We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute lovely night.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coldingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunlaverock Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 4 Coldingham B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Last minute lovely night.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for one night and where glad we did. Outstanding location. Windows take full advantage at breakfast room and in the lounge. The lovely couple lit a fire for us and we had the lounge to ourselves on our evening. Licensed which is nice! We had a garden room- 2 smaller windows but amazing views and bright room. Breakfast amazing. Would stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garde view room as the beach view room was taken. Wasn't disappointed. 2 smalle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stuartwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    14
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colduk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Dunlaverock guesthouse is ideally situated on the hill overlooking Coldingham Bay. Not 'modernised & up-to date' by any means, but a welcoming and comfortable place to spend a little time where even Gus the black Labrador gets in on the welcome that greets you at the door. We stayed for a short weekend and wished it could have been longer. Mid February and therefore out of season somewhat, Bill and Jane Foulis couldn't have been more helpful. The Coast walk path goes right past the door, and the cliff scenery is stunning. Don't expect 'modern and slick' and you should enjoy your time here.

Room Tip: Sea view is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deadeye202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

As others have said, stunning position and sea view rooms definitely worth the extra. Patio area for tea is absolutely delightful. The owners are really lovely and give you a very warm welcome to their home. The building itself is beautiful, as are the contents, certainly has a warm lived in feel to it, maybe a little worn round the edges but all the more charming somehow. What stopped it being excellent for us was the dog and the doggy smell that went with it and then the bed. The bed creaked all night, the mattress was really soft, and the over use of really perfumed something on the sheets was overpowering (softener?) I did not sleep well at all. All of these things are, of course, just personal preference, and if that's to your taste then this place is perfect. I feel a bit mean even saying these things as the couple really were lovely and I wish I wasn't bothered by the smells and bed, but they spoilt the weekend for us - sorry.

Room Tip: ask/pay for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We spotted Dunlaverock from the cliffs near St Abbs on a day out this summer. A B&B next to the sea, takes dogs (we have 2 Dalmatians) and a hearty Full Scottish to start the day - a perfect escape from the city.
We had a pot of tea & shortbread in the lounge, while Gus (resident black lab) and Lottie (my Dal) played chase round the sofa. Our room was great, the pictures of the view do not do it justice, comfy big king size bed, big bathroom, fluffy towels, we were wakened just before 8am by the sun rising over the sea, then down to a legendary breakfast.
Friendly, clean, welcoming, great location and food - try the local tablet (Scottish version of fudge) sold by honesty box in the hall.
Oh, and the review that said "don't expect power shower or flat screen TV" - wrong, our room had both.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ed321tricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Dunlaverock provided a very welcome night's rest while walking the coastal path from Berwick to Edinburgh. The breakfast was one of the best we had on the trip! The views from the front bedrooms are fantastic. Excellent hospitality and a friendly welcome

Room Tip: Probably worth paying the extra for a front room with a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

My sister and I stayed here for one night at the end of a wee road trip. I've never been to Coldingham before, it's a pretty wee place and the Dunlaverock really must have the best setting - previous guests photos say it all. We had a twin room on the ground floor which was well equipped with everything you could want - tea, coffee, water and even fizzy drinks and wine! Decent products in the shower room. There is a large guests lounge and also a breakfast room both with huge windows overlooking "the view". We only had the quickest of breakfasts as we had to dash off to get to the airport.

Overall the house has a bit of faded grandeur, so don't expect modern furniture, power showers, flat screen TV's and Egyptian cottons. Have I stayed in better B&B's? Yes. Would I stay again? Yes. I don't think you could beat that location!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

...means there's a stunning view from the warm and cosy guest lounge. The beach can be accessed via a path through the garden that allows a quick walk along the sands before a hearty breakfast. Very comfortable rooms and welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 944FrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coldingham
16.2 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
7.4 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
6.5 mi away
Chirnside Hall Hotel
Chirnside Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chirnside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Priory View Bed & Breakfast
Priory View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 4 in Coldingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Home Arms
The Home Arms
#1 of 13 in Eyemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Craw Inn
The Craw Inn
#8 of 13 in Eyemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunlaverock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunlaverock Guesthouse

Property: Dunlaverock Guesthouse
Address: Coldingham Sands, Coldingham TD14 5PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Coldingham
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coldingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Dunlaverock Guesthouse Coldingham, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing