We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must have had a refurb since previous reviews”
Review of Lochinvar Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. John's Town of Dalry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lochinvar Hotel
Reviewed 20 June 2014

While walking the Southern Upland Way in early May, myself & girlfriend stayed here after a long day of walking.

We had a new looking room with modern bathroom, very clean and comfy with excellent big comfy bed. Ideal for rinsing away a lot of miles of dirt and dust from the road. The owner/manager (sorry didn't catch his name) also let us use the laundry facilities free of charge to give our walking clothes a well-needed clean.

Had dinner in the bar which was tasty and was a great portion size, even managing to fill a couple of very hungry walkers. Breakfast the next morning was equally good and again a very decent portion.

Would definitely recommend this hotel, room was as spacious as some of the rooms in the 5* hotel I work in!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yazuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willmatt321, Owner at Lochinvar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thanks for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Lochinvar. We are glad that you noticed that we have been busy upgrading the facilities, infact we have almost finished now and all the rooms are at the standard that you experienced, albeit some have baths. It has taken about 3 years to pull it all together but are very pleased with the final refurb, the building interior has seen quiite a transformation which seems to be being appreciated by our guests..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Lochinvar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were walking the Southern Upland Way, at the end of one of the days we needed accommodation. We had a tent, we thought a campsite was nearer, however after long day decided to stay in Dalry. Rather than another 3 miles. The Clachan inn and a couple of other B and B in the village were fully.
We thought from the outside the Lochinvar hotel looked good, however we were to be proved mistaken as we entered. We had no choice but to stay, it was for two nights. Sam, the manager and owner was friendly pleasent and helpful, but he is not cut out to run a hotel. He appears to be running the hotel mainly by himself.
As we entered we felt the place had not seen a good deep clean for some time. It appeared dated and worn. Having seen the web site comparing this with reality do not be fooled by it. The room itself was large, but dust was in most places, the bathroom need to be ripped out and replaced, but I could have forgiven this had it been cleaned to the standard of most hotels. There was plenty of hot water and heating. We were the only people staying here. The views from our room were stunning. Breakfast was good but not as appetising as we wondered how clean the kitchen was. There was a bar, some of the locals attended. The bar was quite pleasant. The toilets to the bar were disgusting. This hotel has such potential but sadly we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L_K1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

From the outside the hotel looks good.

However,once inside it was cold and grubby. The light didn't in the bathroom didn't work. Fawlty Towers looks 5 star compared to this place.
I am astounded that in this day and age that there are places like this still trading.
A tent would be better. My friend summed it up by saying if you were to compare it to sleeping under a tree it might be good.
Go to the Clachan round the corner great food and fantastic pint.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Recently stayed here with friends,dont know where to begin, ensuite room - bedroom furniture,wardrobe and chest of drawers so dirty couldn't use for my clothes,bathroom looked like it was in the process of being redecorated,plasterboard walls and electric sockets hanging loose,shower only supplied hot water for a short time,then nothing.radiator also not working.Hotel on the inside looks run down and in need of some TLC,public bar uninspiring and populated by a motely crew,beer had to be sent back as undrinkable,guy behind bar not interested.communal bathroom on first floor,should have a health warning on door.Fryup breakfast apart from cereal was all that was on offer,same guy that was serving in bar,taking orders.
Could'nt leave this hotel fast enough,never again
If ever an establishment need a visit from the Hotel Inspector,this is it .

Room Tip: Would'nt recommend any rooms
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shetland62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here over 2 nights as we were walking the Southern Upland way. The hotel itself is tired and showing signs of wear and tear. We booked 2 rooms a single and a twin and found the walls to be dirty no shower in the twin only a grubby bath and after long days walking a shower would have been good. Having a feel for the hotel we decided not to eat in the hotel after the state of the place.
TOP TIP- Eat in the Clachan Inn just round the corner puts the Lochinvar to shame you can also rent rooms (unfortunately fully booked or we would have moved).
After the second days walking we were picked up by the owner Sam and driven back from our pick up point. Sam informed us that because of a large party of foreign guests arriving that evening he had moved all our belongings into a family room to allow our rooms to be used for the other guests! Unacceptable behaviour to move personal belongings without consent never experienced anything like it.

We again ate like kings in the Clachan Inn totally bewildered with the actions of the so called manger Sam. Breakfast was uninspiring value fry up from local supermarket would have shown it up.

Over all this hotel is run down and in need of a major revamp. The owner was polite and helpful but to move personal belongings whilst you are out with the hotel is unprofessional and totally unacceptable. Stay clear of this place and book into the Clachan Inn and save yourself the ordeal we had to face.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Genuine_Beefeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lochivar while we were backpacking the Southern Upland Way. Though we did not have a reservation we were delighted that there was a room available. Our room was very large and en suite. The gent running the place, Sam, was beyond hospitable to us and the staff in the pub really made us feel at home and well cared for. The bed was comfortable and the shower was hot (which was quite a relief after a few days of tent camping and no shower). What really pushed this over the top for me was the fact that Sam let us make use of his washing machine and dryer (having only brought 3 sets of clothing this was absolutely incredible and a huge morale booster for us). We would absolutely stay here again should the opportunity arise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The staff could not have been more helpfull and friendly and the meals are out of this world and you can go off menu and have anything you want .and the beer is nice and cold.the rooms are nice and big with a nice big bath room.and some rooms do have a bath!!.will be going back again.

Room Tip: Just ask for the room you want.bath or shower .
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's Town of Dalry
2.2 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
117 reviews
16.1 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
358 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
282 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#5 of 5 in Castle Douglas
483 reviews
18.2 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochinvar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochinvar Hotel

Address: 3 Main Street, St. John's Town of Dalry DG7 3UP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > St. John's Town of Dalry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. John's Town of Dalry
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Lochinvar Hotel St. John's Town Of Dalry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing