We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real find”
Review of Ulbster Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ulbster Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Halkirk
Certificate of Excellence
Highland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Real find”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is a gem which we found by accident on a journey to the north.
We had lunch in the snug bar, near the log fire. The staff were so friendly
and efficient. Food was excellent. I would recommend it to anyone passing by.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ornum100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, General Manager at Ulbster Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Many thanks for the review,

Its great to see that we met your expectations and we are very happy that you found us here!
We hope to see you again with us here in the far north again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    29
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
45
5
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I did not stay here because I couldn't get a room at short notice, however I did have an evening meal which was great & the service was second to none - really nice decor which has recently been done - I plan and visiting this area again in 2014 and will make sure a give them plenty of notice to book accommodation...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ultraderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, General Manager at Ulbster Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thanks very much for your review - I'm sorry we couldn't accommodate you on this occassion but hopefully next time we will be able to. I am pleased that you were able to enjoy a meal with us however and we look forward to you staying with us in the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellas
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were delighted with our stay here, Becky, Food and beverages manager couldn't have made us more welcome and was so helpful when we were initially disappointed with the chalet room we had booked, it was clean but smelt a wee bit damp she arranged for us to be accommodated in the main hotel, our room was lovely and warm, loads of hot water, comfy bed, great meal in the bar and a fabulous breakfast in the morning. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated, staff were pleasant,, cheery and friendly, it is definitely worth the few extra pounds to book a superior room. Thank you to all the staff who made our 2 night stay memorable and happy memories from our short time in Caithness

Room Tip: Book a superior room well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, General Manager at Ulbster Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Many thanks for the review,

I am very pleased that your stay with us was comfortable and Becky and the rest of the team looked after you.
All the staff read the reviews on this site and we pride ourselves on the customer service that we offer.

We certainly look forward to seeing you back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Trip up north on business and colleague suggested we stay here. Good call from him. Work load slightly delayed departure and I arrived in pitch black through nice village centre.
Initial approach and outside didn't look promising but once over the threshold, the experience just kept getting better. Great welcome from Debbie on reception and I noted the traditional but well maintained décor. This continued in the room where a mix of lovely walnut furniture and new sash windows reflected the high standard of finish in an old building. Room had huge (and as i later discovered very comfy) bed along with additional heavy fold out settee bed and table / chairs. Room 4 easy family room size with finishes all in tweeds - a bit itchy so keep your top on even if too warm.

Immaculate through out including in bath room and downstairs continued high quality finishes. Exploring public rooms revealed beautiful large library with rod rooms (colleague advised that several lodges were out back and previous week was the place was bunged during run up to end of salmon season). Meal in bar was excellent quality with great service from friendly staff all the way. Decent range of local ales on tap and bottled and gantry filled with wide range of drams.

Morning revealed a lovely view out over river Thurso and breakfast was made to order - full Scottish needless to say. Following a quick visit to site, I had to return for a video conference. Staff arranged privacy to permit this and full un-interrupted wireless connection allowed me to tie up an important bit of business.

Minor issues restricted a 4.5 out of 5 which was due to some large spider webs in windows (rest of rooms were immaculate) and sash windows jammed shut. Only with perseverance did I manage to open a couple as room was too hot. Fan in room would help.

Otherwise - great trip and hotel business (and no doubt tourist) friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 4 definitely have a lovely view over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weegie-Ollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, General Manager at Ulbster Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review.

I am delighted that we met your expectations and look forward to seeing you back with us again soon, we take on board and act on all comments left on this site and appriciate the time and effort taken to review.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Another very warm welcome from the staff. This is our third visit and have returned for our 26th wedding anniversary. Wonderful food and 1st class service. our room was beautifully prepared and the attention to detail stunning. My husband asked for flowers and one if the managers went and collected them personally from thurso and had them arranged with champagne and candles when we arrived.thank you again.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenwats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, General Manager at Ulbster Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Many thanks for your review,

I am very pleased that we managed to meet if not exceed your expectations on your visit with us, we will always try and accommodate requests from guests if it makes their stay more enjoyable.

We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halkirk
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Did not have good meal in the dining room,Prawn Cocktail was in tomato sauce!! My mashed potatoes disappeared under my Pan Fried Chicken that was thrown on top!!!! cold as well ,dessert was sticky toffee with a runny sauce!!.
Service was slow as lack of staff!!!!! Only young ones working!!!
I was taken out as a guest and didn't want to complain at the time!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 272Freddie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, General Manager at Ulbster Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your review, its a shame that your experience with us did not meet your expectations as we have done with all of our other diners.

We appreciate all feedback as without it we would not be able to improve on the things that we dont get quite right. However it is a real help if the issue is brought up at the time so that we can put it right immediately as oppose to reading it after the event. I appreciate that you were a guest and that it may have been difficult to mention at the time, but we certainly would have ensured that your expectations of food quality and service were met.

It sounds as though there was an issue with all three courses you had, I assume the rest of your group enjoyed their meals?

Our prawn cocktail is made as you say with Tomato sauce, mayo and a shake of Tabasco, presentation is important to us here and your chicken would most certainly not have been thrown on top, if it was not to your required temperature we would have addressed that immediately and your dessert sauce could have been rectified with additional sauce/ ice cream / cream.

You mentioned the young staff - we indeed have a mix of staff here and a lot of the food and beverage team are young - however this in no means should detract from the service you are given and in fact we pride ourselves on having a vibrant, pleasant and polite team here who consistently offer excellent service - although on this occasion seems as though maybe they were not deployed in the correct areas and you felt we were understaffed.

You also marked the cleanliness of the restaurant down at one but didn't mention it in your review - If there was something in particular that you spotted It would be good to know.

I see on the review it said Halkirk - so if you are local to the area please feel free to call me here at the hotel and we can discuss your experience in more detail and hopefully allow us to offer you and a guest another meal in which we will provide the excellent service and quality of food we are proud to offer here at the Ulbster Arms.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel staff was very friendly and efficient, good welcome and check in. Hotel was very clean and tidy....I was staying in the chalet which was first class and I will highly recommend this. ....great stay, thanks
The food was prepared and served to perfection....yum yum

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AMTravellerAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, General Manager at Ulbster Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review,

I am delighted that your stay was good and you enjoyed our food, we look forward to your next stay with us where we can hopefully do it all again for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halkirk
8.2 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
293 reviews
12.8 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
250 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
285 reviews
15.4 mi away
Mackays Hotel
Mackays Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wick
429 reviews
5.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ulbster Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulbster Arms Hotel

Property: Ulbster Arms Hotel
Address: Bridge Street, Halkirk KW12 6XY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Halkirk
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Halkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ulbster Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ulbster Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulbster Arms Hotel Halkirk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing