We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff very accomodating”
Review of Broomhall Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Broomhall Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Menstrie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This an interesting hotel built in the late 1800's. The rooms are generous in many ways but in ours we could have done with more light - only 1 bedside light & 1 downlighter in the bathroom. We're retired & the room was up 4 flights of stairs - not easy - & the lift was well unique! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff & breakfast was excellent. A place out of the "rush & stress" of every day life. However, had we paid full price for the room we would not have been happy, but, the discounted price was fair. A car is essential to visit this hotel as it is some way from the main road up a steep twisty incline. Views over the kerse of Stirling are fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdw1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroomhallCastle, Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

thank you for leaving a review with us and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us overall, and hopefully we will see you again soon

Regards

Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

There is no reception desk as such, but as soon as we arrived the attendant arrived to check us in and show us to our rooms so not a problem. Rooms and bathrooms are large and contain everything needed (however, I say this with reservation as one room was fully equipped; the other room was missing milk, as discovered when I went to make a morning tea, and had only bath towels, no hand towels or bath mat - there was no phone to ring down, so I let it ride). Great building with that nice historic feel, although the lounge and bar areas are a bit sparse. Feel that it was overpriced for what it is - asking price per night was pounds 105 per double room, but I believe you can find it cheaper. One thing that let it down was the meal - restricted menu, which would have been fine if the food was excellent, but although the presentation and service was good and the food plentiful, my chicken dish was dry and the steak, although tasty, was on the tough side. Definitely room for improvement here, and we also found it expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellersalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroomhallCastle, Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

thank you for leaving a review for us, and sorry to hear you were not completely happy with your stay, if you had informed us that there was an issue with your room and missing items we would have remedied this immediately, if no one tells us there is nothing we can do about it but I can assure you (as you pointed out that the other room was fine) this was just an over sight and unfortunately down to human error things do get missed every so often although we try our best not to miss anything at all..
I am also a little disappointed that you found our 6 choice 3 course menu restricted and overpriced (the most you could have paid is £30 for three courses) and as you can see from 99% of the reviews on here our food is what everyone raves about so I will put this down to personal taste, if in the unlikely event that your steak was tough we would have replaced this immediately for you

I do hope that one day you will be able to return to us so we can show you that this is a one of unfortunate situation

Regards and thanks

Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have stayed twice in the hotel and are due to return again this month, it is a great hotel and very relaxing, we always find the staff very friendly and always up for a chat!

In January we actually got engaged here and it was the best weekend ever! The beds are amazing and the best nights sleep. Rooms are large and always have a view!

Surroundings are great and very picturesque!

See you all again soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroomhallCastle, Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hi Jess

Thank you for the review and always good to welcome back friendly faces.. glad you still enjoying it and was great to see you both again.. congrats on the engagement and looking forward to the next visit

Regards

Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Nice friendly staff. The room was great, super warm with afternoon sun. Its a little hard to get to for a traveller by bus, the walk up the hill and drive with a suitcase is less than easy. A comfortable bar experience, no probs taking the bottle of wine from here to the dining room and to my room. Meal was ok. And breakfast excellent. Being in a sun facing turreted room while good, needs to have the uht milk and chocolates not having sat in the sun for forever. Even UHT milk cant handle this. Wifi does not work in the rooms. Their advertising needs to be more honest. It does work well in the dining room.

Room Tip: Was really nice to be in the turret facing the setting sun. A little noise from young guests running...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ai1sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroomhallCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hi Ailsa

Thank you for the review and glad to hear you enjoyed it, re the sun coming in the windows, nothing we can do about this but we have spoke to the housekeeping team about moving items away from the window, thank you for pointing this out to us!
guests traveling by bus and having to walk up the drive :) we can't change the local bus companies or get rid of the hill we are on, so hire a car (or a helicopter next time and really treat yourself :)
. Our wiFi doesn't work in the rooms due to the thickness of the walls, that is why we only advertise it as being available in guest areas, the lounges, bar and restaurant

Regards and thank you again for the review

Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

After dropping off relatives at Glasgow Airport decided to break up the return 4 hr journey and stay at Broomhall Castle. On arrival plenty of car parking spaces. No actual reception desk but was seen promptly by a friendly staff member who resides on the premises. Room was spacious and clean with a large bathroom. Room was a little tired with the bathroom curtain needing a wash and the bathroom door appeared to be waiting for a top coat of paint. However that apart it was warm and comfy.

Previously a nursing home, so lots of fire doors which are a tad out of character.

Evening meal was excellent with same friendly chap. Reasonably priced and we both really enjoyed the meal. Breakfast was also good with again friendly staff.
In summation pleasant premises with good staff, yes a bit tired but at £60 including breakfast it was tremendous value when you consider some Priemer Inns etc can charge that and more.
Highly recommend and we will use again at that price.

Room Tip: We had no view albeit was one night and arrived late, so not interested in the view. If staying for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroomhallCastle, Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hi Jim

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and glad that overall you liked us, unfortunately there is not much we can do re the fire-doors as every time we approach the council to council to have them changed they come up with a reason to stop us due to health and safety.. fingers crossed this may change eventually.
Please let us know when you are next going to be in our area and we will do you a great deal :)

Regards and thanks again for the review
Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just returned from one night at the Broomhall. Arrived late (9.30pmish) and hence did not partake of an evening meal or drink and just went to room and flaked out. Location is good, building is impressive, bedroom we had was nicely appointed, large and warm. Bed was good and ensuite shower room was excellent as well. Breakfast in the dining room was very good..room very spacious and food great. Hotel was warm and inviting and staff we met and talked to were very pleasant and helpful. Would definitely go again and explore the area a bit more. Value for money is 10/10. I hope we paid online!!!

Room Tip: We had room 5 to the side which was fine....presume rooms to the front have better view but absolut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenmavor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroomhallCastle, Public Relations Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hi kenmavor

A lovely review thank you very much, and hopefully we will see you again soon, when you are coming back let us know who you are and we will try and give you a front facing room if possible, but to be honest, the side rooms look out over the gardens towards the monument and hills to the right the front facing ones look out over menstrie, the other side are down the drive over trees and the hills to the left and the rear facing straight up the hills.. so pretty much wherever you look you will see trees or hills :)

Regards and thanks again

Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

hi we have just got home from broomhall and we are more than happy it was our 25th wedding anniversary and its been great , scott and the rest of the staff make you feel so at home nothing is a bother and the food is first class!! they made us feel so special and service second to none room was fab 4 poster and very clean we will be returning very soon and dont think about it book now you will love it!! thanks again scott !!

Room Tip: room 8 was spot on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dominic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroomhallCastle, General Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hi Dominic

Thanks for the great review and glad you felt at home! that is what we are all about

You are ever coming back our way let us know and we would love to see you again

Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menstrie
4.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
5.1 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
7.1 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
3 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
587 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broomhall Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broomhall Castle

Address: Broomhall Castle Long Row, Menstrie FK11 7EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Menstrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Menstrie
Price Range: £57 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Broomhall Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broomhall Castle is a family owned hotel with 16 good quality en suite rooms having exposed stone walls and king sized or larger beds. We have two rooms with super king four poster beds for that special break. Situated 5 miles from Stirling with views of the Castle and the Wallace Monument. Enjoy a friendly and personal hotel in a great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Broomhall Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broomhall Castle Menstrie, Scotland
Broomhall Castle Hotel Menstrie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing