We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Getaway”
Kingfish Inn, a charming and intimate inn.  All rooms with water views.  A minute from West Sound.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kingfish Inn, a charming and intimate inn.  All rooms with water views.  A minute from West Sound.
Kingfish1 Alder.  Hand plaster walls lend warmth to this room (upstairs with private deck) Kingfish1 Alder.  Comfortable seating and glorious views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
106 reviews
Kingfish Inn, a charming and intimate inn.  All rooms with water views.  A minute from West Sound.
Kingfish1 Alder.  Hand plaster walls lend warmth to this room (upstairs with private deck)
Kingfish1 Alder.  Comfortable seating and glorious views.
Kingfish1 Alder. Private covered deck with forever views.
Kingfish4: Spruce-Only Suite on 1st floor.  It has a wall of windows and private deck.
Kingfish4 Spruce: Sea views from bed. small kitchenette with microwave, fridge and bar sink.
Kingfish4 Spruce: Views of Marina and islands beyond from room and private deck.
All Suites: snacking items, fruits & power bars to start your morning, other snacks.
All Suites: planning a special celebration.  Call with budget for personalized packages.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Orcas, Orcas Island, San Juan Islands, Washington

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 106 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Christine...
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Getaway”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Weather ended up being excellent for October. The room was nice with a beautiful view. Complimentary breakfast was cooked for us downstairs in the cafe every morning and was DELICIOUS! Kathy, our hostess was very nice and welcoming and had lots of suggestions for things to do on the island. Looking forward to staying here again :)

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.
Kathy is still with us but she no longer cooks breakfast. She puts juices, yogurt, fruits and snacks in the individual refrigerators provided in the rooms. With just 4 rooms and guests going out on outings early or having many dietary constraints, we found only one couple out of four would come down to breakfast at the designated time. So, no cooked breakfasts. Kathy is happier and the guest, too, seem happy with all the extras we can provide in lieu of breakfast.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kingfish Inn is a dream!”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic stay at the Kingfish Inn. Our room was quiet and comfortable, had an amazing view of the water and fabulous personal amenities including an in-room keurig machine, complimentary breakfast in their restaurant and the most comfortable bed that gave us quality sleep. I'd recommend this sweet Inn to anyone looking for a relaxing "home away from home." We will definitely be back!

Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us.
Did we mention that all our beds are extra thick NOVA Foam with gel-top. We replaced our very expensive sleep number bed with the same after many guests commented on how well they were sleeping. We agree with them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheriedoc
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful quaint”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Kingfish inn looks like an old farmhouse, perched right on the road overlooking a peaceful harbor. Our room (Alder) was very spacious, with a private deck overlooking the harbor. We awoke each morning to the sound of gentle rain on the tin roof. We had a comfy queen bed with just the right amount of covers, and a moveable fan (much to the delight if my husband, who loves to sleep with air blowing on him; me, not so much!). Our bathroom was nice sized, small shower with good water pressure and very hot water. Keurig in the room for coffee and tea. There is a shared fridge in the hall to keep food. Breakfast is served at 9 in the morning in the lovely cafe on the first floor. It was hot and delicious, with all the coffee or tea you can drink. There is a great terrace, but weather kept us inside. The nights are very quiet. I could hear the man in the next room talking through the walls, and in the morning, a few trucks and cars drive by. Another great thing about the location is that it's very close to the ferry, so convenient to come and leave. The bigger town of Eastsound is an easy 10-15 minute drive from here. I liked staying here away from the crowds. We briefly met Richard, who was very nice and welcoming. You will have all the privacy one could desire on a romantic get away here. There is decent wifi, as well.

Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate reviews that help make the experience better for future guests.
With our climate warming each year, all our inn rooms come with ceiling fan as well as the stand up fan. The ceiling fan is very quiet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JB_Oregon...
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One Particular (Quiet) Harbor”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Great rooms with terrific food in the restaurant. The harbor is quiet and little else is here, making for a quaint and quiet time to get away ... a fantastic place to walk down and just sit on the boat! Taxi cabs are sometimes difficult, so if you're hoping to hit the restaurants in East Sound, patience may be your key. Make sure to get reservations for your dinner. Depsite occupying 3 of the 4 rooms, they were not able to accommodate us for dinner on our first night.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. Our staff at the West Sound Cafe work very hard at seating our guests at Kingfish Inn. However, the restaurant is small and reservations are strongly recommended. If you occupied 3 or the 4 rooms, you were probably in need of a larger table (of which we have just 2). We apologize that we were not able to accommodate you the first night. We hope you enjoyed your meal on the 2nd night.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bil F
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“Fabulous stay. Very pleasant hosts we will see them again!”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were welcomed as friends, by our first names. Superior service and cleanliness.
Great view, great food, great all around experience.
Centrally located on the island and easy to find.
Kayaking the san Juan's is right out the front door
Gas fireplace, superior bed, great food and even better people.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2014
Thank you. We look forward to your return visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jae8324
Playa del Rey, California
2 reviews
“Spruce Suite at the Kingfish Inn was a Romantic Treat!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had the pleasure of staying in the Spruce Suite (KF4) at the Kinfish Inn. A fabulously romantic room. Beautifully appointed, super comfortable bed, and a killer view of the West Sound on Orcas Island. Our only complaint upon entering the room was we could not locate a corkscrew to open our bottle of wine we were so much wanted to share! We managed with a few twists and turns of a kitchen knife. The private deck of the room is fabulous. Only recommendation is an upgrade of the patio furniture and trimming of the tree that impeded the view from the right hand side of the deck. We believe this is one of the only rooms at Kingfish with a large private deck. The other advantage of this Inn is the location. Right next to the primary road and intersection that crosses over the island to the Eastsound as well as the primary road to Deer Harbor.

Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2014
Thank you for your very kind words.
Our apologies for the missing corkscrew. It is something we provide in all our guestrooms and it is on our check list so we "missed" it that day.

Our mattresses at the Kingfish Inn are all Memory Foam with Gel tops recommended by chiropractors. We got one for ourselves and liked it so much that we decided our guests deserved the same.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah N
1 review
“Beautiful and Quaint”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our room was beautifully decorated. Everything was clean and open and light. The balcony had a perfect view of the harbor. At night, the harbor is so still and silent. It was a perfect place for a our honeymoon!! The restaurant downstairs had delicious food as well. Very convenient if you don't want to drive into Eastsound for dinner.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you so very much for the review. Please come back to celebrate your anniversaries with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing