We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to eat in town”

The Clachan Inn Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The only place to eat in town”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The food here was excellent. We ate in the bar as we had our dog with us but he was made welcome. The specials menu was small but varied.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip P, Owner at The Clachan Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is always good to have positive feedback from our customers so that we know that our high standards are being maintained. Hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    33
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Homely and welcoming inn with good food and beer”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was just the sort of pub you hope to find when you are visiting somewhere on holiday. There were two kinds of local real ale on tap, both excellent. And there was a varied menu of tempting dishes. I ate there four nights in a row recently when staying in Dalry and enjoyed everything that was set in front of me. The homemade soups were delicious, especially the minted pea soup and mushroom soup. Breaded haddock and chips was beautifully cooked, as was the wild mushroom risotto with truffle oil. I also enjoyed chicken stuffed with haggis. I couldn't comment on puddings as I didn't have room, but other people's looked great especially the sticky toffee pudding. Prices were very reasonable (average of £9 to £12 for main courses) and service very friendly and efficient.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip P, Owner at The Clachan Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent visit. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed both the ales and food and that you found the staff to be friendly and efficient. We hope you will visit us again in the future when you are in the area and maybe you will find room for a dessert next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Galloway, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy place to enjoy good food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A good traditional atmosphere welcomes the visitor. The décor could do with freshening, but the food is very tasty and a good size. The menu is a little limited, however the specials board adds variety. We have visited twice, both times busy, which is a good sign. The area is very beautiful, with much to do, so this Inn is well placed for food and accommodation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip P, Owner at The Clachan Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit. I am sorry you found the menu rather limited. We consider that the menu offers a varied choice which, as you mention, is supplemented by the specials board. All our meals are freshly prepared and made to order. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

The food was outstanding. We had pig cheeks, sea bass both of which were of the highest standard. This place is well worth the visit. Excellent service, highest standard food at pub food prices.

Helpful?
Thank Louisecairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quality food and cosy pub”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Visited for a meal on a cold winter Sunday. Open fires were roaring which was a great start. Tried one of the local beers which was top notch. Food was also really really good. Soup for starters followed by haggis stuffed chicken for me and venison sausages for the better half. Overall the clachan is well worth a visit, we would highly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MickGalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip P, Owner at The Clachan Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hello there, sorry for a slow reply on our front. Thanks for leaving such a nice review of the clachan. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Clachan Inn Restaurant also viewed

New Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway
Garlieston, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
New Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gatehouse of Fleet, Dumfries and Galloway
New Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Clachan Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing