We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mmm can't understand the excellent reviews”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Broomhall Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Broomhall Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Menstrie
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“mmm can't understand the excellent reviews”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife and two children booked a family room and was expecting two kingsized beds.We were taken up to the very top floor and on first impressions the room looked ok, nice furniture and bed however it was badly finished off things not painted behind,nail holes not filled in,holes in walls and behind bed ,around the velox window was a mess.The children has a very squeeky put up bed which drove us mad the noise.The en suite was all new but poorly finished off also and a terrible sell of bad drains.The breakfast was basic with make your own builders tea!!!!no tea pots come on.Poor value for money and not the castle experience we were expecting.Would not go again

Room Tip: dont get the squeeky sofa bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GARY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    152
    56
    30
    22
See reviews for
134
331
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012 via mobile

Very friendly low budget inn, but not the Castle Experience we had hoped for.

Positive:
Nice building exterior
Very friendly and informal (t-shirt & jeans) one man straff
Excellent dinner, OK/good breakfast
Close to Stirling, with very interesting attractions

Negative:
Very little castle feeling over the interior. Hardly any decrations or paintings. Worn and tired 1980ies feel. Provisional repairs. Every pub in Scotland has better decorations.
Scruffy garden and sourroundings
WiFi was not detectible anyware we tired (rom, restaurant, bar)

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

My partner & I stayed in this hotel 2 nights ago & got the best night sleep in a long time. We had a lovely room with a seperate living area & a huge shower. We never had dinner at Broomhall but that was only because we ate at another place during our long drive down there. But the dinner menu looked superb. I will try the venison the next time we visit though. All the staff were lovely, very friendly & very helpful. My partner & I had a wee walk round Menstrie in the evening. Lovely & quiet. Just what we needed. Went to the local pub & everyone there was welcolming. Would have stayed for the local quiz night which we were invited to partake but after our 3 hour drive we were quite tired. We retired to bed later on that night & I felt I was in a giant marshmallow because of the quality of the bed, sheets & pillows. Sounds weird I know but it was great. I've been to many hotels in the past but nothing compares to Broomhall beds. We kept the window open during the night (The room was cosy but not stifling) & were woken up by the birds singing. We usually waken up to seagulls squawking! Constantly! So it was a very pleasant change. Breakfast was lovely. We aren't breakfast lovers but we had a wee taste on what was to offer & enjoyed it. I did have a look at another tables breakfast & the full breakfast looked delicious. Enjoyed it especially since we were seated in a corner window so we could enjoy the sights of the lovely surroundings.
Best hotel I have stayed in yet & I've stayed in some lovely hotels but Broomhall wins hands down because of the excellent staff, beautiful surroundings & the 'Marshmallow Bed'.
Definately recommend Broomhall to others.
P.s. My rating for the fitness centre is excellent. There is no fitness centre at Broomhill but outside is the Ochils, how much more do you want?

Room Tip: Ask for a four poster bed & a bath. We had a sled bed which was very comfy but would have liked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ainsley_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed at Broomhall Castle overnight recently and can't recommend it enough. Building is beautiful (with very interesting history). Room was absolutely gorgeous and huge!! Large
roll-top bath with separate walk-in shower in the bathroom. We had dinner in the hotel and the food was delicious (good selection on menu). David made sure our entire stay was enjoyable and the whole time was so relaxing and enjoyable. An excellent hotel and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlingbackSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroomhallCastle, Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the room was big enough for you :D We look forward to welcoming you back to Broomhall Castle in the no to distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Just back from a night in Broomhall Castle.We were there for a birthday celebration for our friend .We booked the two fourposter bed rooms and we were not disappointed.The staff were very attentive always making sure that everything was ok during our stay.Breakfast was fab all freshly cooked and served on nice hot plates ( a pet hate of mine).Would definately stay again and would recommend the castle to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank june v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroomhallCastle, Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for leaving such a nice review for us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the castle one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed at the castle for 2 nights. Upon arrival we were greeted and shown to our room. We were surprised and very pleased as we had been upgraded to the four poster bedroom. The room was very spacious and the ensuite had a walk in shower and also a seperate roll top bath, again very spacious. As it was Scotland in January it was very cold outside but thankfully very warm in the bedroom and public areas of the hotel.
Included in the room rate was breakfast. We both really enjoyed the breakfast which was very traditionally Scottish which included Haggis, Black Pudding and square sausage which was just what we both needed before a full days sighseeing.
The castle is a good base to stay due to it's location for visiting Stirling, Edinburgh and St Andrews.
The castle is visually stunning and very good value for money when you compare what you get here compared to another bed and breakfasts or other small hotels.
We spoke with one of the owners over breakfast who was very frindly and helpful and made us feel very welcome.
If we return to this area again we would have no hesitation in coming back to this charming place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroomhallCastle, Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
We hope to see you back at the castle soon, and thank you for your kind words I will pass on all the praise to the staff who looked after you..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

had a realy good stay was made realy welcome
food was realy good
good sleep in bed
very clean and tidy
recomend it totaly
thanks for a good stay

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menstrie
7.0 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
4.4 mi away
Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant
4.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
3.0 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broomhall Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broomhall Castle

Property: Broomhall Castle
Address: Broomhall Castle Long Row, Menstrie FK11 7EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Menstrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Menstrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Broomhall Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broomhall Castle is a family owned hotel with ten good quality en suite rooms having exposed stone walls and king sized or larger beds. We have two rooms with super king four poster beds for that special break. Situated 5 miles from Stirling with views of the Castle and the Wallace Monument. Enjoy a friendly and personal hotel in a great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Broomhall Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broomhall Castle Menstrie, Scotland
Broomhall Castle Hotel Menstrie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing