We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
213
45
21
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
45
21
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews log cabin drying room washing up liquid clachaig inn west highland way bunk house self catering eco cabins well equipped kitchen living room short drive perfect base great accommodation gold caravan fort william reception area two nights
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2018

My Husband and I stayed here for the first time last week and loved every aspect of our holiday. The site is really easy to find, the check in process was brilliant, we were even shown how to use the facilities in the caravan. The caravan was clean tidy and brand new looking. It was warm (easily heated) with hot water. There was plenty of space for us to kick back and relax. We cooked our own food 80% of the time, using the local take aways, pubs and shops the rest. Home from home......The surrounding areas are beautiful with Fort William within a 20-25 minute drive. Our main aim was to climb Ben Nevis which we were able to do on the first day, NEVER AGAIN :-). We would 100% recommend this site to anyone and every. Truly wonderful.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GeeEnright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeIndyHostel, Owner at Glencoe Independent Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Hi

Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to post such a fantastic review.

I think I checked you in so am glad that went well. I remember talking about Ben Nevis so well done on that - it's quite a challenge! I hope you have recovered by now :)

Hopefully we will see you again sometime.

All the best
Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed our 3-night stay in one of their Eco Cabins. These cabins are small but gorgeous - very clean, comfortable, have everything you need. Price is reasonable. Sitting out on the deck after a big day was so relaxing - the view is stunning. Friendly, helpful staff - they even did our washing for us for a small fee! Washed, dried and folded while we were out exploring the highlands - we were down to our last clothes, so we were incredibly thankful for this service! On their suggestion, ate at the Clachaig Inn just down the road.. enjoyed it so much we went back every night! Very popular, so getting a table can be tricky, but good food - their haggis is delicious, as is the highland game pie. Would highly recommend having a car to get around the area - quite far from everything, although we did see a lot of people hitchhiking, so maybe that's an option. We loved the feeling of being so far from anywhere, out in the wild highlands... The Scottish highlands was our favorite place during our 5 week European trip, and when we visit next time we'll stay here again for sure.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeIndyHostel, Owner at Glencoe Independent Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

HI Rebecca

Thanks for the wonderful review of our Eco Cabins! It's very helpful for future guests too :)


There's no doubt that having a car or even bikes makes it easier to explore round here but it's great to see you managed to do so much under your own steam. It's definitely an area that rewards exploring yourself rather than running around ticking off lists!

Hopefully we will see you again sometime.

All the best
Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Stayed in Golden Caravan, absolutely loved it! Great looking little place, considering we are in the mountains downright luxurious. Full sized kitchen, two bedrooms, big living room with a terrace (with a little place for those little grilling sets). Gorgeous view all around, close to many lovely hiking paths (and nearby is a great stylish restaurant). My highest recommendation, couln´t be happier with it.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeIndyHostel, Owner at Glencoe Independent Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Hi Pan C

Thanks for the fantastic review of our caravans!

It's great to hear your enjoyed our peaceful rural location and the stunning views!

Hopefully we will see you again sometime.

Kind regards
Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

A luxurious caravan In the middle of the forest . Fully equipped , beautiful view from the living room porch.
Close to many Glencoe beautiful hikes , short drive from the supermarket and from nice restaurants .
Enjoyed every second.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GoPlaces562054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeIndyHostel, Owner at Glencoe Independent Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Hi

Thanks for the fantastic review of our caravan! We still love the views here too - delighted you enjoyed them as well!

All the best
Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Glencoe independent hostel provided us with a solid nights sleep and necessary facilities before our climb up Ben Nevis. It is a little further away, however it worked out well as we arrived in Fort William around 7:15am the morning of the climb to stock up on supplies for the climb (there's a tesco!), then it was about 10-15 minute drive to the start point.

But yes - the hostel has good toilet/shower facilities and cosy 6 bed dorms. Slight lack of plugs but to be expected in an older building. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable of the local area.

Would stay again!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theferretshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeIndyHostel, Owner at Glencoe Independent Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Hi Tom B

What a great review of the hostel - thanks for that! A smashing summary of the location too.

All the best
Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews