We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, but needs more focus on children's needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great resort, but needs more focus on children's needs”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely 2 weeks at Kuredu. Lucky enough to have 2 weeks of virtually uninterrupted sun in the middle of monsoon season. We stopped in a JBV on the south side, and was lucky enough to snorkel with 2 massive green turtles and a hawksbill just 10 feet into the water from our room. Here are a few pros and cons from our stay:

Pros: Island is beautiful and well serviced
General set up arms amenities very good.
Excellent spa.
1st class dive centre with Pro divers.
Good quality buffet food and the 2 a la carte meals were superb.
Friendly waiting and serving staff.

Cons: Efficiency of reception staff could be improved.
Lack of options for younger children at meal times.
Poor options for entertaining young children.
Some poor decisions by management regarding drinks for AI guests.
Management's lack of honesty regarding Sanguine closure & their apparent focus on extracting money from guests.

I think the pros explain themselves, but let me give some substance to the cons. Our dealings with reception was generally poor, especially in the 1st week. Our eldest son wasn't given any quilt cover for his bed, and when we asked for a quilt we were told "we aren't sure if we have a spare! We also had confusion booking excursions. Our real issue came with our desire to renew our vows at Kuredu, and how this wasn't dealt with in a satisfactory manner.

We had emailed Kuredu and provisionally booked a date. But upon arrival we were not contacted once regarding this. When we saw the renewal area at the Sangu, it was literally 20 foot from a building site, albeit fenced off but with a JCB and digger in clear view. Who wants to get married next to that? And why not move it whilst the work was ongoing? The building work was never mentioned, and as a whole lots of Sangu guests weren't notified of the work.

Although we didn't stop in the Sangu, the work affected the whole island. Because the bar and restaurant was closed, it forced Sangu guests to other areas. The O resort by all accounts was a scramble for tables at 8pm at dinner opening. No one wants that on holiday. This is where it appears top management are putting profit retention over customer satisfaction.

Our main issue with the island is the lack of focus of families with younger children. The food (albeit generally excellent) had no child buffet. This often made meal times difficult with our 18 month old. And this isn't just an English thing, we spoke to a family from Finland who said the same with their toddler and 10 year old daughter.

There is also very few activities for children, and there were a lot of families at Kuredu. I think this needs to be addressed by management, as Kuredu being a bigger island does attract family groups. There are plenty of other islands just for couples, so don't ignore the needs of a large contingent of your clientele.

The fact the island had the Sangu (when open), the O resort and the rest of the island is a good set up. But why make AI customers pay $6 for a milkshake that is made with powder? And why allow customers to have Malibu in a cocktail but not on its own? Even the bar staff admitted that this was a stupid decision that they have already raised with management.

These gripes were fairly minor issues, and for me did not detract too much from the overall holiday. But I think if the needs of smaller children was considered more then I would have scored Kuredu a 5. I have put all these points on their questionnaire also.

The dive school really is excellent and I cannot fault them. Certainly the best dive school I have every been too. Some great dive sites, very friendly and professional staff, and an excellent focus on safety.

I would certainly return to Kuredu, I hope they just consider the needs of families with small children in the near future.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank popdog35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear popdog35,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa.
Every single Tour Operator that we have a contract with received written notification of the Sangu renovation project on 29th May. Perhaps your Tour Operator did not pass on the necessary information as expected of them.
Whilst the O Restaurant was busier last month than normal this would not have had an effect on guests who booked a Jacuzzi Beach Villa given that the allocated restaurant for that category of room is Koamas.
The wonderful Team at Prodivers will be very pleased with your positive words for the service they provided.
Our family clientele is very much limited to the main school holiday periods of the year and Kuredu unlike many other resorts in the Maldives is very well equipped with sports and activities for children.
Having said this, we listen to all feedback from our guests and will certainly analyse where we feel improvements in our facilities and services are required to better cater for families with young children in the future.
As you have indicated that you "would certainly return to Kuredu" we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,513
    1,204
    272
    77
    56
See reviews for
946
5,247
69
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks all inclusive, had a fantastic time and loved resort. Friendly staff, great food which is the same whichever category of accommodation and restaurant you choose. We stayed in garden bungalow which was fine for 2 adults and one 16 year old. Snorkelling great take your own masks snorkels and fins to save hiring at $9 per day. Take some protective footwear (we took cheap rock shoes) as there is a nice lagoon with baby stingrays in the shallows. We didn't go into very deep water but we still say loads of fish, adult rays, reef sharks and even a sea turtle grazing! Book onto the free intro snorkelling session as soon as you arrive it was so useful but gets booked up really quickly. Sunset cruise was awesome as we saw lots of dolphins swimming with the boat and leaping out of the water.

Room Tip: Beach bungalows get more sea breezes and you can take your chair out to sit in the lagoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 24CLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear 24CLG,
Thank you for posting a short review of your recent family vacation.
It sounds like you really enjoyed your time spent interacting with the marine life that surrounds our shores.
We hope that you will return to Kuredu one day.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

After searching for a beautiful place to holiday in the South Pacific during a recent school term break, only finding so-so place for tons of money, a family friend suggested The Kuredu resort in the Maldives in the Indian Ocean. While not really easy to get to from anywhere, other than India and the Middle East, we endured the long plane rides to be rewarded with a 45-minute seaplane ride over sparkling blue water and coral islands polka-dotting the seascape. When we finally did arrive, it seemed lime bliss. This relatively large island - that can be circumnavigated in about 30 minutes on foot (if you don't stop to pick up beautiful shells or are distracted by baby sharks and baby rays swimming less than a metre from the beach in one small stretch along the way.

To make what could be a very long review shorter, we had an amazing 8 days at Kuredu. The bungalows were very comfortable, the staff very friendly, the food was very good (and diverse), and the whole family had a great time. Our kids -- 16 and 13 -- shared one bungalow next to ours; they were able to do plenty of things on their own or with us as well. The snorkelling off the beach was a daily event, seeing a huge variety of fish and coral, sea turtles and rays, but we also learned to scuba and sail. The excursions were also great, as were the golf lessons and the spa. We literally had no complaints. We have travelled a lot and to many different islands. This is one trip we were truly sad to see ending and found a resort we will likely return to.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 205-220 are a good trade off being not too far and not too close to the main gathering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mdgberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear mdgberger,
Thank you for travelling all the way from New Zealand to spend your family vacation at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa.
Your comments just go to prove how a bit of research and a positive attitude towards having a great time as a family, can make all the difference when assessing the enjoyment of a your vacation experience.
Despite the long journey, it sounds from your closing comments that we may be welcoming you back to Kuredu one day and we look forward to that.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We booked to stay at Kuredu due to the recommendation from a friend. It was also one of the more reasonably priced Islands to stay on in the Maldives. It was worth every penny. I went with my boyfriend for 11 nights and we had the best 12 days of our life. We were lucky, going in July and only having just 1 night of rain. We arrived in Male and were taken to a special lounge for those traveling to Kuredu where we were kept up to date on when our seaplane would arrive to take us and in the meantime we were provided with drinks, a cold (very welcome) flannel and a welcome pack. The seaplane views there were beautiful and on arrival at Kuredu we were given such a warm welcome.
We booked a garden bungalow and it was the most basic accommodation on the island but we had no problems with the room, it was everything we needed and the mini bar was well stocked. If we were to go back we would probably pay a little extra to have a beach bungalow for the views and the easy beach access because our one niggle was that we went down to the beach and sat on the sunbed that was apparently allocated to a beach villa that was obviously empty because the builders were in it but we were told we couldn't sit there & would have to drag our sunbeds down to the beach. Perhaps some extra sunbeds on the beaches for those in garden bungalows to sit on. We spent some time sunbathing on the sunbeds outside our roo but the sea breeze was very welcome so we would liked to have sunbathed on the beach more but wanted the comfort of the sunbed. The outdoor bathroom was fine too. Our cleaner was fantastic and visited twice daily so no cleanliness complaints.
And on that point the staff work sooooo hard to keep the Island looking so very stunning! There are people out all day every daily raking up leaves, seaweed, clearing fallen palm branches etc.
The food in the restaurant allocated to us was spot on. A different theme every night meant for lots of variety and I ate so much delicious food & lots of fresh fruit. Our waiter was very attentive and we had no complaints. The hot food served to you section had 3 chefs manning it most of the time but at times there were 2 and the queue built up a little. But tiny complaint really.
I'm not one for sitting still, there was so much to do if you wanted to. Just walking around the beautiful Island occupied me but I also did a lot of snorkelling. There is the dive centre on the Island so you can do guided reef tours which were great, as well as snokeling excursions to other reefs and caves. You can also learn to dive and there are various diving trips. There is a golf course, tennis court, football pitch, badminton court and a volley ball pitch. They have a water sports centre, activities room with pool tables etc, a handful of different shops and excursions to neighbouring islands and they have fun activities like crab racing. We had a complimentary photo session on the island and sunset cruise as part of our all inclusive. The island also has a spa and we booked in for a muscle ease massage that was exactly what we needed.
There is free wifi in your room and in a couple of other areas of the resort. They recently added a lot of cocktails to the all inclusive package which was fantastic because I don't tend to drink much alcohol but it meant that I could enjoy a few drinks during the holiday. My boyfriend Kevin felt that the beers were not to his taste and would have liked a 3rd option.
Overall we had such an amazing time. We felt so relaxed within minutes of arriving. I cannot express how beautiful the Island is and how hard the staff work to make the holiday perfect. I would highly recommend Kuredu to anyone and I can see why so many visitors are regulars, Iwould love to take a trip back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank graceizbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear graceizbeauty,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay in Kuredu last month.
Your words of appreciation for the Team Members that work so hard to keep the accommodation and island in general spotlessly clean will be passed on to them. Spare an extra thought for them as well for the work they do when also fasting during the Holy Month of Ramadan.
As you say "we would love to take a trip back", we hope to welcome you back one day.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We chose Kuredu Island Resort and Spa for our honeymoon in Maldives.. and boy oh boy are we glad we did.. what an amazing experience.. the sea plane ride from the airport to the island was awesome to start with.. The minute we set foot on the island, we knew that reviews werent lying and we were in for 1 week of bliss..

We stayed at the Sangu Water Villa and it was the best possible experience.. Right in the middle of the sea.. Spent 1 week indulging in each other and in all the facilities at the resort.. We did almost everything, from outdoor sports, to jet skiing, to para sailing, to banana boats to snorkeling.. Everything was perfectly organized and the instructors were great.. The food buffets were great, though I feel there should have been a tad bit more variety on different days.. After staying for a week, it felt like we were eating almost the same thing daily.. That is one tiny thing that could be improved..

Oh I need to mention the Spa.. Wow.. We took a honeymoon special couple massage and it was the most relaxing and romantic experience ever.. Must try this if you are on a honeymoon in Kuredu.. The beach was awesome,pristine clear.. Pool was well maintained too.. We even spotted some white sharks while we were swimming around our villa..

Overall, we love you Kuredu and thanks for the best honeymoon ever!

Room Tip: The Sangu Water Villa would be an awesome choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShyamaKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear ShyamaKP,
Thank you for posting such a lovely review of your Honeymoon vacation in Kuredu Island Resort & Spa.
Our Sangu Water Villas are the ideal choice of accommodation for those wanting that unique over water experience the Maldives is famous for and I am pleased you were not disappointed in your selection.
It sounds like you had a lot of fun with the many water sports activities available and you clearly enjoyed the couples massage at the Spa.
As it would appear that you are not so far away in India, perhaps we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here in 2009 with my daughter who turned 14 out there and my then 6 year old son. Had an amazing time, everything was faultless, food, accommodation, service.

Neil in the diving centre was brilliant and we learnt a lot from him, still vividly recall his fish impressions! Well worth doing the intro to snorkelling to learn about the ocean and how to respect the ocean life.

We had 2 beach bungalows next to each other and a baby monitor so that we didn't feel isolated from the kids and they could contact us, this worked well, but not sure I'd have done it when mine were younger.

Paradise on earth, by far the most beautiful place I've ever been.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Jirmette,
Thank you for not forgetting about Kuredu and posting a review of your stay five years ago.
Many other guests will agree with your description "Paradise on Earth".
Perhaps it is time you came back for another visit. We would be delighted to welcome you back as Repeat Guests.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale of Glamorgan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Lost for words. This is the most amazing place on earth. Every tiny detail was top notch. Cant wait to go back again!
Its the only holiday I've had, where I don't need a holiday to get over it. Brilliant!
Our superior beech villa was directly on the beach. It was very spacious with an open-air bathroom - a first for us.
Log onto their website - everything they say is true - surrounded by the Indian ocean it really is paradise.

Room Tip: Don't pack any shoes - you don't need them from the minute you step onto the island. Don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Mandy,
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa.
It sounds like you had a wonderful time and we hope it will not be too lond before you return to this little piece of Paradise called Kuredu.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuredu
13.2 mi away
Cheval Blanc Randheli
Cheval Blanc Randheli
#1 of 1 in Randheli Island
169 reviews
4.8 mi away
Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
2.6 mi away
Hurawalhi Island Resort
Hurawalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Hurawalhi
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives
8.8 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives
Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives
#1 of 1 in Madhiriguraidhoo Island
1,080 reviews
15.3 mi away
Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives
Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives
#1 of 1 in Kanifushi Island
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuredu Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuredu Island Resort & Spa

Property: Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
Address: Lhaviyani Atoll, Republic of Maldives
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Lhaviyani Atoll > Kuredu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuredu Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Kuredu, in Lhaviyani Atoll. It is 1800 meters long by 325 meters wide, about 57 Hectares (143 acres). Your seaplane transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 40 minute flight. The 383 Rooms include 10 Sultan Pool Villas including 1 Villa Family Suite, 50 Sangu Water Villas including 1 Honeymoon Suite, 100 Jacuzzi Beach Villas, 93 Beach Villas, 90 Beach Bungalows & 40 Garden Bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Travelbag, 5viajes2012 S.L., TravelUp, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kuredu Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuredu Island Hotel Kuredu
Kuredu Island Resort And Spa
Hotel Kuredu Island
Kuredu Island Maldives
Kuredu Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing