We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superbly equipped house with amazing view and...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
A snowy morning at The Hazels
Nearby Rothiemurchus
Loch Morlich
Walk from The Hazels to Grantown-on-Spey
Cromdale
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Cromdale, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CassieRGa...
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superbly equipped house with amazing view and cosy atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 March 2018 for a stay in September 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hazels.

The house is lovely, with everything you might possibly need. The kitchen it particularly well equipped. You've got everything you could need there to cook for a large group.

The house itself is cosy and very homely. We really liked the range of dvds and games available, it meant everyone was kept entertained at all times.

If you're lucky enough to get a sunny day, the view of the highlandsfrom the outside dining area is stunning.

The only other thing is mention is that the immediate village is pretty sparse, so having a car to get you to Granton for the shops is really useful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2018
Thank you for your kind review. We hope to welcome you to The Hazels again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaina T
1 review
“Fantastic home, great weekend!”
Reviewed 6 March 2018 for a stay in October 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hazels. The house was in a great location for us; an easy drive from the airport, and perfect for a quiet getaway for a few days. Driving from Inverness airport, the scenery was fantastic and the route to the house passes Culloden Moor, the site of the Battle of Culloden (for those interested in Scottish History).

The house itself is fantastic; excellent layout in the shared spaces- large kitchen diner with enough chairs and table-space for our big group, and a comfortable sitting room with an open fire to warm our toes after long walks! Best of all, you can venture out onto a large balcony terrace, leading from the sitting room, which gives a good view of the hills behind the house. The bedrooms are all a good size. The beds were comfortable and the rooms had a good amount of storage space. There’s also a good ratio of bathrooms to guests. Outside, there was plenty of room on the drive for our 3 cars.

There are an excellent range of short and long walks starting from the house. On our short trip we had some fantastic walks in Anagach Woods- one of my favourite walks around the woods took us past some standing stones in a field. Those who are more adventurous are perfectly positioned next to the River Spey for the Dava Way and Speyside Way into the Cairngorms. We drove a short distance to climb CairnGorm, (there’s also a train to the top and café) but the weather conditions were rather dreary so we decided to save it for another time, and had a lovely walk around Loch Morlich instead.

Overall, we had a fantastic time and an excellent stay at the Hazels. Attention to detail makes this holiday home a 10/10 for me; From the wide range of activity leaflets/maps of the area available by the front door, the welcome message on the blackboard, to the well-stocked fire. We definitely intend to come back in the summer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2018
Thanks for your review. We're so glad you had a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnedob
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great house, great facilities and ideal location!”
Reviewed 5 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The house was very spacious and had everything you needed to enjoy a break away with all the comforts of home! Very well equipped kitchen, great selection of games, good WiFi, lovely open fire and plenty of room! Great position for exploring the Highlands and a nice town nearby with a good choice of restaurants but a car is definitely required for getting around! Fabulous views and parking facilities a bonus!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2018
Thanks for your review. So glad you had a good time at The Hazels!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B_from_Be...
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very highly recommended”
Reviewed 5 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

A lovely house with all amenities, we had a great time. Although the weather was cold, the house was toasty warm and cosy with the real fire going (everything to make a fire was supplied). The lounge and kitchen were really nice, sociable spaces: conducive to a chat and a couple of drinks - we didn't switch the television on once. There was also a selection of DVDs, and a big box full of board games that were excellent fun after a few drinks!

The kitchen was really well equipped with all the appliances we needed, good quality crockery, very nice big wine glasses (that's important), loads of pans and everything we needed to rustle up a good meal. The lounge and kitchen are upstairs and have lovely views across the countryside.

The bedrooms are downstairs and are lovely and quiet. The biggest has a huge en suite, and there's another bathroom downstairs too (there's also one upstairs - we kept on finding bathrooms!). The beds were comfy with good quality bed linen and towels, so we slept very well.

The nearby town had loads of good amenities - we had a takeaway curry on one night, and also a very good dinner in Bistro 2 (excellent for gluten-free). There were lots of little shops and a great butcher - if we had stayed longer (or when we hopefully go back) we found lots of other places we'd have liked to eat or have a drink.

The house is within striking distance of some lovely places to visit - though you really need a car. We had a very pleasant drive and some walks around Loch Ness (about half an hour away), went to Culloden, Cawdor, drove the Whiskey Trail. While the weather wasn't brilliant, we found lots to keep us occupied, and it looked like the walking would be wonderful if the weather was better.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2018
Thank you for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your trip and hope to welcome you to The Hazels again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Albans...
St Albans
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Comfortable and relaxing”
Reviewed 5 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

a large and beautifully decorated/furnished home in magnificent countryside.
Sitting room and kitchen/diner are both huge, so even if all the beds are occupied you won't feel squashed. The real fire was a welcome treat in the wintry evenings, and we felt toasty in front of it
Whether your interests are walking/bird-watching/nature or winter sports there's plenty of options nearby and we can vouch for the quality of the first three.
Whilst there's not much to Cromdale (though it does have a gin distillery!) nearby Grantown-on-Spey has some excellent shops and some decent places to eat

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2018
Thank you for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you to The Hazels again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing