We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unspoiled & atmospheric”
Review of Glen Coe

Glen Coe
Book In Advance
More Info
US$68.59*
and up
Loch Ness and the Highlands Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Glencoe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
419 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Unspoiled & atmospheric”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I've been coming here since I was a child and fortunately it has been kept as a paradise for wildlife, walkers and photographers. Sweeping snow capped mountains form the glens, down which flow multiple streams. We never felt rushed by other drivers as we took advantage of the many photo opportunities. You can still imagine the ancient clan villages tucked amongst the mountains and the grief of the massacre of 1692. The café was a welcome break but felt the cost of the Visitor Centre was too high for us to take advantage of what they offered. We would also have appreciated some more guidance of what we were seeing at the start of our tour through the Glen rather than at the end.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kirstine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    758
    98
    15
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
509 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Stunning & unspoiled ......photographers paradise”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

High snow capped mountains ( even in summer); mind blowingley beautiful scenery; a sense of the forbidding & foreboding especially when one thinks about the tragic events that took place here - whether you just want to drive through at a leisurely pace or stay a while to explore & perhaps write your long planned book, Glencoe has it all......the perfect stopover in the Highlands

In winter skiing is available

Walking is available all year but precautions should be taken at all times as the weather here is notoriously changeable & can go from summer to winter conditions in a matter of minutes. Always take food & water as well as waterproof clothing & stout footwear.

There are plenty of accommodation & dining options in the surrounding area.

Glencoe is truly an unspoiled & spectacular gem in an area of outstanding natural beauty.

Helpful?
Thank Marguerite W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top of the Shop !”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Having toured Scotland by car I feel the west coast offers more than the east with scenery and Glen Coe as an area is probably our favourite, great driving roads, awesome views regardless of the weather as they change all the time - make sure you visit this area as a must

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great views even when raining as it was when we vivsited, the low clouds just added to the stunning views

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Pap of Glencoe”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Lovely hikes and scenic views of the valley, lake and mountains. Good day out and not too challenging.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AKWShix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glen Coe also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Glencoe Village, Glencoe
 

Been to Glen Coe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing