We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scruffy but great!”
Review of Broomhall Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Broomhall Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Menstrie
Certificate of Excellence
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Scruffy but great!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We found a great last minute deal to stay a night at the 'Castle' via Laterooms whilst on a tour of Scotland. First impressions were positively reinforced by a friendly email from the hotel confirming the reservation.

The driveway up to the hotel could do with resurfacing but the building itself looked great externally. Check in was easy and quick and we went to the room. Broomhall Castle has had various uses over the years - the history in the information pack in the room was quite intriguing - and prior to becoming a hotel was an old people's home, which is evident in a few ways once you go up from reception, but it wasn't a big deal. The room was lovely with a very high ceiling and classic furniture and the bathroom was nicely, and recently, refurbished. Letting things down a little were worn old green carpet, creaky floors and a slightly shabby feeling but overall it felt perfectly decent, like a slightly worn old aristocratic mansion!

We didn't partake in dinner at the hotel, but did visit the bar on our return that evening. There were only a few people around, but the barman was very friendly and the room next to the bar in which we sat was absolutely beautiful, with a huge fireplace and comfy sofas! In the morning breakfast was efficiently served in the lovely dining room, and portions were huge (definitely no lunch needed that day!).

Overall, we felt that if the hotel had a few quid they could make the place more 'high end', but then the cost of staying would go up and it might lose a little of it's charm. As it is, it's quirky but fun, the service is good, and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroomhallCastle, Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi MRBen

Thanks for a great review, and glad to hear you like it, you will be pleased to hear that we are working on the drive (just waiting for a couple of days we are empty so we can close it down to strip it and resurface it) and we are working out way around updating rooms and touching up paint etc, hopefully you will be able to come back in the not to distant future

Regards and thank you once again

Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    157
    61
    33
    22
See reviews for
140
341
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Attended a conference where there were lots of hitches, not a seamless operation. Coffee was served in the morning for delegates arriving and the dirty cups had to be used again for mid-morning coffee. This ran out out anyway and the majority had to go without. Sound was poor for the speakers and the projector was used on a wall which resulted in a poor view.Lunch was disappointing, the soup was lukewarm and sandwiches very uninspiring. The restaurant was bland with no character. Some of the furniture in the bar area was really worn and torn-perhaps a vintage look?! It was pleasant enough but just didn't live up to expectations from the impression the outside of the building gives which is a shame. The hotel is set in an area where you need access to a car, it's not very accessible otherwise. We wouldn't use it again for a conference venue as it just isn't suited to hosting this type of function. Probably be okay for a wedding but the quality of the food would have to improve.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nexthol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroomhallCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
I am not going to go into any details other than to say that your company would not be welcome back here, and that your key speaker is the rudest, nastiest and most horrible creature I have had the misfortune of meeting and if he ever showed up at our hotel again I would not be held responsible for my actions, he insulted me, my castle and my staff.

All your points are answerable tea and coffee was only paid for on arrival and after lunch, the sandwiches were chosen by the conference organizer from an extensive list of options, there is nothing wrong with the sound quality in our function hall, and we have hundreds of weddings and conferences a year, yours is the only complaint we have had.

Gleneagles is only approachable by Car, what is your point? maybe we should move the castle to an airport or train station, but then again that wouldn't help with the sound

Kind Regards and thank you for letting me know you won't be back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Broomhall Castle to celebrate our wedding anniversary on 24th May, we booked a four poster room which was just lovely and so big, on arrival we were met by Scott who showed us to our room very promptly and told us if there was anything we needed just to ask. The castle is very picturesque and quite the romantic setting. We had our evening meal which was delightful, compliments to the chef. We enjoyed some refreshments in the very tranquil lounge and chatted to the staff who were all very helpful and friendly throughout our short stay. If it is a romantic setting and a quiet place you are looking for I would certainly recommend Broomhall Castle. When we told them it was our anniversary we were given a complimentary drink which was a lovely gesture. Our trip was finished of by a traditional Scottish breakfast. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frews43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroomhallCastle, Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
hi there

thank you for the great review and glad you chose us to celebrate your anniversary and happy to hear you were not disappointed, I will pass all your comments onto Scott and the rest of the team, including the chef! Anytime you want to come back please just let us know

Regards and thanks again

Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 day, 2 night stay over as part of my wife's 50 birthday celebrations, and we loved it, the owner Ty and his staff could not have been more helpful, courteous and polite if they had tried. It is a great base for exploring the local sites and beautiful scenery, we will definitely be returning.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroomhallCastle, Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi Steven

Thank you for a great review and glad to hear you and your wife enjoyed her 50th Birthday celebrations when with us, and if you are ever back in our area please let us know

Regards
Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

King sized bed with very lovely linen, extremely helpful staff who shared their knowledge of the area and really improved our overall experience of Scotland, as well as a very comfortable lounge area and breakfast room. Very close to Sterling Castle. Unless you're wiling to drive for dinner, I would recommend dining with the hotel as the immediate area does not provide many options.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley87little
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroomhallCastle, Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi Shelley

Glad you enjoyed your stay and you found us all helpful, and thank you for leaving a review for us here..

If you are ever coming back please feel free to drop us an email and we will do you a cracking deal

Regards

Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Attended a recent family wedding. There is no book in reception however staff very quick to meet, greet and showed us to our room. The staff were attentive throughout our stay taking time to ensure our 9 year old daughters needs we're attended to. We were given a family room which was massive with good en suite facilities. Best sleep I've had in a hotel the bed was great. We did not hear any music from the party when we went back to our room. The food was of a high quality and good portions. Ask the kitchen for salmon parcels you will be amazed. A pleasant stay which was down to attentive staff. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stratus_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroomhallCastle, Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
hiya guys

Thanks for a great review glad you enjoyed it and really glad you enjoyed the wedding and hopefully you will be able to come back and see us in the future

Regards

Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We recently spent three nights in Broomhall Castle which I'm afraid was enough. The atmosphere and staff were great, especially Ann, Scott and David but the bathroom, although it looked fabulous, was awful. No heat at all, no towel rail, no proper mirror or lighting, no bin. At least we had a shelf which other bathrooms don't have. The food was ok but plates cold. We felt the place has amazing potential but needs a lot of basic improvements.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BroomhallCastle, Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi Rachel thank you for leaving a review and sorry to hear you thought our room was awful, I am not sure how to respond as no one has ever complained before about any of our bathrooms, and had you pointed this out to us at the time especially about there being no lighting (I for one would have certainly made a point of telling someone I had no lighting in my bathroom as would not be able to see what I was doing!!) Yes not all our rooms have towel rails, but the ones that don't do have stands and shelving for towels.. As for the plates being cold, to be honest this is a British thing as no where else in the world do people expect plates to be hot, if the food is hot then there should not be a requirement for the plates to be hot

Thank you once again for leaving the review

Regards

Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menstrie
3.0 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
550 reviews
4.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
7.0 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
4.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
4.4 mi away
Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broomhall Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broomhall Castle

Property: Broomhall Castle
Address: Broomhall Castle Long Row, Menstrie FK11 7EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Menstrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Menstrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Broomhall Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broomhall Castle is a family owned hotel with 16 good quality en suite rooms having exposed stone walls and king sized or larger beds. We have two rooms with super king four poster beds for that special break. Situated 5 miles from Stirling with views of the Castle and the Wallace Monument. Enjoy a friendly and personal hotel in a great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Broomhall Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broomhall Castle Menstrie, Scotland
Broomhall Castle Hotel Menstrie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing