We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An aphoristic week in paradise...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kuredu Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An aphoristic week in paradise...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

My friends and I spent the most wonderful week in Kuredu Island Resort, Maldives The day started quite surprisingly when we landed at Male, International Airport. You will not believe you are in Maldives as Male does have a slight resemblance to the Batam of Indonesia. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the resort service crew at the arrival hall. We had clear instructions on how we should go about for our check-in at the seaplane counter and where to board the bus to the seaplane jetty terminal 1.

We were amazed by how VIP-ish we were treated in the private seaplane transfer lounge in the seaplane jetty terminal 1. The service crew gave us each a chilled hand towel to cool us from the humid weather. The chilled hand towel is our first good impression on Kuredu's service. We were scheduled for a later seaplane transfer in the next 2 hours. The transfer from the the airport to our resort was effortless.

Although, there was a teeny-weeny dispppointment with the seaplane. The seaplane was awfully stuffy. Sitting inside the seaplane was like baking in an oven. The trip was 45mins. However, the aerial view from the seaplane was amazing. It is only when see the atolls, you are then finally... in Maldives.

We can't wait to get out of the seaplane. When we arrived at the Kuredu jetty, I had a great feeling that this holiday trip is going to be awesome. The resort service crews were really friendly, and absolutely helpful throughout the vacation. Trust me, my friends and I can be a little loud and annoying at times. LOL

Upon arrival at Kuredu, we were greeted by a lovely lady (Harriet/ Harry) in blonde. She brought us and the other guests to the main reception while we wait for our turn to do the check-in. We were once again each given a chilled hand towel to freshen up our face, neck and arms. And beyond any doubt, you need the chilled hand towel after the seaplane ride.

After we had cool ourselves down, Harriet/ Harry took us on a buggy ride to the Sangu reception for our check-in.We all received a form to fill in our details and we all had vanilla ice creams. Anything chilled will taste sweet under the hot and humid weather in Maldives.

As there were 4 of us, we had to check-in to 2 Sangu water villas (room no. 523 and 521), as Maldives is mainly build for couples and not for friends. Unfortunately, they were unable to allocate us into 2 rooms which was next to each other. My sincere apology to the couple living in room no.522, we were singing to the Indian ocean in our first night in Maldives. Try picturing this, I had vast dark sky, big stars, small stars and shooting stars as my blanket for the night. A city boy like me don't get many chance to see stars.

The next day we went on a Robinson Crusoe private island trip. The private island is around 15mins away from Kuredu via speedboat and this trip cost us USD$310 (USD$155 per couple). We brought along our snorkeling sets and we were given 2 ice boxes which contain mineral waters, soft drinks, fruits, butter cookies, brownies and sanwiches. We were rather fascinated in knowing that we had the whole island to ourselves. We were taking selfie with our handphones and with my goPro camera. Oh, the island is colonized by thousands of hermit crabs.

That night, we had our first white Maldivian night in the main reception bar. Surprisingly, the music were rather new and we had fun dancing on our bare foot in the bar with vodka in our hands. Ours were the all-inclusive package, thus we had free flow of spirits and beer throughout the days and nights in Kuredu.

The picturesque view of the islands (both the private island and Kuredu) and the turquoise, crystal-clear Indian ocean is beyond any word to describe. The view is stunning. Please take lots of selfie and pictures at the beach nearest to the sangu water villas. As the beach is located at the far end of the island, walking along the beach will kind of leads you on a narrow path into ocean. The ocean water parts into both sides. Imagine, Moses crossing the red sea. It's paradise.

Well, nothing is ever perfect, the house coral reef appears dull in comparison to the beach view. Tioman Island and Redang Island, Malaysia have prettier coral reefs than the one in Maldives around Kuredu island resort. But the diversified marine lifes around Kuredu is way more than the 2 islands mentioned earlier. I am so excited as I get to swim among fishes, the hawksbill turtles, and baby blacktip reef sharks.

Points to take note:

1. Kuredu is 1hr ahead of Male
a) it's better to tune your watch, in case you missed the timing for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

2. Sunblock and hydration is important
a) please put lots of sunblock (waterproof) all over your body and the sun is really strong in Maldives
b) drink lots of water, you wouldn't want to dehydrate and fall sick and not be able to enjoy the vacation

3. It's a cashless world in Kuredu (be very careful for what you sign)
a) You will sign for all purchases (necessity) and a-la-carte items under your assigned room no.
b) Do bring some small notes along with you to tip if their service is excellent (sadly, my friends and I were not used to tipping in our own country, we kept forgetting to bring our cash out when we roam around the resort)

4. There are very few slots for the various complimentary activities. These activities are:
a) daily house reef snorkeling trip
--- sign up with the prodiver's dive centre (behind the main reception)
b) alternate day sunset cruise
--- e.g. if the sunset cruise is on Saturday, there will be no sunset cruise on Sunday
c) introduction to wind surfing
--- sign up with the ocean sport centre (near the main reception)
d) complimentary 30mins of photo shoot by professional photographer
--- make the booking from the akiri shop (next to the main reception)
--- try to find out which part of the day when the sea is low tide, the sceneray can be really beautiful
e) complimentary 15mins body massage
--- booking made via phone call (check with the reception)
f) and many more...

5. Check your bill throughly during check-out
a) our reservation was made through the Kuredu's webpage. We had already pay for the water villas, the to and return seaplane transfers, and the per couple private island trip. But we found many duplications in the final billing so we had to go through the bill many, many times.
b) know what you signed for under your room no. there are various activities will require you to pay extra during the check-out e.g. out of Kuredu snorkeling and diving trip

6. Lastly, have a blast :)

Room Tip: Best view - Sangu Water Villas and Jacuzzi Beach Villas has the better view, they both share the mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenzisstic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Sheena & Choo and Toh & Lim,
Thank you for your extensive review of your recent stay at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa.
We are delighted that you experienced our VIP level of service straight from our private Lounge at the Airport.
Harriet will be delighted to be mentioned in your words of praise.
Glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our very popular White Night Party and also spent some enjoyable moments at the Sandbank.
As you are not too far away in Singapore, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,116
    1,106
    259
    73
    55
See reviews for
865
4,869
63
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just arrived today and have been so excited to come to Kuredu to celebrate my 50th but first day has been a let down so far. Was told our seaplane at 10:45 from male was very full so neither of our cases could come with us . This was understandable and we were assured would be with us in the afternoon. We retrieved swimwear and were told there was no need for evening clothes as case would not be far behind .I expected by the time we had lunch and freshened up they would be here
it is now 6.30pm and no luggage. Also has no snorkels and weather is over cast but been unable to snorkel. Finally reported safe locked when arrived about 1.30pm and someone was coming straight over ...still haven't heard anything. Feeling like our first day been a bit of a waste ..hope tomorrow is improved . Island is beautiful and staff very friendly just wish we hadn't been misinformed :(
Hurray two lovely men just came with cases. Hopefully things will pick up now .

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tracygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Tracy & Gary,
Thank you for choosing Kuredu to celebrate your 50th Birthday.
We apologise that your first day in paradise has been effected by the late delivery of your luggage due to sea plane weight restrictions.
We are also sorry that there appears to have been a slow response to open your safe which may have been accidentaly locked. I understand that our Housekeeping Supervisor attended to the matter within ten minutes of the second call being made.
Now the sun is shining, our Guest Services Manager has been in contact with you and we are back on track to have the most amazing tropical paradise vacation.
I look forward to meeting you in person rather than communicating via TripAdvisor.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We recently returned from a 11 night stay on 17th April. The weather was brilliant lots of sunshine. There was a couple of tropical storms in the evenings which we didn't mind as we were inside drinking cocktails. The resort was the largest we've stayed at. It was clean and modern. We stayed all inclusive at the o resort in a beach villa, which we thought was the best area. The o resort restaurant was very good,we enjoyed the food and service. The beaches were gorgeous. The sea life consisted of small sharks, rays and tropical fish. We snorkelled twice. I had a free massage at the o spa which was superb. We had a free golf lesson which again was well worth it. The beach villa had free wifi and movies channels & our maid came twice a day. It was very nicely decorated. The several bars did great cocktails and we enjoyed the happy hour where they did 2 for 1. Our favourite cocktail was Latquiva queen. We would happily return.

Room Tip: O resort beach villa is best. We had chance to upgrade to a jacuzzi beach villa at the main resort b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Fiona,
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Kuredu.
It sounds like you really enjoyed the ambience at the O Resort.
We also hope that one day you will return to our beautiful island.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Where to begin? The resort is somewhere that simply leaves you in awe. The staff, the food, the villas, are all incredible. Nothing will ever quite leave you feeling as relaxed, pampered and spoiled as time on this wonderful island. Every whim was taken care of during our stay, and every element seemed to have that something special, you could tell that from the moment the sea plane took off from Male. You can fill your days with as little or as much as you wish, with activities and relaxation as catered for as the other. A truly beautiful experience. We can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear TeamLaw,
Thank you for the positive words used to describe your recent Kuredu vacation.
As you point out, one of the unique features of Kuredu Island is that you can do as much or as little as you like. With so many recreational facilities and food & beverage outlets to enjoy there is a lot more variation than one would perhaps expect compared to many resorts in the Maldives.
We hope it will not be too long before we are welcoming you back.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had an effortless transfer by seaplane,upon arrival greeted by the staff to the sound of beating drums. We were upgraded to the water villas for one night which was a bonus, the next day transferred to the O resort beach villa which was simply stunning Yaameen who looked after our villa was really friendly,polite & worked tirelessly the O restaurant is just perfect with wonderful panoramic views superb food with plenty of choice.Walked the Island every day{ 2.85 miles} on the powdery sand taking in the amazing views. The sunset cruise was great with many dolphins swimming around us.On this island you can do as much or as little as you want just perfect will return one day special mentions to Yaameen,Mujey,Sanjin Darsh & Iresh in the O bar nice to met you Ken just as we were leaving

Room Tip: Go to the O resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shelleykent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Shelley,
Thank you for posting a review of your recent vacation in Kuredu.
The Team at the O Resort who you have personally acknowledged will be delighted with your feedback.
For many, the more modern feel of the O Resort and over 12's policy there is preferred.
We hope to welcome you back one day.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

April/May 2009. We were both in dire need of an escape from life and agreed on this courtesy of our local friendly travel agent who asked us what we wanted and this is where we ended up. Yes we paid a little more than necessary via Kuoni but oh boy what an experience. From the point you leave the seaplane you do not wear shoes, ladies do not pack those stripper heels leave them safe in the cupboard at home. There is all kinds of accommodation available here but I would direct you to the Jacuzzi beach ones. O resort at the far end of the island is no under 16's and they seemed to have a higher opinion of themselves than was due, we had breakfast there once as O is closer to our villa but never again!
The staff are welcoming and go that extra step to make you trip as enjoyable as possible. The spa is highly recommended but ensure when you ask for additional pressure that you can take it, the ladies are tiny but their muscles are not! Shut down your mobile and lob it in the safe in your room. Pick up your kindle and head for your personal sunlounger outside your door or try for one at the pool and relax and enjoy,
It took us six months to pick up the pre stress levels of this holiday. Go, enjoy but if you are a honeymooner don't go for the water villas as sound travels well across the lagoon and I really don't want to know you have married a God!!

Room Tip: Jacuzzi beach villa. Do not use the beach bungalows as they are on the other side of the island
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darkwench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Darkwench (sorry but only your user name to go by),
Thank you for not forgetting about us and posting a review of your Kuredu vacation had in 2009.
Just to be factually correct, the age policy at the O Resort is over 12's not 16's.
I don't think that readers considering a booking in a Sangu Water Villa should be too concerned about the close proximity of rooms to one another but of course when love is in the air and the windows are open........
We hope to welcome you back to Kuredu one day.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Protaras, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just returned from our first visit to the Maldives, luckily we chose Kerudu island.
From the moment we arrived until the morning of our departure we were overwhelmed by the friendliness of ALL the staff.
The golf club is immaculate and made a good break from the scorching sun. I disagree with a previous comment about the staff at the golf club as we found them all brilliant and welcoming. We stayed in the Jacuzzi beach Villas which were very well equipped and just 20 paces from the sea.
Such a relaxing holiday and never wore shoes the whole holiday. Their in house brochure states welcome to Paradise, and Paradise it is.

Dave and Lyn. (Cyprus)


Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms between 110 to 145
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RedBus_Team_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Dave & Lyn,
Thank you for posting a review of your first visit to the Maldives and Kuredu.
Our wonderful Team at the Golf Club will be delighted with your words of praise for them.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Paradise again one day.
Wishing you a busy summer season ahead in Cyprus.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuredu
13.1 mi away
Cheval Blanc Randheli
Cheval Blanc Randheli
#1 of 1 in Randheli Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
4.8 mi away
Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
16.6 mi away
The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives
Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives
#1 of 1 in Madhiriguraidhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
15.4 mi away
Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives
Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives
#1 of 1 in Kanifushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hurawalhi Island Resort
Hurawalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Hurawalhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuredu Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuredu Island Resort & Spa

Property: Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
Address: Lhaviyani Atoll, Republic of Maldives
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Lhaviyani Atoll > Kuredu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuredu Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Kuredu, in Lhaviyani Atoll. It is 1800 meters long by 325 meters wide, about 57 Hectares (143 acres). Your seaplane transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 40 minute flight. The 383 Rooms include 10 Sultan Pool Villas including 1 Villa Family Suite, 50 Sangu Water Villas including 1 Honeymoon Suite, 100 Jacuzzi Beach Villas, 93 Beach Villas, 90 Beach Bungalows & 40 Garden Bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Kuredu Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuredu Island Hotel Kuredu
Kuredu Island Resort And Spa
Hotel Kuredu Island
Kuredu Island Maldives
Kuredu Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing