We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hot favourite - I just keep going back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Assynt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inchnadamph Lodge B & B
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Just returned from another visit. This must be the 5th or 6th since it opened in its current guise in 1997. Love the location, Love the atmosphere and "craic". Great facilities if travelling on a budget.

Most rooms are bunkhouse style on the first floor, but there are some more homely family rooms upstairs on the 2nd. Nothing is "ensuite" but at this price who cares. It is all clean well laid out and organised. Their huge dining room is my favourite room in the world - full of character and with a view to die for. Aside from a toast and cereal breakfast any cooking is done by you the customer in a large well (perfectly) equipped kitchen, with multiple cooking stations (lots of stainless steel) and fridges. Great attention is paid to cleanliness and food hygiene. There is constant hot water from a large plumbed urn and complimentary (instant) coffee and tea. Most visitors are here for the great outdoors either walkers or geology students with the occasional biker on tour. SInce you have a fair chance of rain in the north of Scotland at any time of year they have a monster and effective drying room. Next to the reception their is a cosy sitting area with wood burning stove, lots of mags, books and games and usually lots of friendly after dinner chat. Reception sells a limited stock of essential odds and ends indluding (critically) beer.

Room Tip: Family rooms are homeliest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaitero61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

stayed here with a group of my friends from the hillwalking club and i was very impressed with the cleanliness of the place,free tea and coffee,breakfast in the morn and also a games room with pool table,loads of games and books to read,very spacious dining area and living room,a very roomy and hot drying room for all the wet smelly clothes,this place is set in beautiful surroundings in one of the nicest parts of scotland with the hotel nearby for a drink!!cant really fault the place at all,although the guy in charge of the kitchen and cleaning was a bit dour faced!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed here for a week in september. Facilities are great, especially the free tea and coffee! Rooms were clean, as were the kitchen, showers etc. Staff were lovely and helpful.The drying room was useful but easily overloaded. I didn't have to deal with this, but some of my friends found that the ovens didn't work. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We had been at Inchnadamph Lodge twice and always enjoyed our stay! We stayed in a simple but clean and comfortable double room with washbasin. The shower and toilet are shared facilities but very spacious and most importantly very clean. What we like: the friendliness of the staff and the overall spirit. The shared kitchen, the dining area and the lounge are very comfortable and you get to know many different people here: families with kids, walker, biker, couples of all ages. A stay can definitely be recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunde_sind_lustig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We visited here, and thankfully we managed to book on a change over day between massive hoardes of Geology Students. So, rather than the place being packet, there was only 6 people staying.

Facilities were great, and a nice little shop on site, for picking up any essential supplies, as there is not a shop for miles from this place.

Staff were helpful and friendly, and sleep quality was great, but with a dorm for 7, and only 2 of us in it, it was nice and peaceful for sure.

I understand the Geology fraternity fill this place, which is great for the business, but we were lucky on our cross over day for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamzyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Nice rooms, nice service, nice location. Little noicy when there are large groups. But we have slept well and had a nice journey. Ideal when you want to visit the north of Scotland. I recommend this place highly

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed in the B&B part of Inchnadamph Lodge Hostel and thought we had the best of all worlds -- like a hostel, the kitchen facilities allowed us to cook our own food and the dining area provided a communal meeting space to socialise with other travellers, but like a B&B we had private rooms and yummy breakfast.

The location is amazing, with mountains rising out the back and groups of deer grazing on the front lawn in the early morning.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veechi_Stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Inchnadamph Lodge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inchnadamph Lodge B & B

Address: Elphin, Assynt IV27 4HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Assynt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Assynt
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inchnadamph Lodge is a Grade B listed former Manse set at the very heart of Assynt, surrounded by the spectacular Assynt mountains. Accommodation at the Lodge is offered in either in private double / twin or family rooms (which have wash-hand basins) or Hostel-style shared dormitories (which sleep 4 to 8 people). All rooms are close to excellent shower and washroom & toilet facilities.Self serve breakfast of cereals, tea/coffee, toast & fruit juices included for all. Book online via our website. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inchnadamph Lodge B & B Assynt, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing