

Keith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glencoe hotels
4.4 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
183 reviews
2.2 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
4.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glencoe Youth Hostel
Glencoe Youth Hostel
#3 of 3 in Glencoe Village
76 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Glencoe Inn
The Glencoe Inn
#7 of 11 in Glencoe Village
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencoe Independent Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencoe Independent Hostel

Address: Glencoe | Near Ballachulish, PH49 4HX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Glencoe
Price Range: £28 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer great value accommodation for groups, adventurous families and individuals in the rural heart of Glencoe. The accommodation comprises of our communal style Hostel with open fire in sitting room and Alpine Bunkhouse and our private pet friendly self catering Caravans (4 new, 1 economy) and Log Cabin. We can cater for individual travellers and large groups alike as well as those on a budget with private and family rooms often available. Whichever you choose, you can expect a friendly welcome at any time of the year.Free wifi in reception, top class drying room and STUNNING views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glencoe Independent Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glencoe Independent Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing