We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We visited this amazing resort in 2008. This was our second time to Maldives but first time to Kuredu, Overall the resort is very nice, clean, good choice of food however we found this resort to be too big for our liking. We visited Kurumba the first time and were able to walk everywhere in the resort. The breakfast choice was very good and the spa was heavenly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Nitin,

Thank you for your brief comments regarding your stay at Kuredu over five years ago!
The Maldives has such a wide selection of resorts to choose from these days and with a little bit of research it is very easy to select a resort that matches a travellers requirements, whether that be the size of the resort, the standard, the cost, the distance from Male, etc.
I believe most of our guests know that they are coming to one of the largest islands in the country.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,501
    1,199
    271
    78
    56
See reviews for
943
5,233
69
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
goole
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

After a lot of research on different Maldives Islands me and my fiancé decided to book Kuredu for Christmas 2013. Having booked in March 2013 we had a long wait till our holiday arrived. But, it was worth it. :)
We flew direct with British Airways, had a fab flight with no delays. We did the sea plane transfer to the island, what an amazing experience, fantastic views so have your camera ready. We had a 2.5 hour wait in Kuredu seaplane lounge but this wasn't too much of a problem, we got changed into our shorts and sat on the balcony watching the planes coming and going. There was free wifi in the lounge, also tea, coffee, cold drinks and sandwiches.
When we arrived at Kuredu and was greeted by a band playing.
Whilst waiting to check in we were given a cold drink and flannel.
After check in out Kuoni rep Vicki took us to our room. We was in beach bungalow 396, was a great location with lovely views and practically a beach to ourselves.
The room was very clean with the cleaner coming twice a day, loved the outside bathroom. Water is re stocked in the room daily.
The food was a lot better than we thought it would be, we was allocated a table in the buffet restaurant that we used on each visit, our own waiter Ali was a lovely man, very helpful and always made sure we had drinks etc.
every night the food was different, fresh fish station, meats, pasta station, fresh vegetables always been brought out and the pudding were to die for :) on Christmas Eve the buffet restaurant did a gala dinner which was brilliant and very well decorated. There is 3 al la carte restaurants but as the food was so nice and different for each meal, we never felt the need to use the al la carte's.
Whilst we was there the did a food street market, the closed the restaurants and had lots of different food stalls down the Main Street and into the team village where there was seating. The food stalls were cooking everything fresh from all over the world, America, China, Japan, India, England, just to name a couple. Only country missing which would of been good it Trinidad and Tabago. This was a really fun night that lots of effort went into from the staff.
We walked round the island a couple of times and this took about 40 mins.
In the sea there are lots of sting rays p, baby sharks, and lovely coloured fish just swimming at the shallow part. We went snorkeling and this was a great experience seeing turtles and big bright fish.
On an evening we loved walking up to the tea house, we would sit there with a white hot chocolate (naughty) and just watch the world go by. Many of times we say groups of dolphins going past.

We would defiantly stay on the Kuredu island again and look forward to returning some day.
Best holiday ever.
Enjoy. :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank meandhim29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Paul & Zoe,
Thank you for the lovely review following your Christmas vacation at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa.
Our Culinary Team will be delighted with your glowing praise for the buffet meals you enjoyed in Bonthi restuarant and your Waiter Ali will be proud of your acknowledgement.
We have received many positive comments about the food that Chef Owen and his Team prepared during the Festive Season, with the Street Market being one of the highlights. In case it was not clear, the concept of the Street Market was to showcase some dishes from the countries that our Team Members come from, such as the Maldives, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, India, the Philippines, etc but sadly we do not have any employees from Trinidad & Tobago.
We are pleased to note that you discovered one of our hidden secrets, that is the Sai Kotari Tea House at the end of the jetty and "yes" those White Hot Chocolates are rather naughty!
We hope that one day we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Kuredu.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Spent a week here for our honeymoon and it was beautiful. We emailed ahead informing them it was our honeymoon and we were welcomed with a lovely display of flowers, a fruit platter, wine and matching t-shirts in our villa. The rooms are cleaned twice a day and the staff are lovely and very accommodating. There are plenty of excursions on offer and would recommend the day trip 'Robinson's Crusoe'. We went half board which still worked out very well as the food there is quite reasonably priced (around $15US by the pool restaurant). Half board still includes buffet breakfast and dinner so any extra was just lunch and cocktails (which many are not included in full board anyway). We enquired about upgrading to full board but it was $75US pp a day.. we figured it wasn't worth it as we weren't spending that much each day anyway (and we had a pretty good crack at the cocktails!) I would definitely recommend Kuredu and would LOVE to go again.

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi Beach Villas are beautiful but be aware that they are located on the same side where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littleleolion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear "littleleolion",
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa and Honeymoon Congratulations.
For the benefit of readers considering a vacation to Kuredu, let me clarify that the meal plan upgrade payable at the resort from Half Board to Full Board is $25 per person per day (i.e. to include lunch but no drinks) and from Half Board to All Inclusive is $75 per person per day.
We hope to welcome you back to our lovely island one day.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our fourth visit to this beautiful island.
Each time we visit we think it can't get any better but it does.
From the minute you step off the seaplane until you board it again on your way home you feel as though you are back home with your family.
We were lucky to be there again over Christmas and New Year and the Gala dinners are spectacular each one different.
The food is out of this world and there is always so many different dishes it is hard to make a choice.
You can do as much or as little as you want on the island.
Each time you walk round the island you see something different and all the staff whoever they may be always acknowledge you when you see them.
The island is kept very clean and the place, the food and the staff are "Simply The Best".
We are already planning our return visit.
Thank you Kuredu for making our holiday and making us feel so special.
Love you all

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank snowysnowdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Michael & Jenny,
Thank you for your review of your 4th visit to Kuredu and how lovely it was to see you here once again.
It makes us all very proud to read comments like "back home with family" and that our Team Members are "simply the best". This is very much appreciated by all of us fortunate eneough to be working on this beautiful island.
We hope to welcome you back for your 5th stay, maybe for Christmas and New Year again, if not sooner!

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We thought this would be a good time to share our holiday experience from last year (July/August 2013) If you are suffering with the January blues, need to escape or are planning a summer getaway - look no further! You have found your dream island destination! The one and only Kuredu!

Our holiday here last year was definitely meant to be a one off big time treat but 'once is not enough'! We are already booked to return this summer, we just don't know how any other holiday will ever be able to beat Kuredu! It is on the expensive side compared to our previous holidays but is outstanding good value for money.

We flew direct with BA, which was a great start. The airport procedures, Kuredu seaplane lounge and the amazing seaplane flight all ran smoothly. The welcome on the island is just beautiful. The team work extremely efficiently to make your arrival a good experience - allocating a personal island host to check you in and familarise you briefly with the island facilities before escourting you to your accommodation. Our host Hussain was delightful, friendly and helpful, answering all our questions.

We stayed for 12 nights in the O Resort, our party of four (myself, husband, 15 year old daughter and my mother) stayed side by side in two O Jacuzzi Beach Villas. We requested this area to suit our preference for an away from the real world, peaceful, restful and more private holiday experience. (we usually holiday in private villas and wondered how this large island holiday would accommodate our needs - it totally did as you get your own private loungers directly infront of your villa, creating a subtle feeling of privacy and at times the beach seemed almost empty) Considering the volume of tourists and staff on the island, it never seemed overly busy in any one area.

We believe, in our opinion and after walking around the whole island (barefeet remember, no shoes necessary!), our villa was in the most exquisite location - a wonderful spot with a stunning open sea view, just a few strides across the soft white sand to swim in the turquoise ocean! We felt honoured to stay in such an ideal location, just a short stroll to the O Bar, Restaurant/Pool and a comfortable evening walk to our allocated restaurant (Koamas) and central amenities. We loved the peaceful and quieter atmosphere the O Resort offered (suited more to couples and families with children over 12 years old). We enjoyed breakfast and lunch here, along with making good use of the pool/bar area. Our much liked barman Bobin and pool attendant Merajul worked in the O Resort, they are both fondly remembered for their fun and friendliness by us all and my daughter is particularly keen to see them again on our return!

However, this island has an array of different accommodation styles on offer, set in various stunning areas, each with their own restaurant/bar facilities. Standards across the island were equally high. Food in both the Koamas and O Restaurant were equally delicious, both having a huge selection of choice and again the service was exceptional. You are guaranteed to receive a personal, welcoming, professional and friendly service - just to mention a few team members within the restaurants: many thanks are sent to our specail waitress Hajja, our friendly waiter Moosa and our favourite, fun and chatty chefs Kiron and Delwar all made dining a delight.

All aspects of what this island has to offer were of outstanding high standards - greetings on arrival, exceptional villas, excellent food, cleaniness throughout the island, raking leaves from the beach and pathways, organisation, helpfulness of staff, the all inclusive drinks menu and extra touches: turning your bed down, decorating the bed/table for your final evening, and going out of the way to help. My mother forgot her camera charger and staff kindly charged it for her! These touches made our stay unique and special. As did our lovely room boy Riyaz, who not only kept our villas immaculately well serviced but spent some extra time creating palm leaf creatures with my daughter.

Although we chose a relaxing, lazy approach to our holiday and didn't make use of the numerous, wonderful opportunities on offer (spa, snorkelling, diving, excursions, sports, gym: to name a few) we loved the O pool and a highlight was enjoying the sunset cruise, especially watching the dolphins frolic! We enjoyed the wildlife and calm atmosphere created. My mother, who has previously holidayed in the Carribean several times, commented on how 'safe' she felt on Kuredu. This is an island full of choice - to be as active and involved or relaxed and laid back as you wish to be.

We were lucky enough to attend the staff volleyball final during our stay, which gave us a valuable insight into life on the island, displaying how happy and spirited the whole team of staff clearly are on Kuredu. It was a true maldivan delight, with beautiful dancing and friendly chanting. Attended and supported by the Island Manager and his family, and led by an amazing member of the team, Filkry, such a welcoming, fun and friendly man. This opportunity proved to us just why the staff on Kuredu are so exceptional, dedicated and hardworking: they seemed so happy and valued, which is a great motivation in itself.

Of course, as with any holiday there are always those little minor problems but these were insignificant and dealt with professionally and promptly. We did encounter a couple of rainy days, but this just gave us another opportunity to relax in the bar or visit the gift shop! My daughter is thrilled to know that the wifi service is now freely available in all the villas, although we loved our evening walk down the jetty to the tea house to pick up the signal!

To sum up, Kuredu is hard to beat in all areas of service. There truly is something for everyone here. We strongly suggest you choose this island!!

When friends ask my daughter 'what did you like best about your holiday and why do you want to return' - she simply answers 'the people' (she loved all the team members). Her bedroom walls are covered in photo memories of those people! This is a huge compliment to the whole team, many many thanks to you all! We can't wait to be back in paradise!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Leanne,
Thank you for this wonderful review of the vacation that you enjoyed at Kuredu last summer.
You have remembered so many of our amazing Team Members and on their behalf I would like to thank you for the recognition bestowed on them.
For those of us that draw any comparisons between the Maldives and the Caribbean, it is the feeling of security and safety when in the Maldives that is most contrasting, simply because of our one island one resort concept.
The recent introduction of free WiFi in all room categories has been a huge success and is one example of us listening to guest feedback and responding.
We look forward to welcoming you back again later this year.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in March 2013 had a great time in water villas for a friends 40th birthday . It was lovely and the staff were great would recommend it
A lot to do and very clean and made to feel very welcome at all places
Maldives is the most amazing place with loads of diving and snorkeling an absolute must go

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bates2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Bates2013,
Sunny greetings from all of us at Kuredu Island Resort and Spa. Thank you very much for your recommendation and sharing the review of your holiday last year. The Team are delighted you enjoyed your time here in a fabulous Sangu Water Villa. We are very lucky to have such an abundance of marine life and other underwater delights to be enjoyed by experienced divers and novice snorkelers alike.
I hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I have a theory. I think there are fewer statements more powerful than someone telling you "you don't need to worry" (or variant of), and meaning it. Welcome to Kuredu. I've heard it several times during my stay here. Don't worry about carrying money (except for well earned tips), don't worry about dressing up (if you don't want to) and don't worry about sharks (they're the harmless kind) etc. Basically all of the things you worry about back at home. Kind of.

I'm day 4 of our 7 day trip. You're reading this review because you're considering staying here. I'm writing this review because I can't sleep. Okay. That's only part of the reason. Truth is I'm genuinely touched by this place and want to share my thoughts on things I would have wanted to know.

Review in a coconut shell: beautiful island, well maintained. Buzzing but also has its havens. Staff genuinely try hard. Food is fine. It's an all-inclusive slice of paradise.

Accommodation - We are staying in a Beach Bungalow - Perfectly fine but choose carefully where on the island you want to be located. Our room, 438 was 10m from the water with unobstructed views of the ocean. Probably one of the best ones.

Food and Drink - Restaurants are allocated. Makes sense. Ours was Bonthi. The food is pretty good and better than I was expecting. I certainly can't relate to some of the criticisms I read in other reviews. There is enough variety to keep things interesting. The alcoholic drinks in the all inclusive are passable, the non-alcoholic are better than average.

Staff - we were greeted by the general manager and some of his team when we arrived. Nice touch. Our dedicated host Fikry is a stand up comedian. Our waiter Fulhu will always try and engage us in conversation and tell us what that evenings entertainment is. The staff here are not only very good but also very likeable.

Overall atmosphere - pretty chilled and what I had hoped for from my Maldivian experience. An all-inclusive slice of paradise. Expect to hear some familiar accents and unfortunately there are a few more "Brits abroad" than I would have liked, but it happens. This is not a luxury resort. It's a very well managed resort that feels almost like a village. And as a result it's a little more homely and a little more endearing.

Value for money - So, the Maldives isn't cheap. But anyone who spares a thought to island supply chain management will quickly understand why. That said, Kuredu represents very good value for money. When we arrived we were told that as of Jan 1st mini bar and house cocktails were now included in the all-inc. jackpot. It made my trip.

Basically, if you've done your research and you think kuredu is what you're after. Then go for it. You don't need to worry.

Room Tip: Beach Bungalow. Room 438 is unbeatable. close to the beach and main facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank san05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear San05,
Greetings from our sunny paradise and all the Team at Kuredu Island Resort and Spa. Thank you for your comprehensive review of your New Year holiday with us. I appreciate all responses especially those that so accurately describe the Kuredu spirit. I am very proude of all the Team who work tirelessly to provide not only impeccable service but also unforgettable holiday memories. It is an ethos followed by all, from the “big man” Fikry to those such as Fulhu and his colleagues in the restaurant as you mentioned. The Beach Bungalows, such as the one you enjoyed, are certainly a great value accommodation option, coupled with the all-inclusive package which you correctly point out now includes beverage options from the mini bar. The Culinary Team are delighted you enjoyed the varied treats on offer in Bonthi Restaurant.
Once again San, thank you for sharing your “no worries” sentiment and we all look forward to welcoming you back to our slice of paradise very soon.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuredu
13.2 mi away
Cheval Blanc Randheli
Cheval Blanc Randheli
#1 of 1 in Randheli Island
169 reviews
4.8 mi away
Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
2.6 mi away
Hurawalhi Island Resort
Hurawalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Hurawalhi
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives
8.8 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives
Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives
#1 of 1 in Madhiriguraidhoo Island
1,079 reviews
15.3 mi away
Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives
Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives
#1 of 1 in Kanifushi Island
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuredu Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuredu Island Resort & Spa

Property: Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
Address: Lhaviyani Atoll, Republic of Maldives
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Lhaviyani Atoll > Kuredu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuredu Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Kuredu, in Lhaviyani Atoll. It is 1800 meters long by 325 meters wide, about 57 Hectares (143 acres). Your seaplane transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 40 minute flight. The 383 Rooms include 10 Sultan Pool Villas including 1 Villa Family Suite, 50 Sangu Water Villas including 1 Honeymoon Suite, 100 Jacuzzi Beach Villas, 93 Beach Villas, 90 Beach Bungalows & 40 Garden Bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kuredu Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuredu Island Hotel Kuredu
Kuredu Island Resort And Spa
Hotel Kuredu Island
Kuredu Island Maldives
Kuredu Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing