We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done to the new management team!”
Review of Black Bull Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Bull Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lauder
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel is now under new management and thank goodness for that. It had been deteriorating rapidly in the past few months.
Now however it is a joy to walk to the Bull of an evening and enjoy a very good meal in very pleasant and warm surroundings. The menu is extensive and the food is very reasonably priced. On certain meals they offer "buy one and get one half price". Fantastic value. The steak pie is a must-have as is the sticky toffee pudding with sauce and ice cream (assuming you are not watching the calories!).
We have been twice with friends over the last few weeks and have nothing but praise for the new management team. Well done and long may you remain at the Bull.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank romagScottishBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
There are newer reviews for Black Bull Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

we have heard so many good reports about black bull lauder we went down for tea, good atmosphere lovely and warm food was good but let down a bit by a dippy second in command who when asked for a sweet menu forgot because she was to busy trying to design a shelf display.

Room Tip: only in for food
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackbull_lauder, Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Ninahorse,

Thank you for your review - I'm glad that you had a great experience at The Black Bull and enjoyed the food and atmosphere, having only been open a number of weeks that's great to hear! Once again I'd like to apologise for my colleagues momentary lapse in concentration on service last night - this is certainly not customary and I hope it wouldn't put you off returning in the future.

Kind Regards,

Stuart Kilpatrick
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Under new management, and not having heard anything since they took over, it was with mild trepidation that I joined a group of friends and family in this local hostelry....well what can I say? Great choice of food, well priced, great service! Was impressed by buy one get one half price deals, oap's meals. Drink reasonably priced....I'll definitely be back!!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackbull_lauder, Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Michael,

Thank you both for your review and taking the time recently to come and see what The Black Bull has to offer with our new food and drinks menus! We have taken a different direction to previous ownerships and don't try to fulfil a fine dining experience - instead what we offer is good, honest, freshly cooked food at an affordable price with a family friendly atmosphere.

Once again thank you for being part of the local community supporting us and I look forward to seeing you next time!

Kind Regards,

Stuart Kilpatrick
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Under New Management and it shows!!! . Lunch with friends, lovely atmosphere,clean loos, huge menu (some meals buy one get one 1/2 price) Children under ten eat free. All in all lovely lunch enjoyed by the three of us and at great prices.. Totally recommend The Black Bull. I certainly will be back. So good to see the old boy lively and lovely again..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 302Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackbull_lauder, Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear 302Chris,

Thank you for your review. The Black Bull is such a great building, packed full of character and deserves to be somewhere the local community and passers by leave having had a fantastic experience!
I want the Black Bull to be a family friendly eatery and our promotions back this. In the current economic climate people work hard for their money, and we know good, honest freshly cooked food doesn't have to cost the world.

Once again thank you for your kind words and I look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Stuart K
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Being a Lauder local I have written several reviews of the Black Bull over the years as it has passed through different management. I have high hopes for the new owners who are trying a new approach with a far more affordable menu aimed at families and attracting regular diners. This is not fine dining or a showcase of local Borders produce but decent quality, great value eating with plenty of choice, loads of family favourites and some nice bistro style alternatives. At the moment it is a little understaffed but at the end of the day... to stay in business these guys need to make a profit and until they know what level of trade to expect they need to keep the staffing lean. That said, the team is keen, friendly and welcoming. The beer is still excellent and with two courses and 3 pints under £20 - it is the kind of value that makes eating out an affordable alternative to a TV dinner or take-away. I will be back and soon ..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank artisanpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Great meal, friendly staff, will be back again soon. I had the vegetable fajitas, nice and spicy. Lots of condiments and very well presented . was good value and will definately be back again. My partner had the mexicano burger and really liked that.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

It was only the 4th week of new management and have to say it was good. The menu was varied and reasonable and even does buy 1 meal but get 2nd meal 1/2 price on certain choices! Look forward to return visit looks great menu for Xmas Party. Hope it is a success as Lauder needs you!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauder
3.9 mi away
Carfraemill
Carfraemill
#2 of 3 in Lauder
194 reviews
10.5 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
957 reviews
12.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
15.6 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
12.6 mi away
Glen Hotel
Glen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Selkirk
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bull Hotel

Address: 13-15 Market Place | Berwickshire, Lauder TD2 6SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Lauder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lauder
Price Range: £72 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Bull Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prominent brilliant white hotel established 1780, and recently refurbished. Offering modern British cuisine and professional service.8 individual en-suite rooms. Great location for exploring the Scottish Borders, yet only half an hour from the centre of Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Black Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bull Lauder
Black Bull Hotel Lauder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing