We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything you need for a great break-and more.”
other travellers have booked this property
Whitfield Bothy Cottage with Hot Tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Whitfield Bothy Cottage with Hot Tub
Hot Tub at sunset Hot tub with privacy screening, breakfasting table and door to garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Whitfield Bothy Cottage with Hot Tub
Hot Tub at sunset
Hot tub with privacy screening, breakfasting table and door to garden
Hot tub area with Changing Hut can be used as bike store
Open plan downstairs with Large L shaped leather sofa with handcrafted tweed cushions to curl up on
Dogs welcome £20 surcharge crate bed bowls provided
xmas and New Year at the Bothy!
Master Bedroom complimentary use of spa robes, towels and locally handcrafted soaps
Master Bedroom with Kingsize bed, guest towels and complimentary toiletries
Second kingsize bed in mezzanine recess
Second kingsize bed in mezzanine recess. Star gaze from the comfort of your cozy bed
Enclosed garden showing hot tub enclosure with Hawthorn hedge abutting arable field enclosed for dog
Lawned garden and view from cottage across open countryside
Coldingham Bay-range of water sports available with wetsuit, body & surfboard hire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Coldingham, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
acemri
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything you need for a great break-and more.”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our weekend break at the Bothy cottage-we loved the style and layout of the interior,and the quality of everything-from the towels to the robes for the hot tub. The welcome crate and the lovely bottle of wine chilling in the fridge were much appreciated.The hot tub was amazing-and even the weather was on our side-it was beautiful.
Only down side was people in the next cottage who did not acknowledge our friendly greetings when in the garden , but were quite happy to stare in at us when they were passing by-just rude!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and standard of accomodation.
Liked least: Bumping heads at top of spiral staircase!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay. It is our little haven to get away from it all. And such a beautiful part of the countryside. The neighbours who do not live there permanently are granted, more shall we say"plant people" than "people people" but keep themselves to themselves. We have had a pizza oven built in addition since your visit and hope to welcome you back in the future bw's emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail M
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy cottage in quiet location”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay with our 7 year old and our dog . Lovely garden and hot tub . All the items in the house you could need for a stay . Some games, books and reference material to plan your day trips . Emma is very knowledgeable about theatre and has thought of everything . Dogs must be kept on the lead until they are in the enclosed garden due to neighbours having a cat . Lovely log burning fire indoors for cosy nights in . Short drive to the town and lots of walks nearby .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your lovely review. Dogs do not need to be on a lead until the enclosed garden and we certainly don't with our own. But we are going to put solid gates between the two properties during the winter to help. And thinking about the entrance from main road also. best wishes emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspirati...
1 review
“Amazing holiday again!”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

2nd time we have stayed here and just as amazing. Lovely winter break away.
Beautiful surroundings for long walks with the dog, followed by chilling in the hot tub and warm cosy evenings in front of the fire. Perfect! Loved every minute and will definitely be back X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
So glad you enjoyed again. Hopefully see you soon. emx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davejleo
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy and very comfortable”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We had a great time staying at the bothy! The house is very homely and comfortable. Emma, the owner, was great. Lots of information on the house and area plus the welcome pack was a nice touch. Would definitely book this again as I found the stay very relaxing. This is exactly what we were looking for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2015
So glad you all had a nice relaxing time. Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future bw's emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C R
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely! ”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Beautiful little bothy, very relaxing. Well finished throughout. Lovely touches and super communication by the owner Emma. Perfect for my husband and I and our 8 & 6 year old children. Highly recommend the Eyemouth Rib Trip. Hot tub great for star gazing (little tip, take flip flops for crossing the pebbled drive to the tub!). We will definitely be returning as we have had a great time. Thank you Emma x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
So glad you had a lovely time. We love the bothy ourselves and love escaping from the city to it with the kids. Totally agree with the Eyemouth rib recommendation. We saw a pod of dolphins with babies in the school October week. Hopefully see you again in the future Bw's emx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweetie19...
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Like a little oasis”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had such a good time in the Withfield Bothy cottage! We had a warm welcome, Emma provided a basket with some nice treats, even for our little french bulldog who came along.
The cottage provides everything you need and the hot tub was superb. Many starry nights in the tub. The nearby villages of Eyemouth and St Abbs are great for walks and lunch.
You can buy fish at the local fishmonger in Eyemouth harbour and feed the seals, which is a very nice experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hot Tub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed the local surrounds. It's a true hidden gem this part of the coastline. And thank you for leaving the bothy truly immaculate! Hope to see all three of you again in the near future Bw's emx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaret...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“fabulous!”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just enjoyed great week at the Bothy. It was so quite and peaceful - the only noise was the birds singing. Cottage is beautiful inside and out and is very well equipped. The extra touches such as welcome basket and decoration are so appreciated. Hot tub is great especially when you return from one of the beautiful beaches which are so nearby. Emma is so very helpful and nice. Definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: where cottage is situated.
Liked least: spiral staircase.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely review and glad you had a lovely holiday. Look forward to seeing you both back very soon. Bw's emx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing