We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wake to sunrise by the sea”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coldingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunlaverock Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 4 Coldingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We spotted Dunlaverock from the cliffs near St Abbs on a day out this summer. A B&B next to the sea, takes dogs (we have 2 Dalmatians) and a hearty Full Scottish to start the day - a perfect escape from the city.
We had a pot of tea & shortbread in the lounge, while Gus (resident black lab) and Lottie (my Dal) played chase round the sofa. Our room was great, the pictures of the view do not do it justice, comfy big king size bed, big bathroom, fluffy towels, we were wakened just before 8am by the sun rising over the sea, then down to a legendary breakfast.
Friendly, clean, welcoming, great location and food - try the local tablet (Scottish version of fudge) sold by honesty box in the hall.
Oh, and the review that said "don't expect power shower or flat screen TV" - wrong, our room had both.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth the extra.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ed321tricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Dunlaverock Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Dunlaverock provided a very welcome night's rest while walking the coastal path from Berwick to Edinburgh. The breakfast was one of the best we had on the trip! The views from the front bedrooms are fantastic. Excellent hospitality and a friendly welcome

Room Tip: Probably worth paying the extra for a front room with a beach view
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My sister and I stayed here for one night at the end of a wee road trip. I've never been to Coldingham before, it's a pretty wee place and the Dunlaverock really must have the best setting - previous guests photos say it all. We had a twin room on the ground floor which was well equipped with everything you could want - tea, coffee, water and even fizzy drinks and wine! Decent products in the shower room. There is a large guests lounge and also a breakfast room both with huge windows overlooking "the view". We only had the quickest of breakfasts as we had to dash off to get to the airport.

Overall the house has a bit of faded grandeur, so don't expect modern furniture, power showers, flat screen TV's and Egyptian cottons. Have I stayed in better B&B's? Yes. Would I stay again? Yes. I don't think you could beat that location!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

...means there's a stunning view from the warm and cosy guest lounge. The beach can be accessed via a path through the garden that allows a quick walk along the sands before a hearty breakfast. Very comfortable rooms and welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 944FrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Dunlaverock guest house is located over the bay at Coldingham Sands with a magnificent view. The hosts are warm and welcoming and can give you much information about what to do in the surrondings. The house is filled with a lot o personal things that adds a personal touch to the place Excellent place for a stay for walks between Eyemoth and the lovely village of St Abbs. Rooms are big.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Not Much to add other than supporting other reviews, great location,good food value for money,very highly recommended

Room Tip: Any sea view room
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesaintee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I am always recommending this bed and breakfast and if you want a view of the Sea this is the place to be! We will definitely return hopefully soon. The breakfast was brilliant as were the couple who run it. Friendly and informative. Told me how to take my friend up on to St Abbs head in the car. Love everything about Dunlaverock! & hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: Great View from the bedroom with the double and two single beds in.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveydoveyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coldingham
8.9 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
306 reviews
7.4 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
482 reviews
1.0 mi away
Priory View Bed & Breakfast
Priory View Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coldingham
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Home Arms
The Home Arms
#1 of 12 in Eyemouth
656 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hillcrest Bed & Breakfast
Hillcrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 12 in Eyemouth
139 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Anchorage
The Anchorage
#4 of 12 in Eyemouth
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunlaverock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunlaverock Guesthouse

Address: Coldingham Sands, Coldingham TD14 5PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Coldingham
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coldingham
Price Range: £75 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Dunlaverock Guesthouse Coldingham, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing