We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome weekend stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brookford B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brookford B&B
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Qingdao, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome weekend stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Such an incredible B and B. We arrived to a lovely warm welcome, homemade scones and superb homemade jam! The room was excellent, warm, spacious, equipped with everything you might need, everything was locally sourced, homemade or fair trade which is perfect! They offer a two course evening meal and the food was fantastic quality- even better than some restaurants! The owners are lovely, helpful and will do anything to make your stay comfortable. The breakfast was hearty and certainly gets your day off to a great start! I can not recommend the Brookford and they are definitely great value for money! Can't wait to stay here again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie B, Owner at Brookford B&B, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Wow! What can I say except thank you so much for your appreciation of Brookford B&B. I am really delighted that you had such a good time with us and that we made your stay such a success.

Although you only had 1 night with us it was a real pleasure to meet you and you will be welcome back any time to explore more of Galloway on your bikes; maybe for a long weekend next time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
48
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

The B&B caters for everything a person could wish for. Friendly welcome, clean and well laid out room, good facilities. Ronnie goes beyond the call of duty, i.e. drying our boots and clothes after walking. He always makes sure that you have everything you need to make your stay a comfortable one. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie B, Owner at Brookford B&B, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hi Marion R,

It is always pleasing when the little things I do for my guests and which are just natural responses to the needs of my guests, are so appreciated.

Many thanks for your kind comments and I look forward to looking after you both again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Couldn't fault our over night stay here. Spotless modern room with en suite to match. Very homely cosy feel and we were made to feel very welcome with hot home made scones and tea/coffee on arrival.
All the small touches went along way and we will definitely be staying here again. Couldn’t recommend it enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emzgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie B, Owner at Brookford B&B, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hi,

I am really grateful for your review of Brookford B&B. I have noted your opinion about sleep quality and would ask that you contact me directly if you have any suggestions how I could improve that aspect for your next visit.

Your comments not only make my efforts worthwhile but go a long way to making my business even more popular. So thank you very much and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We came here for stargazing. The weather was cold and wet. We arrived from Glasgow and found cosy, clean, homelike family small hotel. Friendly, very nice and professional owners. The room is provided with all the facilities, very comfortable. The breakfast will be served with homemade delicious bread and marmalade. The fabulous place we would like to come back over and over again. The town is fantastic.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie B, Owner at Brookford B&B, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hi Tatiana,

Hope you had a good journey back home. Many thanks for the kind review and I hope to see you both back in Scotland soon.

As with every guest at Brookford B&B we do all we can to make your stay memorable, however the weather is still beyond our control, but we will keep trying!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Overnight before ferry well off the direct route we found great hospitality here. Cuppa tea and home made fruitcake (still warm) as a good welcome, lovely towels, real nice bed, great breakfast. A bit of job manouvering the case in the room, but remains first place to ring when in the area next.

G and M.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Godfrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie B, Owner at Brookford B&B, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Many thanks for your kind review and we hope you enjoyed your time in Ireland. Anytime you are passing through or even if you want to stay a while in Dumfries and Galloway, we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

From the warm welcome with a cup of coffee and home made scones to the immaculate bedrooms, Brookford was a real find. Comfortable and very high standard in the bedroom, with a lovely breakfast with a good choice. Ronnie was knowledgeable about the surrounding area and happy to share that information to make our stay more enjoyable. It is a small town so places to eat (if you don't want to use the car) are a bit limited. The Clachan Inn had lovely food with a huge wood burner to make it very cosey. The only disadvantage was it was up hill on the way back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie B, Owner at Brookford B&B, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Hi Caroline,

Many thanks for your kind remarks about your stay with us. It was a real pleasure to meet you and we hope it won't be too long until we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

A great warm welocme form Ronnie, comfortable accomodation, a top breakfast and all the help and advice you caould need, we stayed for 2 nights whilst climbing corbettes in Galloway and found this b and B to be really excellent.

the pub in the village, the Clachan Inn is also

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NeilAyling215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie B, Owner at Brookford B&B, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Hi Neil,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as having a god couple of days up in the Galloway Hills.

We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's Town of Dalry
2.1 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
17.9 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
16.4 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
16.8 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Knowe B&B
The Knowe B&B
#1 of 2 in Carsphairn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookford B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookford B&B

Property: Brookford B&B
Address: 4 St. Johns Way | St. Johns Town of Dalry, St. John's Town of Dalry DG7 3UQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > St. John's Town of Dalry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's Town of Dalry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookford B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque village of St. Johns Town of Dalry, Brookford B&B is a Visit Scotland 4 star accommodation provider adjacent to the Southern Upland Way and near the Galloway Forest Park & Galloway Dark Skies Park & Observatory. Brookford B&B offers a luxury en-suite Double and Twin rooms fully and tastefully furnished with flat screen TV/DVD’s, Tea and coffee making facilities, central heating and high quality bedding, towels and toiletries. Excellent base to experience the unspoilt beauty and wildlife of the Glenkens; an undiscovered gem in Dumfries and Galloway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brookford B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookford B&B St. John's Town Of Dalry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing