We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B we've ever stayed at!”
Review of Lornebank Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lornebank Homestay
Ranked #1 of 3 Lauder B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Absolutely the best B&B we've ever stayed at! We chose Lornebank because we needed a half way break whilst traveling between Scarborough North Yorkshire and Inverness. We have a little dog so there are not many places willing to allow dogs. The rooms were large, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The towels were new and fluffy, all the shampoos, body lotions, shower gel etc were available to use. There were tea making facilities and biscuits in the rooms. Even though our journey made us very late in arriving we were warmly greeted and shown to a lovely lounge with fire to relax and take refreshments! The breakfast menu was beyond 5 star - I don't know how these people can make a profit serving such an excellent menu! We have added this address to our satnav and hope to return again and again! Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FayCash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

Staying here was the highlight of my 17 day tour of the Scottish Borders.
Nothing was too much trouble, the owners went out their way to make sure that I had everything I needed. Large elegant and imposing building with wide staircases and a large residents lounge. Very good breakfast and close to several restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Right from the start, our family were made more than welcome after our long journey by the friendly owners. Margot brought us a tray of tea and delicious shortbread in the comfortable private lounge when we arrived.

Throughout our short stay, Margot was clearly keen to ensure that we were relaxed and feeling at home.

The rooms were a good size and well-equipped... simply nothing to mar a wonderful stay.

Our breakfast was absolutely delicious and we left the B&B feeling well fed and in good cheer.... a fantastic start to our Scottish holiday.

Cannot commend highly enough!

Kind regards,
Meadows Family

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meadowsmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stay in Lauder - a very short distance from Edingurgh - and you will love the B&B Lornebank! The room was lovely, and the common sitting room very stylish! Breakfast was fantastic - the fresh berries dotted the i very nicely! Add to this a super friendly owner and you have the perfect B&B to which you could return anytime.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inga68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We have just returned from a brilliant weekend in the Scottish Borders. We surfed the web for accomodation and found Lornebank Homestay...it was everything we hoped for and more...what a find!
The accommodation was immaculate and you notice the attention to detail in every room.
Tea was served on arrival, the rooms beautifully decorated and the breakfast second to none. There are just so many positive things we could add but recommend you go and find out for yourselves.
A huge thank you to Les and Margot for their hospitality...we shall be back!

Room Tip: Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sky_Blue870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Excellent hosts, friendly yet discreet. This B&B is a gem. Don't be put off by the 'High Street' address, it is quiet! We had front double room and slept with window open, no disturbance at all, and views of the hills above the rooftops. Tea served on arrival, comfortable beds, beautiful decor. Excellent choice of breakfast. Visitors lounge overlooks beautiful walled garden. Conveniently situated within walking distance of eating places. I could have moved in! What's more it is dog friendly. My husband, son, dog and I were made to feel most welcome. I'm delighted to say we are staying again in two weeks time and considering a half term visit as well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eiggshells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Silvio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lornebank, Owner at Lornebank Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lauder hotels
0.1 mi away
Black Bull Hotel
Black Bull Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lauder
269 reviews
4 mi away
Carfraemill
Carfraemill
#2 of 3 in Lauder
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lauderdale Hotel
Lauderdale Hotel
#3 of 3 in Lauder
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lornebank Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lornebank Homestay

Address: 10 East High Street, Lauder TD2 6SU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Lauder
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lauder
Price Range: £66 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lornebank Homestay 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lornebank Homestay is a lovely Georgian house with a warm welcoming atmosphere, the old and the new in perfect harmony. Conveniently situated on the A68 in the Scottish Borders Lornebank is perfecly situated as a base for visiting Edinburgh or for discovering the wonderful countryside of the Scottish Borders. Stay a night or a week and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lornebank Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lornebank Homestay Lauder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing