We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great find”
other travellers have booked this property
Whitfield Bothy Cottage with Hot Tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Whitfield Bothy Cottage with Hot Tub
Hot Tub at sunset Hot tub with privacy screening, breakfasting table and door to garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Whitfield Bothy Cottage with Hot Tub
Hot Tub at sunset
Hot tub with privacy screening, breakfasting table and door to garden
Hot tub area with Changing Hut can be used as bike store
Open plan downstairs with Large L shaped leather sofa with handcrafted tweed cushions to curl up on
Dogs welcome £20 surcharge crate bed bowls provided
xmas and New Year at the Bothy!
Master Bedroom complimentary use of spa robes, towels and locally handcrafted soaps
Master Bedroom with Kingsize bed, guest towels and complimentary toiletries
Second kingsize bed in mezzanine recess
Second kingsize bed in mezzanine recess. Star gaze from the comfort of your cozy bed
Enclosed garden showing hot tub enclosure with Hawthorn hedge abutting arable field enclosed for dog
Lawned garden and view from cottage across open countryside
Coldingham Bay-range of water sports available with wetsuit, body & surfboard hire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Coldingham, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pyewacket
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 11 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This is a fantastic little cottage with a great hot tub. The log burning fire really created a cosy scene which took our mind off the sleet storm outside (it was February). Would thoroughly recommend and will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
So glad you had a lovely time. Look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. Bw's Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophiaros...
2 reviews
“Excellent, nothing to fault.”
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Had the best weekend at this stunning bothy. The owner has put so much thought into the attention to detail and it's so well equipped. Hot tub looks over stunning farmland,and great enclosed area for dogs. Very private. Also loved the log burner. It's walking distance to the beautiful town of coldingham and it's beautiful bay. Cannot wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming you again soon. Bw's Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaxMcGx
1 review
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of January & absolutely cannot fault the place. The interior is decorated to an exceptionally high standard with all the comforts a 'home from home' requires. Emma the owner is an absolute star & we recieved excellent communication from her prior to our stay & even during our stay advising us on all the local places to go & visit! We will most definitely be back ❤.xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
So glad you enjoyed our little Bothy. And look forward to welcoming you back sometime. Bw's Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floydsmam
Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Holiday home perfection”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I almost didn't want to write this this review as the secret will be out ! If you're looking for somewhere cosy and comfortable , with quality fixtures and fittings , with beautiful views , an enclosed garden and a hot tub , look no further !!
From the start of the enquiry process Emma has been absolutely fantastic . I've never recieved such a high standard of customer care , nothing was too much trouble . We booked quite last minute as it was a toss up between holidaying abroad to celebrate my birthday , or a staycation . After considerable searching , " Whitfield Bothy ," was the only property that ticked all our boxes. We contacted Emma to ask if we could take our two terriers , and as long as they were to remain downstairs this was not a problem .
We arrived at the Bothy , which is located down a quiet single lane road . There are a few houses in the village but that is it . The Bothy has a property next to it , previous reviewers have mentioned the grumpy neighbours. They saw us and ignored us , which we were fine with , we weren't there to make mates with the neighbours . We kept ourselves to ourselves and they did the same , easy peasy . Upon entering , we were very pleasantly surprised . There's a little porch area directly through the front door , which was perfect for drying off doggy feet . The photos do not do the property justice. A smart open plan living / dining / kitchen makes for a very comfortable set up . The interior is decorated to a very high standard , a lot of thought has gone into every detail . The beautiful Windows , the warm wooden floor , the top spec kitchen with every kitchen implement you could possibly require . There's a large wire pull out larder and a smart built in fridge / freezer . Hurray , so many rentals don't have adequate freezer space . There's a nice little dishwasher that met our needs perfectly . The living area boasts the biggest , and most comfortable sofa I've ever seen in a rental . Perfect for relaxing on in front of the woodburner . Emma supplies a basket of logs and further can be purchased . There was a good supply of faggots to get the fire going . I've tried and failed to make faggots before so enjoyed seeing how they should look , and just how effective they are as fire starters !! Must learn to make my own faggots .
So , you have a fantastic top of the range kitchen , a comfortable dining table and chairs, a massive squishy settee , a wood burner , telly , CD player , DVD player, free view telly and wifi . There's a decent size cupboard to hang up your coats and put your boots away into . Not to mention the lovely welcome hamper, thankyou !
You then have a spiral staircase to the converted loft space .
Upstairs you have a beautiful queen size bed , which was a bit soft for me , but I sleep on a mattress that is as firm as the floor . The bedding is very high quality and the furniture is beautiful . With hanging space in the bespoke built in storage . A velux window with a blind . If you want a lie in take an eye mask , or if , like me , you like to be woken by natural light , simply leave the blind up . You are supplied with robes for the hot tub , which I'll get to later , ample towels and flannels and sweet little home made soaps . There is a further bed which again was very stylishly dressed , and a set of drawers . This bed is directly under another velux Window allowing views of the night sky from your bed . A smart bathroom with a powerful hot shower and heated towel rail .
If the downstairs to the property is the heart of the home , then the bedrooms are the womb . There is something very very satisfying about lying in a cosy warm bed listening to the wind blow and the rain lash . The sound of the elements battering above your head , while being warm and wrapped up toasty in bed is kind of comforting and lends itself to an exceptional nights sleep .
Outside , you have ample parking alongside the Bothy and near the garden , the charming lawned cottage style garden is secured with a stone wall and rustic wooden gate to the front , to the rear , as well as a hedge , stock fencing helps keeps dogs where they should be . The garden looks out onto arable fields . There's a tree , twisted hazel ? With bird feeders which is very well visited by the little local birds , sparrows , tits , finches and a cheeky little Robin all enjoyed the nuts , seeds and fatballs . Be sure to take some treats to top up the feeders , you won't be disappointed and will be rewarded with their beautiful song . To the rear of the garden an almost secret like gateway takes you into the paved hot tub area . Along with the hot tub , there is a little table and chairs and a , " wee changing hut." Lovely touch , to have somewhere to get your cozzie on if you've not changed in the Bothy . The hot tub affords views of the fields and trees and beyond . It has to be the most perfectly located hot tub , there are dingy little solar powered fairy lights that come on as dusk hits, the whole atmosphere is magical . There are various walking routes on your doorstep , we attempted one but it was too muddy to finish .
I've stayed in lots of holiday rentals , both privately owned and lodges on sites but this by far has been the best . The beautiful stone property is positively charming , the interior is beautiful , immaculately presented with everything of the highest quality . Emma has fantastic style and has created a relaxing , inviting home . She has inspired me to invest more in sheepskin , learn how to make faggots , and to seriously look at reconfiguring my kitchen to incorporate a dishwasher !!
Whilst Whitfield is comprised of a few homes , just down the road at coldingham you have a pub , butcher , little spar, post office , not to mention the fantastic beach !! We watched surfers braving the freezing cold water to ride the waves . People were very friendly , even when one of our cheeky dogs decided she wanted to play with new friends !
A little further down the road you have Eyemouth . Here you'll find a quality butcher , baker , fishmonger , pet shop , a little co-op . We bought sea bass , scallops and dressed crab from D R Collins fishmonger right on the quay , all for under a tenner . The sea bass was like butter , melted in the mouth , scallops were divine and the dressed crab was polished off in no time . We got quality aged beef from the butcher which , I'm reliably informed was the best he'd ever tasted ! We spotted a couple at massive seals in the harbour , have a look if you go down , beautiful big creatures . There is also a family of swans to be seen . The beach is a nice little stroll and a good opportunity for the dogs to stretch their legs and run about like loons ! There are plenty of places to eat and drink in Eyemouth if you fancy .
So , if you're looking for a holiday home , not just a holiday rental , book up . If you want to be comfortable in style , like a rural secluded area , beautiful views , book up .
Thankyou Emma and family , thankyou for sharing your property with us , thankyou for letting us share your home . You have certainly helped us make some magical memories . We hope to return in the summer , we'd love to sit outside in the garden , enjoy some warm weather and star gaze . Hope to see you soon Whitfield Bothy .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and card. Im so glad you enjoyed the bothy. It is our little escape from the world and we always hope people love it as much as we do. Im so glad you found all the charms of both the cottage and the surrounding areas. For us this is our home and place to chill, relax and unwind. And an area of spectacular beauty. That so far is relatively un known about. We hope to welcome you all back sometime in summer. bw's emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsleya...
Barnsley South Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Just arrived home from a four nights stay at Whitfield Bothy, what a lovely place for a completely relaxing time, lots of walking and site seeing.
The cottage has all the home comforts and Emma has made sure you want for nothing from wine in the fridge to logs for the fire and treats for our dog. We relaxed in the hot tub every evening after our busy days out and about, Emma even provides towels and spa dressing gowns for the little trip across the garden
I think we've found a little gem in whitfield bothy

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
So glad you all had a lovely time! We love our wee haven and hope everyone enjoys it as much as we do. Bw's Emma x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanquhar
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
So glad you had a lovely time. It's a very special part of the country in my opinion. That pod of dolphins has stuck by the coast between st Abbs and coldingham for over a year and a half and are stunning. We saw them in the summer with juvenile's when out on the rib boat trip close up and it was amazing! Hopefully we. An welcome you back again. Bw's emma.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
acemri
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything you need for a great break-and more.”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our weekend break at the Bothy cottage-we loved the style and layout of the interior,and the quality of everything-from the towels to the robes for the hot tub. The welcome crate and the lovely bottle of wine chilling in the fridge were much appreciated.The hot tub was amazing-and even the weather was on our side-it was beautiful.
Only down side was people in the next cottage who did not acknowledge our friendly greetings when in the garden , but were quite happy to stare in at us when they were passing by-just rude!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and standard of accomodation.
Liked least: Bumping heads at top of spiral staircase!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay. It is our little haven to get away from it all. And such a beautiful part of the countryside. The neighbours who do not live there permanently are granted, more shall we say"plant people" than "people people" but keep themselves to themselves. We have had a pizza oven built in addition since your visit and hope to welcome you back in the future bw's emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing