We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Romantic Getaway Spot”
Kingfish Inn, a charming and intimate inn.  All rooms with water views.  A minute from West Sound.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kingfish Inn, a charming and intimate inn.  All rooms with water views.  A minute from West Sound.
Kingfish1 Alder.  Hand plaster walls lend warmth to this room (upstairs with private deck) Kingfish1 Alder.  Comfortable seating and glorious views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
105 reviews
Kingfish Inn, a charming and intimate inn.  All rooms with water views.  A minute from West Sound.
Kingfish1 Alder.  Hand plaster walls lend warmth to this room (upstairs with private deck)
Kingfish1 Alder.  Comfortable seating and glorious views.
Kingfish1 Alder. Private covered deck with forever views.
Kingfish4: Spruce-Only Suite on 1st floor.  It has a wall of windows and private deck.
Kingfish4 Spruce: Sea views from bed. small kitchenette with microwave, fridge and bar sink.
Kingfish4 Spruce: Views of Marina and islands beyond from room and private deck.
All Suites: snacking items, fruits & power bars to start your morning, other snacks.
All Suites: planning a special celebration.  Call with budget for personalized packages.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Orcas, Orcas Island, San Juan Islands, Washington

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 105 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
LSUTgr
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Romantic Getaway Spot”
Reviewed 9 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Kingfish Inn for a romantic weekend getaway. It was so private, check in and check out were very easy and we never saw anyone (including staff) while we were there. We will definitely go back. Our room was perfect and had a great private porch overlooking the water. The room was very clean and well decorated. There were snacks and drinks provided by the owners as well. I have never slept better while on vacation either. We loved our stay on Orcas Island and can't wait to go back!

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
As published on our website and in our confirmation letters:
Having operated Dream Cottages on Orcas Island for many years, we appreciate our guests desire for a more romantic and private lodging experience. We strive to provide that cozy and intimate, yet comfortable space for our Inn guests. I/m glad we succeeded. Please visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMKSeattl...
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable but impersonal”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at the inn for two nights. The room was comfortable and clean, so no issues there. The view was nice, although the screen on the window marred the view a bit. But my main complaint is that there was absolutely no interaction with the owners/managers. I realize this is intentional, and that many people might like that. But for me, it felt unfriendly. There was nobody to ask about places to eat, walks to take, etc. When we wanted to see if we could check in an hour early, nobody answered the phone, and I didn't want to leave a message because cell phone service was so spotty on the island. What if we had wanted to leave our bags somewhere for a while after checking out - there was nobody to talk to! Yes, there's a phone in the hallway so I could have called, but it feels like an intrusion, especially when the main number always goes to a recording. We won't be back.

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
As advertised:
We respect your privacy and unless asked, no one enters your space while you are here. Lie in bed all day with a good book or just sit still looking at the ever changing views from your window.
Having said that, we do make ourselves available when asked. We also do understand, however, that asking is difficult and that our temperamental cell phone coverage can exacerbate the problem. Our most sincere apologies.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
31MIK
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful room”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is a great place across the street from the marina in West Sound. Our room (4) was lovely although beware of the stepdown when you enter and also if you get up during the night!! The private deck has a nice view of the water. The restaurant in the same bldg has very good food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank your for taking the time to write a review for us. Yes, the step down in room 4 can be a problem. We added the half walls on both sides of it during our remodel to make it more obvious but. . . it is there. Future guests: be aware.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L
San Ramon, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a wonderful stay we had at the Kingfish Inn, everything was perfect,the accommodations, the view,and the location.If your thinking of visiting the San Juan Islands this is the place to stay.The owners provide a very special and personal touch and the café below is the best eats on the island with Super Joe Cain as your executive chef.If your looking for a stuffy,pricey,trumped up resort look elsewhere,but if you want a slice of Old San Juan on your terms stay at the Kingfish Inn. Thanks Richard and Nanae our stay was magical.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you! Do come visit us again.
Super Joe has returned to L.A. and we now have Super Dirul as our executive chef. And, his menu is terrific. Please come back to try his menu.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadrons
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“No longer a B&B, but still pretty good”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

In August 2015 my wife and I stayed for a week at the Kingfish Inn. We had the "Madrona Suite" (also known as Rm 3 on the upstairs floor at the end of the hall). After we arrived, we were disppointed to learn that the Kingfish Inn no longer offers breakfasts - which was one of the main reasons we booked with the Kingfish. Nonetheless, the owner was accomodating and gave us a 10% discount off the price of the room, which we gratefully accepted. The way we figured it, the discount paid for most of the breakfasts that we had to find on our own. The only bummer was that chasing breakfast (or any meal, for that matter) on Orcas is a time-consuming process, as there are more patrons than tables on the island - which is why we booked with a B & "B" in the first place.

The room was spotless and is tastefully appointed with a lot of thoughtful details (Keurig coffee maker complete with coffe and tea K-cups, microwave, utensils, a fridge stocked with fruit, yogurt, etc.). There are lots of windows that provide plenty of natural light in the room. Plus, cross drafts can be had so the room is kept cool and airy even on hot days. The south-facing window in particular offers a postcard-quality view of White Beach Bay and its little marina of bobbing sailboats. Sitting at sunset in a comfortable easy chair gazing out this window with a glass of wine in your hand - heaven!

The walls between the rooms are well-insulated for sound - the Inn was full, but we never heard the other guests while we were in our room. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said of the road noise. The Kingfish Inn is situated at the intersection of two main roads on the island, and the sound of diesel delivery trucks, etc., forced us to close the windows at night. There is also a lot of noise from diners at the West Sound Café which is directly below the Madrona Suite (the West Sound Café is very good, by the way). Fortunately, the café closes at 9:00, so noise from the café is no longer a problem after 10:15-10:30.

There were a few problems with the room electronics. For one, obtaining a usable wi-fi connection while the café is open is virtually impossible. I say "usable" because while your device will be able to connect to the Inn's router and be assigned an IP address, the actual internet connection will time-out. Connectivity correlated 100% with the café's operation - café open = no internet; café closed = good internet speeds.

The satellite TV was also down the whole time we were there. This was not a big problem because we're not big TV watchers anyway, but it is sometimes nice to be able to decompress at the end of a big day with a little "vegging out" in front of the telly. However, there is a small library of DVD movies provided in the hallway, and watching movies provided us a good way to get our TV "fix."

The Kingfish Inn is a little out of the way relative to where most of the restaurants and shops are (i.e., Eastsound, the only real town on the island). It's not a big deal if you don't mind driving (it's about 12 minutes from the Kingfish to "downtown" Eastsound). Orcas Island is small enough that we didn't find driving around on the island to be that big of a deal. Besides, the island is so beautiful that we didn't mind the opportunity to sightsee as we drove from one place to another.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you very much for the very detailed and helpful review. We really appreciate reviews like yours that help us make the experience better for the next guest. We do try.
Thus, we are happy to announce (since we were one of the first to get it when made available on island) that Kingfish Inn has very fast and reliable Fiber Optic internet now. The restaurant is on its own line as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo07...
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet end of the Island, close to one of the seaplane docks - great view.”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a short stay at the Kingfish but were very happy, the view from the Alder Suite over the sound was beautiful and it was very quiet in general. Though the other suites were also occupied we hardly ever saw or heard our neighbors and the private deck was ideal to relax at the end of a day of touring.

We had a mid-week stay so the restaurant was closed most of the nights we were there and no local breakfast was not ideal, luckily East Sound isn't very far away but a car is necessary.

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Privacy was very important to us and we took extra care in insulating the rooms for noise. We are glad that you were able to relax while with us and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DM7022
Woodinville, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed two nights at the Kingfish Inn - beautiful views, setting, location and comfortable room. We had a great meal at the Cafe, took walks to the marina and it is easy to drive to Eastsound and Mt Constitution. Oh, the service by Richard was fantastic.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
We often say that the those who arrived early really knew where the views were. The Kingfish Inn Building (Circa 1902) was one of the first buildings in real-estate parlance most desirable West Sound. We agree, the setting sets it apart.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing