We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Resturant Review”
Kingfish Inn, a charming and intimate inn.  All rooms with water views.  A minute from West Sound.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kingfish Inn, a charming and intimate inn.  All rooms with water views.  A minute from West Sound.
Kingfish1 Alder.  Hand plaster walls lend warmth to this room (upstairs with private deck) Kingfish1 Alder.  Comfortable seating and glorious views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
105 reviews
Kingfish Inn, a charming and intimate inn.  All rooms with water views.  A minute from West Sound.
Kingfish1 Alder.  Hand plaster walls lend warmth to this room (upstairs with private deck)
Kingfish1 Alder.  Comfortable seating and glorious views.
Kingfish1 Alder. Private covered deck with forever views.
Kingfish4: Spruce-Only Suite on 1st floor.  It has a wall of windows and private deck.
Kingfish4 Spruce: Sea views from bed. small kitchenette with microwave, fridge and bar sink.
Kingfish4 Spruce: Views of Marina and islands beyond from room and private deck.
All Suites: snacking items, fruits & power bars to start your morning, other snacks.
All Suites: planning a special celebration.  Call with budget for personalized packages.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Orcas, Orcas Island, San Juan Islands, Washington

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 105 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
tiger62z
dallas
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Mixed feeling”
Reviewed 14 November 2008 for a stay in July 2008

We stayed at a room with patio for three nights in July. The room was spacious but didn’t have a table which we could at least put a laptop. The bath room was small, there was a tiny place near the sink just enough for the toothbrush kit. The shower room was a little small as well and needs an update. The furniture on the deck was quite dusty, so we gave up the idea sitting in there.

Bob is a very nice guy who gave us a quick guide to great places to eat and fun things to do. He also came to cook breakfast for us every morning. The food was good and very fresh. We ate dinner once there, the food was average. And they seemed much more happier to accommodate their local guests than the tourists.

The inn is about 10-15 minutes from the ferry station, it's set right on the road at an intersection near a bay doesn’t have any shops around. When we come back to the island next time, we might stay in the east village or Deer Harbor or Rosario resort.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Visit was for: Hobbies / interest / culture
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniellem...
Washington State
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Resturant Review”
Reviewed 13 October 2008 for a stay in October 2008

My family and I had dinner at the Kingfish Inn and it was by far one the best place to eat on the island. The halibut and chips were fantastic, Baja shrimp tacos were also wonderful, clam chowder was delicious, I could go on and on. Quaint, great prices, no complaints!

Value Location
Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Quality time with family
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bldrwande...
boulder, co
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kingfish ok”
Reviewed 7 October 2008 for a stay in September 2008

We recently stayed at the Kingfish Inn on Orcas Island.
There were 4 of us and we stayed for 2 nights. We enjoyed the views, the rooms were nice, with comfortable beds. The showers were pre-fab and extremely small. We would give the rooms a 4 .... only negative is the showers.
We had breakfast the first morning. It was good, except they ran out of their homemade sausage. When you run a B & B, don't you know in advance that you will have guests?
Our biggest complaint, and the reason for the 3 stars, was the final morning. We were catching the 7 am ferry and had to leave at 6 am. They serve breakfast at 9 and didn't accomodate us, regardless of the fact that we were the only guests.
There is no coffee in the rooms, or available before 8 am. They could have baked some muffins, put out yogurt and made coffee, and then gone back to bed ! A little box to go would have been nice. That would have shown a little concern for their guests. We felt none.
We enjoyed Orcas Island, but won't stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Visit was for: Quality time with friends
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce1313
Berkeley, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Won't go wrong here”
Reviewed 18 July 2008 for a stay in July 2008

Kingfish is a cross between a B&B and a small inn. Owners don't live onsite, but they are around a lot to run the restaurant below. Room #1 was large and comfortable with a lovely deck looking over the Sound. A great place to sit back and read or enjoy a glass of the port they set out. Bob and Lori are very nice and happy to share ideas about activities around the island. And the breakfasts are fabulous. Minor quibble: bathroom was okay but not great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennibrow...
jennibrown77
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Romantic”
Reviewed 22 April 2008 for a stay in April 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Kingfish Inn for our anniversary. The setting was beautiful and the inn was very private, quiet, and romantic. The breakfasts were delicious, and the owners gave great recommendations of things to do and places to eat on the island.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Visit was for: Romantic getaway
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCBeach
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great spot on Orcas”
Reviewed 8 October 2007 for a stay in October 2007
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Kingfish for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. It rained both days we were on Orcas so the fireplace in room 3 was great for giving a little warmth while drying us out.

Bob makes a great breakfast downstairs and even came in early for us on our last day since we had to catch and early ferry.

The dinner menu looked great and we wished we had been there on a day when the Cafe was open for dinner.

Once caution about Orcas. At least in the off season, some of the businesses and resturants are only open Wed-Sat. We arrived on a Sunday night at 7:30 pm and had a hard time finding a place to have dinner. Lucky for us Lulu's offered to cook us dinner when we arrived at 8:10 even though they closed at 8:00. A good Italian meal really hit the spot after a long day of travel.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Visit was for: Quality time with family
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlandoLi...
Orlando
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint and comfortable!”
Reviewed 1 October 2007 for a stay in September 2007

The Kingfish Inn is a wonderful B&B. We stayed there for 3 days. Each breakfast I tried from the menu was to die for! The rooms are so comfortable and the view is outstanding. We hope to make it back one day soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing