We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noonu Rocks!”
Review of Prodivers Maldives

Prodivers Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Kuredu
Certificate of Excellence
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Noonu Rocks!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

As this was the 4th time to dive with ProDivers we knew what to expect (actually one of the reasons to go to Kuredu), but since it had been 8 years it was good find them to be as good, if not better, as we remembered them.
To mention are the many choices: single dive, morning and afternoon, 2-tank, morning and afternoon, full day trip and night dive. And that pretty much every day. This was our 7th trip to the Maldives and this is the 1st time we experience this luxury in options.
Also to mention are the dive sites, divers and with nice corals and plenty of (big) fish (like Napoleon traffic jams) and even Manta's at Fushivaru (big smiles as we weren't expecting to see them this time of the year). Although the local sites are super, the day trip to the Noonu Atoll really topped it all .... many Grey Reef Sharks, and Eagles Rays watching them, at Orimas Thila, the most beautiful reef ever at Christmas Rock and Raa Fushi - the 1st one covered so dense in glass fish it was sometimes disappearing.
And of course the staff, friendly, knowledgeable and professional. Last but not least, the boats, spacious and well equiped (so yes, they have a toilet) - always snacks, thee, coffee and water.
Needless to say we hope to return here!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Duikertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    95
    14
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
northants
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Expensive!!!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have just returned from Kuredu – 1 week on the MY Monsoon and 1 week on the island – and have had the most amazing time (generally)!
I've already written a glowing review of Monsoon and Kuredu, but felt I also needed to do a review of Pro Divers as this was the only downside of the whole experience of Kuredu and therefore shouldn't reflect on the resort itself.
While the shop is well presented and they appeared to have good equipment it was EXPENSIVE! We always use our own kit on dive holidays and (having gone to the effort of hauling kit across the world!) were really surprised at cost of a tank with weights - $55 PER DIVE on the house reef! Consequently we only did 1 dive while on island, mainly out of principle! To spend the day bumbling around the house reef doing a couple of dives would have cost us over $200 per day!! We were really disappointed as we knew the diving on Monsoon would consist of drifts/current (reef hooks essential!) and we were looking forward to being able to do lots of photography and relaxing dives on the house reef. There is no incentive to bring your own kit as regs and BCDS are only another $5-$10 per dive; the pricing seemed wrong. By comparison we have recently dived in Barbados and paid the around the same amount for a mornings diving on a boat, 2 dives (weights included) and refreshments between dives. We also regularly dive in Thailand were $60 will get you day's boat diving!
We also met another couple who had to pay for their orientation dive (we didn't having been on Monsoon) - they understood it was good practice but were annoyed that they had paid $70 each (dive plus regs/BCD) to sit on the bottom doing basic skills. They were very competent divers but were with a group of far less competent divers who couldn't master their skills which meant it really wasn't a dive at all - their comment was that following around a DSD would have been more fun!!
We also looked at the information on courses and boat diving, out of interest. Courses were sold with ridiculous small print, for example to do a particular speciality they were advertising it said “….. Speciality for only $65” with the small print saying it was in addition to 3 x dives, boat supplement and equipment. I think we added it up to around $250!! Also if you went out on the boat, there was a note to say remember to bring soft drinks and tips for the boat staff - drinks should have been included and I don't want to be told I have to tip staff.
They also close for lunch for 1.5 hrs which was frustrating as we always seemed to be down at the main part of the island around lunchtime! We didn't feel this was necessary as lunches could be staggered - fairly common practice around the world!!
The liveaboard diving in the Maldives is fantastic - we had whole dives with mantas and sharks! We calculated that to do the equivalent number of dives with Pro Divers on the house reef/around Kuredu would have been well over $1000 each. So my advice is book a week on Monsoon, have some awesome diving experiences, then go and lie on the sun-bed on Kuredu!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank tuckers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First class....”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Had read many good reports about Pro Divers Kuredu before arriving and as it turned out they were all true. First morning at the dive center you will be given any equipment to require, which was in a very good condition and then shown around the place. This probably takes about 45 minutes as they have different procedures if you are just diving on the house reef to those if you are going on a boat trip. But all very efficient and works well. If you have not dived with Pro Divers before, you then do a check dive on the House Reef. All in all it takes about two hours and then you are free to sign up for whatever takes your fancy. The House Reef was OK, but not spectacular in comparison to other Maldives resorts. Probably great for snorkelers who would have to swim out about 50 meters from the beach. Boat trips were advertised the day before and depending on the experience of those that signed up, locations were finalised on the actual day. The good thing was that the groups could be very small. If only 3 people signed up, the trip would still be on. Plenty of dives sites available, but the Caves & Kuredu Express can be recommended and only 10 minutes on the boat.
All the Staff, including those at Reception, on the boat, compressor guys and in the shop were great. Friendly and very knowledgeable. But a special thanks to Greg, Jenna, Elodie and finally the old "Welshman" Darren.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“First Class dive centre”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The facilities that Pro Divers provide are first class, very well organised and the hire equipment was of good quality. You keep the same BCD and regulator for your stay, on your allotted peg. Nitrox was provided free of charge for qualified nitrox divers, which was appreciated. For dives on the house reef the tanks were taken onto the jetty, or boat, ready for your dive and collected for you at the end.

There was a wide range of dives organised every day to meet the range of dive needs. We asked about a night dive and it was happily arranged for the two of us, thanks Jenna for a superb dive. I highly recommend the night dive to everyone, a great experience.

Everyone at the dive centre was excellent, very helpful and personable. Swen presented a weekly video log, with cocktails, which is well worth seeing and is a lovely start to the evening.

The house reef does offer an interesting dive with plenty of life and a wreck which has a lot of fish and coral life on, and in, it. Snorkelling at Kuredu island is poorer compared to other Maldivian islands, however, there were green sea turtles a few metres off the beach, which were magical,so they did compensate somewhat for the weaker snorkelling elsewhere around the island. The dive team do organise snorkel trips, but these seemed expensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Figures62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and I did our PADI referral which meant we had to complete 4 dives in the Maldives. The Prodivers team were amazing, Karola, swen and of course our fabulous instructor Alexis. They made us feel very welcome and made our dives something we will never ever forget. Needless to say (with Alexis as our instructor) we passed our PADI and managed to squeeze one more dive in. Particular thanks goes out to Swen for making such a memorable DVD of some of our dives, something we will treasure for many many years to come.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Prodivers Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing