We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Hurawalhi Island Resort(Hurawalhi)
US$1,007
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$787
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fushifaru Maldives(Lhaviyani Atoll)
US$491
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$481
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palm Beach Island Resort & Spa(Madhiriguraidhoo Island)
US$388
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$324
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Soneva Jani(Medhufaru)
US$4,710
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cheval Blanc Randheli(Randheli Island)
US$3,593
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,971
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$901
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$568
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$432
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cocoon Maldives(Ookolhufinolhu)
US$2,543
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$975
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Noku Maldives(Kudafunafaru Island)
US$433
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (8,318)
Filter reviews
8,318 results
Traveller rating
6,472
1,399
301
84
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,472
1,399
301
84
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach bungalowour waiterour honeymoonfishsea planekuredu islandmain receptionsunset cruisewhite nightroom boybeach restaurantnorth sidemain areaall inclusive packagewhite partya la carte restaurantsmini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,762 - 4,767 of 8,318 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2013

One of the bigger islands in the Maldives, Kuredu has a mix of accommodation ranging from excellent to the not so good. Excellent are the water villas and 'O' resort, not so good are the villas that require you to dine in the massive restaurant in the centre of the island. This really seems like a 3-star affair. The snorkleing is truly wonderful and you cant fail to see beautiful fish, small sharks, turtles and rays everytime you go for a swim. The water is warm and a wonderful transparent turquoise. The arranged snorkelling trips were awesome - there are some BIG fish out there! The restaurant for the water villas is nothing to write home about, but OK. The staff range from great (mainly the ones from Sri Lanka) to some that gave me a bit of an anti-western feeling, nothing serious, but I felt it was there. The friendliest guy we met was a Bangladeshi who raked the beach everyday. We couldnt speak a word of each others languages, but his beaming smile and friendly gestures always made our day. We've been three times now and the island gets more crowded each time, as more accommodation is always being added. I dont think I will go as again as I feel the island is on its way to being over-and developed spoilt. Much nicer, and more expensive, is the nearby island of Kommandu that is run by the same company. The reef here is better too. All in all we've had some lovely times here, but I feel that the best days are gone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiameseTomCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMChris, Director of Sales at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for the review you have taken time to write of the holiday had about an year ago in July 2012. Despite the long gap, we are impressed with the clarity with which you have made the review.

It is true that Kuredu has changed over years upgrading it's facilities in direct response to the guest feed backs we receive. While we have replaced some of the Beach Bungalows with Beach Villas in 2008, the resort has just added 10 Sulthan Villas as a distinct accommodation category. As they are tucked away within the rich tropical gardens, they are not seen and or their existence felt.

The geographical features of the island has allowed us to design the resort in a manner that we do not see or feel the guests around even during high occupancy periods. Our guests always refer this to be one of our advantages when compared to other resorts.

Kuredu has been referred to as a resort with very genuinely friendly team members. We are therefore very sorry to note that you experienced otherwise. During our twenty five years in operation our guests have largely been from UK and Europe. Nevertheless, please be assured that this issue will be strongly addressed to ensure such a feeling is not experienced by any other guests.

Team Kuredu thanks you once again for your review and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again.

Thank you.

Warm regards,
Chris Nargunam
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms and Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

It was perfect. The most amazing resort, the food was brilliant. We loved the beef sandwiches and the live pasta counters and you get amazing fried bacon and eggs in the morning.

We went on the fishing tour and the robinson cursoe tour. Both of them were spectacular and very romantic. On the way back from our fishsing my and me went on top of the boat. It was around 7 in the night and was perfect.

We were staying in a beach villa and the resort gave us a free upgrade to the water villas. It was very nice. Both the rooms were amazing.

Pack very light dont bother taking shoes and stuff.

We also had 2 massages both were awesome.

Tip the cleaning guys and they will do some flower decorations and stuff in your room.

We spend one week in kuredu and we had the most amazing honeymoon.

Just petfect

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank werNLOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Dear Honeymooners,
Warm greetings from your Honeymoon destination, Kuredu Island Resort & Spa.
We wish to offer our deep appreciation to you for taking time to write your true experience with us following your stay in January 2013.
It gives us immense pleasure to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of your holiday, especially the fishing trip & Robinson Crusoe trip as well as Spa treatments at the wonderful Duniye Spa.
We do believe the upgrade to a Sangu water villa & service provided by our team enhanced your stay.
We thank you once again for the nice review and we are looking forward to welcome you for many wedding anniversary celebrations with us on Kuredu.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We found this to be a nice resort, we stayed in a beach room which was very clean, comfortable bed and lovely outdoor shower. The only negative was that we was very near to where the seaplanes arrive and take off so it could get a little noisy from 8am onwards! Which was no problem for us as we would already be up and about!
Snorkelling was great on this island, we saw so many different types of fish especially around the ship wreck which you can swim out to from the beach. We was also lucky enough to spot some turtles too!
We stayed all inclusive and found the food to be good, good selection at the Buffett and everything looked very clean and well presented.
The spa was lovely, lots of treatments to choose from and although not cheap we found them to be excellent and worth the money.
There is a shop on the island that sells things like sun tan lotions, bikinis and the usual holiday tat - very expensive and over priced, so do make sure you bring enough sun tan lotions or you will pay a ridiculous amount!
People have asked me if Kuredu Island is nicer than Bandos Island - personally we preferred Bandos for the beach and accommodation. But Kuredu beats Bandos on snorkelling, it's some of the best we've seen in the world - our opinion of course. Personally thought Bandos was more family/child friendly which for us is hugely important having a toddler.
Overall a nice holiday - would we go back....probably not.

Room Tip: If you have a little one - perhaps ask if it is possible to not be placed in a room near where the seaplanes take off and arrive, it can be noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAX1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Dear Guests,
Warm greetings from Kuredu Island Resort & Spa.
We wish to thank you very much for the review made of the holiday you had with us in July 2012.
It gives us great pleasure to note that you enjoyed your holiday with us, especially snorkelling on our house reef which you seem to have enjoyed most.
We are delighted to note that you were also very satisfied with our food, service and facilities and Spa treatments from our wonderful Duniye Spa team.
We thank you once again for the review and we do hope that we will have the privilege to welcome you back some day.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We have just returned from an amazing but partly rainy 2 weeks!
This was our 4th visit to the maldives and also our 4th crown champa resort having previously stayed at vilamendhoo, meeru & veligandu.
We booked our holiday through destinology and flew with qatar airways ( brilliant airplane amenities etc awful rude staff on all our flights will certainly not fly with again )
After getting of a 12 hour flight we then had a 2 hour seaplane wait not what you want after a long flight especially as it was because we were waiting for people from other flights to arrive so the seaplane was fall!! So by the time we got to kuredu it was mid evening, we were nicely greeted by drums and wonderful smiling staff.
We stayed in a watervilla 535 which was lovely, spacious and clean the only fault was no kettle just a nespresso machine which only makes luke warm water!!
The island is the largest we have stayed on with an immaculate beach thanks to the staff which are constantly raking etc!! Due to the bad weather we spent most of our time snorkelling at the back of our villa and on the house reef! The house reef was good but nothing compared to vilamendhoo our highlight was seeing 3 turtles at once! My husband is an avid diver and said the dive school was really professional! We unfortunately didn't do any water-sports as we found the staff very unhelpful.we were allocated to the sangu restaurant and could not have been happier!! The food was by far the best we have tasted out of all the islands we visited and the staff totally made our stay, Nimax in particular!! A couple we met said they ate at the o bar and that it wasn't as nice as sangu so we didn't bother eating there!
Now for our few negatives
The all inclusive: by far the worst all inclusive plan of all the islands we have visited which was suprising considering they are all part of the same resort group!!
On all other islands the fizzy drinks and beer were included from the mini bar, 24 hour sandwiches (toasties) available and able to drink all inclusive beverages in all restaurants( also nespresso capsules were free on veligandu)
Having paid a substantial amount of money to stay in a water villa the last thing you want to do is leave when you have you own sunbathing facilities etc to get a drink other than water from the bar (which you cant return to your room with) or travel all the way to the main bar (as they are not provided st sang bar) for a sandwich!!! I also think that you should be allowed to drink all inclusive beverages at sai katori and just pay for the tea etc! I dont understand again how on previous islands we could sit in a far nicer restaurant over the water(asian wok) and drink all inclusive but not hear!!i
Will we return? No!! But purely because we have far too many other islands to visit! Would i recommend it? Yes but certainly not over veligandu or vilamendhoo!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bubsy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMChris, Director of Sales at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Kuredu Island Resort and Spa,

We thank you for the honest review made of your stay with us in May this year. While you have largely enjoyed your stay with us, we have taken note of your concerns.

As Kuredu has come into the fold of Crown and Champa Resorts recently, the change is taking place in phases. Eventually, the group core concept would be implemented.

At Kuredu we believe that it is very vital for our guests to be fully aware of the components that comprises the holiday package they purchase. Therefore, detailed inclusives in every meal plan we offer are featured prominently in the tour operators' brochure, and our web site. We re-enforce this during our welcome meeting and a copy of it is also prominently displayed in every bar on the island.

Kuredu is the only resort in the Maldives, at the moment, to charter sea planes to provide guest transfers, which allows us an opportunity to offer direct flights to the resort at a price lot cheaper than the scheduled sea plane transfers. It is therefore essential for us to have a minimum number of paying guests on board to recover the cost of the charter.

ProDivers is the single largest dive base in the Maldives and one of the larger ones in Asia. They are accredited as one of the most professional diving organisations. Their quality is recognised by PADI and they partner with Prodivers on many underwater programmes.

Lhaviyani Atoll has about 50 dive sites spread out within 45 minutes of boat ride making the destination most coveted by divers. True enough during winter about 25% of our guests are repeat divers and a sizable number of them visit us twice a year.

As your husband is an avid diver, we are confident that we will have the privilege of welcoming you once again.

Thank you.

Warm regards,
Chris Nargunam
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms and Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Went here over Christmas.

Resort has a no shoes policy and means it - don't bother packing any.

Stunningly beautiful place. Staff all very friendly and keen to help. Resort is very clean. Plenty of time for meals and plenty of option in terms of food. Pool area is very nice if you're into lounging by the pool. We did some SCUBA with the Pro Divers team that are on site (separate company) and it was amazing.

We're not the sort of people who like to laze around on holiday too much and felt that there was enough to keep up occupied, although a lot of this was SCUBA. Plus, if you need plenty of activity all day every day, you probably shouldn't be going on holiday to Maldives.

Sunsets are spectacular, sea is nice, island is immaculate and can be walked around in half an hour. There was a badminton court and a football pitch if you want to play. Wifi was available in a designated spot. There was plenty of seating out out of the sun if you wanted to read/have a drink.

Bars were all very nice and the entertainment was pretty good for hotel entertainment.

We stayed in the most basic of the room options and were glad, as we didn't spend that much time there, so it would have been wasted money going for a more expensive one. We wandered up to the O Resort section and had a look - it seemed very nice, albeit very quiet. Might be worth paying the extra for if you want to get away from everything.

Couldn't fault any aspect of the holiday. We had a great time from start to finish. Would return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoRoflers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Guests,

Warm greetings from the Silver Paradise as Kuredu Island Resort & Spa celebrates our 25th Anniversary in 2013.
We thank you for spending your valuable time to write a review based on your experience in Kuredu last December.
It gives us immense pleasure to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of your holiday, especially the freedom of our 'no news, no shoes' concept.
We are delighted to note that you had a great time with our excellent Pro Divers team.
One of the advantages we have over our competitors is the varied range of accommodation options, with something to suit most requirements and budgets, from the simple Garden and Beach Bungalows to the exclusive privacy of a Sulthan Pool Villa.
We are very grateful to you for sharing your thoughts & tips and describing our beautiful resort and its facilities.
Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews