We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed in the water bungalow and could not have had a better time. It was quiet, the beach was beautiful, the staff was very very friendly. I absolutely LOVED it here. We thought it was going to be a once in a lifetime visit, but I must find a way to get back. We were so happy that we chose Kuredu. We don't have any islands to compare it to in the Maldives, but we were so happy with our choice. The massage was wonderful, the food was very good. There are limited eating times with the food service that comes with your all inclusive, but there were other options for pay and it didn't bother us. I hope to come back some day!

Room Tip: We splurged for the water bungalow and so glad that we did, but the beach front huts looked great to...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RandiLynn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Randi,
Warm and sunny greetings from all the Team at Kuredu Island Resort and Spa. Thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted you so enjoyed the time with us. The Culinary and Duniye Spa teams are also very proud of the recognition and praise.
We hope to welcome you back, as a member of our rapidly expanding Repeat Guest family, soon.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,435)
There are newer reviews for Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,550 - 3,556 of 7,436 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

(Just catching up - Tripadvisor won't let me go further back than August 2013.)
We travelled in July last year and enjoyed the best Maldivian holiday yet out of three to date. We chose a basic beach bungalow on the outside (NW) of the island (one of the old dive-huts, upgraded) which was a really comfortable and relaxing room with its little verandah and direct access to the beach. The welcome on landing was wonderful and the staff were excellent overall.
Food was generally very good - only point I'd make was that there was sometimes not enough Asian food in the main restaurants: however I do realise that not everyone likes it as much as we do! We ate at the Japanese beachfront restaurant one night - again very good.
The bars in the centre of the island were good, with enough space to get away from the sometimes loud music - there were also bars at either end of the island, which were nice and quiet, and which were restricted to older children or adults only.
The facilities we used were good (including the gym), and I'd highly recommend the dive centre (but you'll want to do a lot of dives, so be prepared); my wife used a Spa for a pamper and would also recommend it.
Not a lot more to be said - apart from a wee bit of rain during the latter few days, it was a really great holiday, the most relaxing one I've been on in years. (Now - how are they looking for August bookings ... )

Room Tip: You don't need to spend large on the (admittedly very nice) water bungalows - the beach bungalow...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SidSidey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear SidSidey,
Tropical regards from Kuredu Island Resort and Spa. Thank you for the review of your holiday last year. It is great to read you enjoyed the Beach Bungalow and famous Kuredu welcome. The Culinary Team are delighted you enjoyed the delicious and varied menus. Far East Restaurant, showcasing Japanese cuisine, is a fantastic venue. I highly recommend the theatre of the Teppanyaki show cooking, where our specialists chefs cook the freshest and finest quality ingredients right in front of you with a lot of fun and interaction thrown in!
It sounds like you experienced a few of the many activities available from the fantastic gym, snorkeling and diving with the Prodivers Team to a sensual treatment for your wife with the fabulous ladies at Duniye Spa. August is a popular time for family holidays, so book soon!
Once again Andy, thank you for taking the time to share your Kuredu memories from last year. I hope it will not be too long before we are welcoming you back on the Jetty.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our 4th visit to the Maldives, our favourite destination in the world. We chose Kuredu having been very impressed with the islands run by Crown & Champa Resorts at Vilamendhoo and Meeru. We arrived on the 15th June for two weeks choosing to stay in a Sangu water villa. Having extensively researched Kuredu on the internet we were convinced we would have a great holiday.
On the very positive side the island is beautiful with wide expanses of white sandy beaches, turquoise seas and lush foliage kept beautifully by the garden staff. Special mention must go to the wonderful guys who rake away the sea grass that washes daily onto the shoreline and seem the happiest people in their work, always smiling and waving. As we have always found the kitchen, waiting and bar staff are always excellent in the Maldives and cannot do enough for you. Kuredu is no exception, special mention to Shafleen our wonderful waiter at the ‘O’ resort restaurant and Nick at the pool bar [All-right Geezer!!] The food was great with nightly themes, good selection, beautifully prepared and presented. The weather was brilliant, even the dolphins performed admirably on the sunset cruise and occasionally as we sat and eat lunch. So I find myself in full agreement with the majority of previous reviewers.
BUT! Here is our huge disappointment. On arrival at Kuredu we were greeted and taken to the Sangu reception where we were informed that the Sangu restaurant and bar had closed on the 7th June in order that a pool could be added but not to worry we would be conveyed by buggy to the ‘O’ Resort restaurant which like Sangu was for adults and children over 12. Not a problem, or so we thought.
Kuredu is one of the largest islands in the Maldives. By buggy or mini-bus the journey to each and every meal took a minimum 10 minutes each way, often longer due to waiting time or the inevitable detour via the main resort. Walk you lazy thing you may be thinking. 20 – 25 minutes along the interior road in 30+ degree heat and over 90% humidity. Walking along the beach was again a good 25 minute walk, always pleasurable but not necessarily something you want to do at every mealtime. So provided transport it was most of the time, or skipped meals. Like many reader, I have spent much of my life commuting and the very last thing I want to do on holiday is more of the same, hanging about waiting for transport to arrive, the golf buggies were OK but being squeezed into a minibus with poorly performing air-con was the real problem; the same vehicle is used for guests in wet swimwear as for those dressed for dinner, with the door being opened so regularly the air-con had given up the ghost. All-in-all a very unpleasant experience.
The most disappointing thing was that neither the resort or our travel company TRAVELBAG.co.uk informed us of the closure that clearly would have such a massive impacts on our stay at a Sangu water villa. Well done BA Holidays your guests were informed. In fairness we spoke to Fikry Mohamed the Guest Services Manager on the second morning of our stay. He explained that Crown & Champa Resorts had informed travel partners on 29th May of the closure and that Compensation of $40 per person per day had been forwarded to agents for directly affected guests. With notice we in all probability would have sought to change island and in hind-sight probably should have. Sadly our abiding memory of Kuredu will not be the wonderful staff, the beautiful island, the great food but that commute to the restaurant. TRAVELBAG.co.uk were very slow to respond to my request for confirmation of the compensation, responding on the penultimate day of our holiday.
The Sangu resort will be fantastic once complete. Sadly we weren’t able to enjoy it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndyPJ2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Andy,
Greetings from sunny Kuredu Island Resort and Spa. I am delighted you enjoyed our beautiful island and you found the all the staff encountered; friendly and attentive. Nick, Shafleen and the Team who work on cleaning the beach were very pleased to be recognized in your comments. Refurbishment, on an island such as ours, is challenging at the best of times and I am sorry, on this occasion, you were disappointed. Where ever possible we do use the open buggies for the taxi service but depending on weather and demand sometimes the mini-van you mentioned is utilized. I understand your disappointment that this “commute” will be the overriding memory of your holiday. The nature of logistics involved when planning such a project and the material delivery, dictated when we could inform all Tour Operators of the intended works which we did, as you mention, at the end of May.It is unfortunate that your specific Tour Operator did not pass on the necessary information.
Once again Andy, thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience with us. I hope that you will return to Kuredu for your 5th visit to the Maldives to enjoy the fabulous new Sangu swimming pool and Restaurant.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We arrived for our 3rd visit with great anticipation of another great holiday and we were never disappointed.
Our last visit was 2 years ago , so having members of staff remembering us was superb. We realised that all bar staff and waiters had moved around the island since our last visit, so we had a hunt on to find lots of familiar smiles.
We had decided to renew our wedding vows whilst on island. The help and support we received delivered an amazing ceremony that we will never forget. Thank you from us both to everyone who took a part.
We stayed in the o resort..... Infact in the same villa 319 as last time. We love the walk to the restaurant so it's perfect.
The whole island is beautiful
With beautiful people working there
And it's this that delivers our favourite place ever.
A special mention to Tina our kuoni rep, who has looked after us every time, so well. Fikry for his cheeky personality along with his great customer service. Mojay our waiter in the o restaurant...and his constant smile and superb customer service.
The General Manager Ken should be so proud of all his staff and the beautiful island he is fortunate enough to call work.
So only thing to say .... We will be back x

Room Tip: If you like walking and checking out the wildlife .make sure you take a small torch and ask for a ro...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank chunkymonkeyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear chunkymonkeyMidlands,
Tropical greetings and congratulations from your second home in the Maldives, Kuredu Island Resort and Spa! I am delighted we were able to give you the same O Villa 319 for your third visit. I am always in awe of how Mojay and his colleagues remember so many guests for sometimes as much as five years between visits. He is very proud of the recognition and praise, thank you. I, Tina and all the Team are certainly very proud to work in such a beautiful part of the world. We are thrilled to read you will be returning. In his usual style, Fikry adds “hasta la vista baby!!”

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We just returned from one week in paradise! All the (good) reviews I've read in advance are so true and the bad once are made up!
I do want to point out a little note of concern and that is that both staff and visitors really should pay more attention to the environmental aspect of the Island (and sea in general). Ok, the staff they clean-up the beach very well, but they should also look into the sea as there is too much plastic in it and the visitors (especially Chinese) shouldn't pollute the sea and pick up plastic when they see it. Maybe the management can inform the guest about the importance of a clean environment!
Special thanks to Abdulla Mueen from Prodivers! He is one of the best and most responsible diver I ever met.

Room Tip: O resort beach villa will never disappoint!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GlobentrotterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear GlobentrotterB,
Sunny greetings from paradise! Thank you for the fantastic review. We share your passion for protecting the fragile ecosystem that surrounds Kuredu. We have a number of procedures when dealing with waste that minimizes our impact on the environment, unfortunately the same cannot be said for the waste management (or lack) on the local islands. The water available in all rooms as well as the bars and restaurants is mineralized and bottled here on the island, significantly reducing plastic container waste. The Kitchens do not use plastic bin bags or paper towels, utilizing instead, permanent washable bin liners and modern commercial air drying machines. These are just a couple of the initiatives we have introduced. We also hope that all our guests, regardless of nationality, respect the fragile and beautiful nature of Kuredu Island Resort and Spa. Mueen and the Prodivers team will be thrilled with your comments, thank you.
Once again GlobentrotterB, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and I hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We returned from kuredu small hours of this morning and would recommend this resort. We stayed in an O resort beach villa which was perfect for us with a constant breeze moderating the intense heat from the sun (even though it's officially rainy season). The other side is much better for snorkelling but would have been too hot for us this season and it's not far

I was a bit dubious about only having access to buffets for two weeks but the standard was exceptionally high with a different theme every night. The curries were delicious (especially beetroot...who'd of thought!) and the fresh grill really good; even having beef Wellington & dauphinois potatoes on French night. Thanks to our waiter Mondy and the two Abdullah's. Standard of service etc very high.

We dived with pro divers and were initially surprised they have upto 1:8+ instructor: diver ratio and way more autonomy than we have experienced before (we've dived in 5+ of usual holiday resorts) and are used to the instructor asking us how much air etc but in the end there were always other instructors/dive masters on the dives and we probably should be a bit more responsible for ourselves and ended up doing a course and 9 dives . Mueen was a great instructor. We enjoyed the marine life too - the excursion to noon atoll was worth the money and early start but don't leave it too near your departure (they count the sea plane in the no fly and it's 3 dives) Nicole was good front of house for PD too.

Zaki kept our room nice and clean.

We haven't been to the Maldives before but this was the right size resort for us

I agree with other reviewers that have identified improvements - none of which are significant enough to deter us from visiting again:

Some lights in the water at o restaurant to view the beautiful marine life
More atmosphere at the evening entertainment/parties (although perhaps there were too many swooning couples and I wouldn't want it to become like Ibiza)
Quality/variety of cocktails could be improved (they were a bit limited and didn't taste like they used fresh juice but concentrates and sour mixes)

Room Tip: O resort is cooler/comfortable in monsoon season (now) than the other side of the island
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Lucy,
Sunny greetings from all the team at Kuredu Island Resort and Spa. I am delighted you enjoyed your O Beach Villa and all the facilities of the O Resort. Executive Chef Owen and his Culinary Team, made up of nine nationalities, come into their own when showcasing themes celebrating the cuisines of the world. They will be very proud with your praise and recognition. I am delighted to inform you and other readers, as a result of similar feedback, from July 1st we will be offering all cocktails (including mocktails) on the bar menu to all-inclusive guests, significantly increasing the variety available.
Many of our guests come to Kuredu specifically to dive, such is the reputation of Prodivers. I will pass on your comments to Ray, Mueen and the Team, thank you.
Once again Lucy, we appreciate your thoughts and memories of Kuredu and hope you come back and see us soon.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

If you have any doubts about trying Kuredu,1 erase them out of your head now.
This place is amazing!!!!!!
For our first Christmas as a married couple we saved hard to treat ourselves to a first Christmas away that we would never forget.
We were recommended this island by a family friend as we had not been to the Maldives before, it was nice to have some advice.
Without writing an essay....,,,,,, if you love the beach, this island is absolutely stunning! With its palm trees, white sand and shallow clear waters and amazing sea life, you couldn't want anymore.
My husband is a keen diver, but I enjoy only snorkeling so this island was a treat for me to see just as many amazing things from the surface that he sees when he dives, whereas other holidays there has been a lack of sea life when snorkeling.
YES this island is bigger than some of the other islands, but this works as a positive thing, all guests are spaced out around the island so it never feels too busy/loud/overcrowded.
It's also a nice size to walk around during the day, and as it is slightly larger there is a bit more to do than just beach/swimming and diving.
We stayed in the O beach resort which was amazing,every morning waking up to the view of the ocean in our hut on the beach was amazing!
We also liked the novelty of our bathroom being outside.
Maid and staff mainly men, but all absolutely lovely and so welcoming.
One last bit of advice...........GO to Kuredu!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose OBeach resort..........best part of the beach room 291 to 300
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sarahbLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Sarah,
Greetings from all of the Team! It is always a pleasure to read reviews such as yours that really capture the Kuredu friendliness and welcoming feeling. You have summed it up perfectly. Being one of the largest island resorts in the Maldives offers our guests the options of a quiet relaxed paradise experience with plenty of room to explore around the many areas and enjoy countless activities without compromising the intimate atmosphere for couples celebrating a special occasion. Not to mention the beaches, world class diving and snorkeling facilities to compliment the abundant marine life.
I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back for many more Mr and Mrs holidays!!

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuredu
13.2 mi away
Cheval Blanc Randheli
Cheval Blanc Randheli
#1 of 1 in Randheli Island
169 reviews
4.8 mi away
Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
16.6 mi away
The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hurawalhi Island Resort
Hurawalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Hurawalhi
545 reviews
8.8 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives
Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives
#1 of 1 in Madhiriguraidhoo Island
1,095 reviews
21.5 mi away
Cocoon Maldives
Cocoon Maldives
#1 of 1 in Ookolhufinolhu
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuredu Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuredu Island Resort & Spa

Address: Lhaviyani Atoll, Republic of Maldives
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Lhaviyani Atoll > Kuredu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Price Range: £244 - £912 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuredu Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Kuredu, in Lhaviyani Atoll. It is 1800 meters long by 325 meters wide, about 57 Hectares (143 acres). Your seaplane transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 40 minute flight. The 383 Rooms include 10 Sultan Pool Villas including 1 Villa Family Suite, 50 Sangu Water Villas including 1 Honeymoon Suite, 100 Jacuzzi Beach Villas, 93 Beach Villas, 90 Beach Bungalows & 40 Garden Bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kuredu Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuredu Island Hotel Kuredu
Kuredu Island Resort And Spa
Hotel Kuredu Island
Kuredu Island Maldives
Kuredu Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing