We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Damp bedrooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Bull Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Black Bull Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lauder
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Damp bedrooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here for the Tour de Lauder.It was a last minute booking as everywhere else was full.
We arrived late and unfortunately no food was available.
The lobby is welcoming and cosy however both of our bedrooms were shabby and damp. The walls were marked with dampness and the rooms smelled badly of damp.
The breakfast on offer was limited and service although pleasant was very slow.
I would not recommend this hotel and am unlikely to return.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 1 and 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenO263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    52
    24
    25
    14
See reviews for
36
87
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
scottish borders
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We went back to the black bull after a few months, lovely hotel lovely fire nice staff pity about the food.The veg that came with the meal was tasteless and the scampi was no better, so that will be it .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart K, General Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Ninahorse,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to The Black Bull.

Feedback whether positive or negative is important to us - without it we would not know what we are doing well and what part of the customer experience we can improve on.

I'm sorry to hear that our food didn't meet your standards, and that this was not put right during your visit.

I would welcome the opportunity to talk to you personally regarding your visit and how I could have improved your meal. My email address is info@blackbull-lauder.com - if you wish to contact me it would be greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Stuart K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Had lunch with 2 children. Lovely fire in foyer where tables were. Food was just ok and staff friendly but had to request a kids menu which was an A4 page, stained and scribbled on the reverse. Pencils offered were all, bar one, without lead. Crayons were then given Overall not the worst thing in the world but gave an unprofessional touch to the whole experience. A fresh page could have been printed off in a flash. Paintwork in the booth was splattered which could have easily been washed down - gave a grubby feel to the place. Toilets were shabby but fairly clean. Always good to see a baby changing table available but then noticed the mat was stained - yes, right at bum level. You wouldn't expect a person to sit on a dirty toilet in any establishment, the same goes for babies.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birthdaybelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart K, General Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear BirthdayBelfast,

Thank you for your custom at The Black Bull Hotel and the review of your recent visit.

We have been at the hotel for 5 months now and it is great to see and hear that so many families now feel comfortable to come in and have a meal in a relaxed, family-friendly environment. Feedback, whether positive or negative is important to us as it allows us to identify areas of improvement that will be beneficial to our customer experience.

There is no escaping the fact that not having freshly printed kids menus and sharpened pencils available for you during your visit was unacceptable - we now have an abundance of colouring pencils (sharpener), felt tip pens and crayons for children and a good stock of children's menus.

In regards to your booth, I can only apologise that the surrounding surfaces were not 100% clean. Thank you for bringing this to my attention and with my personal oversight the paintwork at our booths is now scheduled for repainting by the maintenance team with appropriate paint, such that this will allow these walls to be easily wiped down to prevent unsightly stains.

I can assure all guests that our baby changing facilites are sanitised daily in accordance with our cleaning schedule and hygiene policy, but can understand that marked equipment is unsightly. With this in mind we endeavour to renew this equipment as soon as possible.

Once again thank you for your custom and your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My husband and I arrived at the hotel for a 2 night stay on Thursday,although it was sunny but very cold outside we received a warm and friendly welcome from the staff and management.The hotel is full of character with large coal fires.Our room was very clean, cosy, warm with a nice comfy bed and large fluffy white towels. We ate the huge hearty Scottish breakfasts that set you up for the day. In the evening we chose our meals from a very varied menu at affordable prices, all the meals were delicious.(compliments to the chef!)The staff were very attentive. I would recommend this hotel whether you stay or just pop in for a lovely meal.We had a lovely 2 days,thankou very much. Evelyn (Newcastle)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart K, General Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Evelyn,

Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Black Bull and we hope to see you again in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We were a party of four lunching at the Black Bull on a Tuesday. The place wasn't busy and the dining room could have been a little warmer. However, the staff were welcoming, friendly and attentive and most importantly, the food was really tasty. I would not hesitate to eat there again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Apt611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart K, General Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Apt611

Thank you for your custom and your review of your visit to The Black Bull.

I'm really pleased to hear that the new menu we have is getting the seal of approval from our customers. As people may know the quality and consistency of dining quality at The Black Bull has had an up and down reputation in recent years and as a new team we are trying hard to offer good, home-cooked food at reasonable prices.

I'm sorry the dining room was a little cold for you during your visit - I can assure you the fire will be on for your next visit!

Once again thank you for your review.

Regards,

Stuart K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Went as a party of 8 adults and 8 children for a birthday meal. Great choice of dishes. Service was excellent. Waitress remembered who was having what. We had starters, mains and some had sweets. 3 of the children got free meals, the others opting for either a standard or smaller OAP meal , which was great value and allowed them to eat the same as the adults. The food was well cooked, presented and plentiful. Drinks very reasonable. Only disappointment was when the pancakes with syrup turned out to be dropped scones with syrup! We will be back though and soon !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dickmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart K, General Manager at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Dickmans,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit. Feedback, whether positive or negative is important to us as it lets us know what elements of our dining experience customers are enjoying, and areas where we can improve.

I'm really pleased to hear you approve of our menu - our outlook is people (from the local community or visiting) are looking for a menu which can cater for children, senior citizens and all in between! Our kitchen team has worked hard on the menu to be able to offer the choice of dishes that we do, and when we release our new menu we hope to make the dining experience ever better!

Once again thank you for your kind words and I hope to see you again.

Regards,

Stuart K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottish borders
Level Contributor
225 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel is now under new management and thank goodness for that. It had been deteriorating rapidly in the past few months.
Now however it is a joy to walk to the Bull of an evening and enjoy a very good meal in very pleasant and warm surroundings. The menu is extensive and the food is very reasonably priced. On certain meals they offer "buy one and get one half price". Fantastic value. The steak pie is a must-have as is the sticky toffee pudding with sauce and ice cream (assuming you are not watching the calories!).
We have been twice with friends over the last few weeks and have nothing but praise for the new management team. Well done and long may you remain at the Bull.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank romagScottishBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauder
3.9 mi away
Carfraemill
Carfraemill
#2 of 3 in Lauder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
10.5 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
18.2 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Glen Hotel
Glen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
12.5 mi away
Best Western Pus Scottish Borders Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
20.0 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bull Hotel

Property: Black Bull Hotel
Address: 13-15 Market Place | Berwickshire, Lauder TD2 6SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Lauder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lauder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Bull Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prominent brilliant white hotel established 1780, and recently refurbished. Offering modern British cuisine and professional service.8 individual en-suite rooms. Great location for exploring the Scottish Borders, yet only half an hour from the centre of Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bull Lauder
Black Bull Hotel Lauder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing