We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Rhiconich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rhiconich Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rhiconich
Glasgow
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here for one night during a trip visiting up north. We arrived earlier than the normal check in times but that wasn't a problem to the owners and we were shown to our rooms. The rooms are comfortable and clean with lovely fluffy towels. It is obvious that the owners are in the process of upgrading the amenities and some things such as walls need a fresh coat of paint - but really not something that should be a negative.
Staff were lovely and both dinner and breakfast were good.
Also the views from the bedrooms at the front are beautiful.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front to appreciate the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teapot8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    44
    23
    12
    13
See reviews for
16
67
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peebles, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Typical highland hotel - never going to be 5* luxury but quite pleasant. Rooms was very nice - shower would just about drown you standing, water must come straight off the mountains!!.

Fantastic not gourmet but good all the same. Service good. Slow internet, but that is the location not the hotel at fault I suspect. -its a long way from anywhere!

Stunning location

Room Tip: front facing rooms have a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel and have stayed here several times over the years. It's ideally located to explore Northwest Sutherland.
Positives: VERY friendly staff. Could not do more to help. Every room has a fantastic view down Loch Inchard and faces the sunset. Rooms have everything you need. Clean and comfortable. Very relaxed hotel.
Opportunities for improvement: The bar really needs to be moved to the front of the hotel (where the guest lounge is located). Bar meals downstairs, restaurant upstairs. Simple. Restaurant menu is bar food. Needs more sophistication (like local favourites like Kylesku Hotel or School House). Need more atmosphere in public areas. Some nice music would help a lot, especially in the restaurant which is just a little sterile!
These are minor points to get the fifth star. Regardless, I will keep going back :-)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Daryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Nice comfy room ( best bed of the 8 I slept in on this holiday) . The food was very good, with excellent choices for teh vegetarians i our party. Breakfasts were cooked to order and arrived very promptly. The bar man was very helpful and friendly and the young dark haired waiteress gets my vote for most friendly service on my holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Higgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great place to stay if you are visiting Sandwood Bay or that area.
Wonderful views down the sea loch and well placed for touring.
Its owner and staff were very helpful and went the extra mile for our group.
Rooms are clean and comfortable and lots of hot water which is good after a day out in the wilds.
Food is very good and a varied menu for dinner while breakfast is as simple or complicated as you want it. Wine list is smallish but more than acceptable and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: ask for view down the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremy21558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I was booked to DJ at a party in KLB (Kinlochbervie) and the Rhiconich was the hotel they booked me into. I must admit, when I first arrived I was a bit "meh!" But I always like to give things a try.

No one to greet me, but it was end of March, not high season so I waited. After a few moments I was greeted and shown to my room. The room was excellent, better than the exterior would have me believe. Warm with ensuite and double glazing. All the usual comforts, remote colour tv, kettle, etc. No complaints there. Since I was DJ-ing I was going to be late back, but the host was attending the party so we agree'd I could have a late breakfast & a late checkout.

Excellent!

I gave the host a lift back and if I am honest, I expected a very late breakfast, lol. But he was up with the birds and I had the most excellent full Scottish with a pot of tea to wash it down. It looked so good I took a photo of it :-)

After breakfast, I was given a tour of the hotel and could see it was a work in progress. They had done the double glazing the week before I arrived (Mid March) and were upgrading the rooms with new facilities, paper & paint. I had to admit I was not in the slightest bit disturbed by the renovations. I expect they will be done by now.

I ave read reviews of this hotel and find some of them a bit petty! This is the West Highlands, the pace is a bit slower. Some of you need to calm down and chill out before you arrive. If no one is there, hang around a few minutes, take photo's of the view. It's stunning. I actually used some of my dash cam video to show friends the scenery and they loved it.

If something isn't to your liking, just be nice. Point it out and be gracious as we all appreciate good manners. I am the fussiest person I know, but I was delighted with my welcome and my stay.

Would I visit here again? Absolutely and I would bring my family too.

Room Tip: I stayed at the front, facing the road, but the double glazing kept most of the noise out. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were staying close by but had intended to stay at Rhiconich so visited for a drink & meal. Unfortunately the barman was a bit of an idiot and made it quite clear we weren't welcome, so we did not hang about. In hidsight, the Kinlochbervie hotel was a much nicer location anyway and we were happy to give them our custom. Given the Rhiconich's attitude to customers / guests, I would not be surprised if the place is closed within the year. Perhaps somebody with a better attitude will give it a better chance.

Room Tip: don't stay here unless under new management (from that in place at May 2014)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rhiconich hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhiconich
20.9 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
360 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
328 reviews
21.0 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Overscaig House Hotel
13.3 mi away
Mackay's Rooms
Mackay's Rooms
#1 of 11 in Durness
366 reviews
24.8 mi away
Altnacealgach Motel
Altnacealgach Motel
#6 of 10 in Lairg
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhiconich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhiconich Hotel

Property: Rhiconich Hotel
Address: Rhiconich, Rhiconich IV27 4RN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Rhiconich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rhiconich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rhiconich Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rhiconich Hotel, near Kinlochbervie, is based in the heart of the Highlands. It offers the perfect relaxing getaway with natural surroundings like the spectacular peaks of Arkle and Foinhaven behind you and, looking out in front the beautiful Loch Inchard. It has a comfortable guest lounge with a real peat fire to relax in front of and enjoy the views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Rhiconich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhiconich Hotel Caithness And Sutherland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing