We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Immaculate presentation, ideally located for...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Coldingham, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
l0nd0ner9...
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Immaculate presentation, ideally located for beach and exploring the area”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My wife and I stayed here with our two children for a week in August. This part of the country seems remarkably quiet to Londoners used to family holidays in the south-west, Wales or Cumbria. Yet the coastline is stunning (especially around St. Abbs Head), the countryside inland is beautiful and there is a considerable choice of sites to visit and things to do within an hour's drive of Meadow Lodge; in short, this is an undeservedly under-visited area.

The accommodation itself is maintained to a high standard. We were met by the friendly and helpful owners on arrival, who showed us around and presented us with a voluminous and highly useful folder packed with information about the local area and borders region. Although the lodge is not especially large (and after a few nights our teenage daughter moved her mattress into the living room to avoid sharing the second bedroom with her younger brother), the high ceilings and considerable amount of natural light entering the building made it feel more spacious than it is. The kitchen area is well laid out and provision of crockery, glassware and utensils is to a higher standard than many similar places that we have stayed in during previous holidays. Everything was clean and tidy on arrival, and there were plenty (perhaps one or two too many?) of notices on the walls to explain how to deal with recycling waste and other similarly prosaic matters.

In short, this is a peaceful, well presented base from which to explore the attractions of the eastern borders region. One would not want to be cooped up indoors for too long, at least with active youngsters, but even if the weather is rubbish there is plenty to see and do in the area (Edinburgh is barely an hour's drive away). Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: A very minor gripe - the fridge took so long to cool down after first being filled that we wondered for 24 hours whether it was working at all.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andreasph...
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL , PEACEFUL, MODERN AND CLEAN”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed at Meadow lodge for 1 week, although due to the extremely nice weather I am sad to admit we were out most days enjoying the beautiful surrounding beach,s
The lodge is modern, fresh and up to date, it does lack sky TV, but has freeview and a DVD player, plenty of board games and cards are left by the owner, whom also leaves a detailed visitors pack. tea, milk and sugar.
The shower took some getting to grips with and even on number 1 was extremely hot much to hot for kids but it does have a bath.
The main bedroom has a huge comfy kingsize bed, which does compromise bedroom space, for dressing, but hey I used the living room as with the blinds down and being so isolated no one can see you
We had a deer wake us early one morning as it decided to walk along the decking and eat the plants.
there is a washing machine and rotary clothes line, the lodge is fully equipped the beds and furniture very comfy
far away from the maddening crowd yet only a 5 minute drive to beautiful beach,s
I would 100% book again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness
Liked least: the shower
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmylou63
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Serenity and tranquilty”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We could not have asked for more during our stay at Meadow Lodge, it proved to be a peaceful retreat in beautiful surroundings. It was exceptionally well equipped, there was everything we needed right at our fingertips! We will definitely recommend it to others as it is ideal for couples and families. Excellent value for money!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Reviewed 13 September 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
orestwick
Reviewed 6 September 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool
Reviewed 14 July 2010 for a stay in May 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NWT, Canada
Reviewed 18 December 2009 for a stay in October 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Quiet peaceful location
Liked least: Smallish, but not uncomfortable
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing