We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and great food”
Review of Carfraemill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carfraemill
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lauder
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peace and great food”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had a wonderful night away at The Lodge. The room was perfect with a bath and shower, toiletries and spacious. The bedroom had a large bed, tv, phone, local information as well as local tea and coffee.

Our dinner was delicious, beef rib salad, pheasant, lamb shank and the best raspberries around in the Eton Mess. Breakfast was also filling and served with a smile. Home made oatcakes, granola, fruit as well as hot dishes.

Excellent stopping point and a great place for an evening drive and meal being only 21 miles from Edinburgh.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodAndDrinkGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    49
    12
    11
    7
See reviews for
48
73
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The scallop and black pudding starter was simply delicious, as was the pheasant, but the main courses of roe deer and the baked cod were outstanding. Reasonably priced wines made a really lovely evening at this gem of a place which is on the way south, 20 miles out of Edinburgh. An excellent 'stopping off' point .....but you'll need to book!
We have eaten well at Carfraemill many time over the past few years but the food has recently gone through a transformation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

I think we where the only residents staying at the hotel, had a good 3 course meal on the Sunday ,staff friendly and chatty. Room Was clean and fresh ,no 13amp plug sockets next to you bed .i got up around 7:30 went down stair to a big roaring fire and the smell off breakfast and happy staff .will I go back will I tell people about the hotel (yes). Public toilet in bar 10/10 food 10/10 staff 10/10 rooms 8/10 disable room for wheelchair user 0/10 none . Stayed one nt , but been there for meals few times over 2 1/2 years .

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peeccoo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I have been here a few times on Business now. I have to say this place is amazing. Great food, great service, great staff, nice rooms, great location. All 5+ from me. I will certainly be back for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoots007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have just spent a couple of nights at the Carfeamill as part of a wedding party... What a wonderful place!
A lovely homely hotel with food to die for, and all our needs looked after - nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful staff, especially Susan who made us feel so at home.
Beds a little too soft for us, but that's our problem!
Thank you so, so much for making us feel so welcome.
We hope to visit again.

Atul & Casey

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Requiring rooms to house crew for an evening in the area, we booked out The Carfraemill.
What a wonderful place. The rooms are lovely, warm, and clean. The food was delicious, and all our needs catered for including a late dinner and a very early breakfast.

For lunch, we required off site catering, and the food provided by the team at Carfraemill was superb.

We felt incredibly well looked after and would recommend a night here or even to pop in for a meal or a pint at the bar.

If you are in this area, dont miss this wonderful local gem!

Room Tip: Room 9 has recently been refurbished and looks great! The bed is to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We are frequent visitors at the lodge for morning coffee and egg and bacon rolls which are hard to beat. , Always welcoming and friendly, nothing is too much trouble for the staff .
Sunday lunch is always most enjoyable, to date ,we have found nothing to complain about. My great grand-daughter is always fussed over by the staff. Highly recommend to everyone to try.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauder
3.9 mi away
Black Bull Hotel
Black Bull Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lauder
223 reviews
17.9 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
738 reviews
17.9 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
17.3 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
17.4 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carfraemill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carfraemill

Property: Carfraemill
Address: Lauder TD2 6RA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Lauder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lauder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carfraemill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run hotel nestled on the edge of the Lammermuir Hills in Lauderdale. We have have 10 individually styled bedrooms and a renowned restaurant serving the very best of local produce all day every day. At Carfraemill, we love to host weddings, parties, family gatherings and business events - we can accommodate small intimate affairs in a cosy private room, to larger events in our award-winning restaurant, country lodge style function room or fabulous marquee. We are truly family-friendly and baby-friendly: whether you bring your little ones to eat, celebrate or stay, we will make them feel extremely welcome so you can enjoy relaxed and happy times at Carfraemill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Carfraemill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Carfraemill Hotel Edinburgh
Carfraemill Lauder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing