We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Maldives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Nothing prepares you for the Maldives.when they say paradise on earth they are right.so far have been back to kuredu 3 times booked for our 4th visit and stayed in beach bungalow,o villas , water villas.even though the island has a lot of accommodation you feel the place is deserted you only see people at meal times. The food is very good with plenty of variety in all the restaurants. The staff are brilliant nothing is to much trouble. If you are into diving you have come to the best place on the planet kuredu express not to be missed and pro diver really look after you.
Plenty to do from windsurfing . Snorkelling . Diving or just lazing on the beach or by the pool. Evening entertainment varied over the weeks plus a small golf course .
Cannot praise the staff and the island enough

Room Tip: Water villas get there own restaurant as do the o villas. The same food is served in all restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Steve,
Thank you for your comments following another stay with us.
The respective Culinary and Prodivers Teams will be pleased with your positive words and as you say "the staff are brilliant".
We all look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,844 - 3,850 of 7,873 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a great 7 night stay at Kuredu in July. We had booked a beach villa with full board. We are a family of four(2 adults and 2 kids) and villa with extra bed was spacious enough for all of us without tripping over each other. The room 104 was right on the beach with a gorgeous view and close to the main restaurant/pool and activity area. Which was perfect for us being with kids.
The designated restaurant - koamas was good. They tried to change the cuisine every day but after a while it seemed repetitious. The chefs were great, taking a personal interest and ensuring everyone was looked after. Had lunch at the O restaurant once, food was same but the view was gorgeous.
We tried wind surfing lessons, which were very fun. They have a complimentary class and then you can book subsequent lessons. The snorkeling was nice, got to see sea turtles. Took the house reef snorkeling tour, it was ok, seemed a bit hurried.
Every day you can take the kayak and some other equipment on a complimentary basis for an hour. The snorkeling stuff you have to rent so its better to carry your own.
The sand bank at one end was lots of fun. You can walk a good distance into the sea. The kids loved playing there. They had a bar set up there as well, which was great to sit and enjoy sunsets from. At this end, there was some work going on. They are making an infinity pool and redoing the restaurant there. But it was not a disturbance at all.
This is a nice big island with space for everyone - honeymooners to families. Overall a great experience and would love to do it again.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with kids go for 100 - 150, great location with a beautiful beach up front. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trave1ove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear trave1ove,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent family vacation in Kuredu.
It's nice to hear that you made good use of our wonderful Water sports facilities and enjoyed the beauty of our amazing Sandbank at the western end of the island.
We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a short review for one reason… it was just perfect. This was our second visit and it managed to surpass the first, which didn't seem possible. We travelled with our teenage boys who also love the island. We are already planning a return visit next year.
Pro Divers:
Last year we snorkelled but realised that the divers were having so much fun, and determined not to miss out, my 19 year old and I completed our 'e-learner' Padi Open Water Dive theory in advance. Log on to Kuredu.com and there is a section for Prodivers to arrange it. This is a good option as it means that you don't need to spend time in the classroom on holiday. We let Pro Divers know in advance our arrival dates and they arranged for us to complete the rest of the course when it suited us and we had settled into the holiday. We were incredibly fortunate to
have Armin as our instructor, he was so patient and supportive and made the whole experience so enjoyable. Armin encouraged us to snorkel with a guitar shark which was lying in the sand next to the dive hut at the end of the jetty, wow!
The golf club is very pretty and perfect for a game after dinner to walk off the calories.
We highly recommend the island. Our only other experience in the Maldives was Bodufinohlu which we visited 20 years ago, that is a small island. Kuredu , in our opinion, has so much more to offer because it is larger, there is far more to do if you choose to do so and you can actually go for a walk!
Thank you to Ken and all the staff who go out of their way to make this such a perfect holiday island. We look forward to seeing you again. Caroline.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline-and-Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Caroline & Michael,
Thank you for posting a review of your second stay at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa.
We are delighted to note that you and your eldest son have now caught the scuba diving bug care of the wonderful Team at Prodivers and especially thanks to the instruction skills of Armin.
It was lovely to see you here again and we all look forward to welcoming you back for the third time sometime soon.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Visited Kuredu 5yrs ago, was as fabulous as it was then! Stayed in the O'Villa this time 274! Perfect, room is beautiful, ipod docking station which charges as well. Wi-fi in the room this time. The view was Picture Postcard, didn't even go to the pool this time, we didn't have time! Walking round the island, snorkelling, lazing outside the villa, reading, listening to music, visiting the spa, eating, we were just too busy! If you are planning on snorkelling I recommend taking flippers, we left ours at home and regretted it, you can cover so much more ground and didn't feel as safe when heading into deeper waters and missed out on going to the reef. Kuredu has so much to offer, sangu was closed at the time of our visit in July, spent most of our evenings in the O'Bar and occasionally the Babuna for the white night and live band which were great. There is also a live duo that play between the two venues who were really lovely. We attended the repeaters cocktail party and thoroughly enjoyed meeting some of the staff/managers and hearing more about what they do and it was nice to meet some of the other guests. Food was great, the staff at Kuredu are all fantastic and as you walk around the island you really appreciate every single job they do to make the island that extra bit special. We particularly want to highlight one special person and that is Darsh at the O'Bar, we first met him in the Akiri bar on our last visit, he is such a genuinely lovely man and made our holiday and it meant so much that he remembered us from our last visit, also a special mention to Ram and Nirosh. The sunsets are amazing, the beauty of Kuredu is it has something for everyone, you can make it as lively or relaxing as you want, join in with other guests or go it alone their are no rules, its your holiday. A tip to take note of when we arrived for the our suitcases were to follow on a later seaplane, we were given the option to take anything from the case that we might need but as we were told it would only be an hour later we didn't bother. Due to the weather, the case didn't arrive until 8pm, about 6/7 hrs later. The weather had been quite bad in Male and had delayed the departure. It's worth taking something to change into and freshen up, just one of those things and you are in paradise, it's good to have a heads up that this can happen. Hope to be back one day, wonderful memories.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank KarenSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Karen & Simon,
Thank for posting a review of your second stay in Kuredu.
We will ensure that Darsh, Ram and Nirosh at the Bars know about your positive comments.
You have highlighted the overriding feeling at Kuredu, quote " the beauty of Kuredu is it has something for everyone, you can make it as lively or relaxing as you want, join in with other guests or go it alone".
We look forward to welcoming you back for your third stay.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We enjoyed a 7 night stay at this Kuredu in July. We opted for the All Inclusive Package and stayed in a Jacuzzi Beach Villa. The bed was enormous and so comfortable, the linen fresh and crisp. The rooms are spacious, clean and adequately furnished. The bathroom was awesome, inside/outside toilet, shower, Jacuzzi bath and twin basins. We had a short walk from our villa to the main entertainment/restaurant area but that was perfect for us - we needed the stroll pre and post meals! We were travelling with teenagers so made full use of all the facilities on the island, various fishing trips, luxury sailing trip to snorkel sites and see dolphins and manta rays. Various water sports, golf, football (our waiter was an amazing football player and really enjoyed having a kick about with the boys), gym, table tennis and pool. We opted for a back of house tour which was so interesting to understand how a community like that can sustain itself in the middle of the ocean. Of course we had to experience the spa treatments which were excellent. The meals are plentiful with an amazing selection covering various cultures and tastes. There is definitely something for everyone at every meal time. There is a lot of sand at this resort, sand in the restaurant, sand in the bar, sand all around. If you're not keen on feeling the sand between your toes all day every day.... this may not be the place for you :) We were very happy to slip into our bikini and sarong and leave our shoes behind!
We will definitely return..... soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarge_Singers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Colin & Dayner,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa.
It sounds like the comfort of our Jacuzzi Beach Villas, sitauted along the southern coastline, met all your needs.
It also sounds like you had quite an action packed stay, taking in many of the wonderful sports facilities available, an eye opening Back of House Tour and a trip to be pampered at the Spa.
As it would appear you travelled from Singapore, you are just a short direct flight away and therefore we all hope you will be back one day.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at kuredu for 10 nights from 14th July, firstly the weather was fantastic, a little windy at times as expected but hot hot hot and only 1 night of rain!

Arrived in male after a fabulous Emirates flight, and were taken straight to the TMA sea plane terminal, we had to wait for around 1hr 30min which was fine, we were given sandwiches, fries and drinks and sat outside watching the sea planes take off, there was also free wifi there, so this wait was no problem at all to us... Sea plane transfer was fantastic, a great experience!

We stayed in a garden bungalow, which was great, I would definitely recommend, although if you were on honeymoon may be worth upgrading to beach or water bungalow. There were 3 adults in our room, and we thought the space we had was enough, outdoor bathroom was a good touch.

The island itself is just beautiful, exactly what I expected. We loved walking around the island every morning before breakfast and spotting the sharks, sting rays, crabs. Our favourite spot was at the bottom of the island where the water villas are, it was always quieter down this end of the island as away from the house reef and pool, but we preferred this as it was so pretty and relaxing. The building work was going on on the sangu pool just behind where we would lay, and there was no disturbance ever! The work was covered by a thatched fence and all you could hear was the waves crashing onto the sand... So if this is worrying you, as it was us, please do not let this put you off... It is very minor work.

Food was fantastic, I am vegetarian and always found plenty to eat, although I think it would help if the food was labelled whether it was suitable for vegetarians or not, as I had to ask the chefs a few times and one time was told yes it vegetarian and another time no it contains meat! The other 2 I travelled with love meat and fish etc and we all loved the food here, they have a theme night every night and they were never the same. We didn't even eat at the a la carte restaurants as we were so happy with the food choices here.

Special mention to Ali who was our waiter in the bonthi restaurant, he was absolutely lovely and always went out of his way for us.

All the staff here are a credit to the management, they work so hard, especially the ladies who you would see sweeping the sand and keeping the island looking lovely.
It was also so nice to hear them all having so much fun, and having badminton competitions of an evening, I thought this showed the staff are really happy here and enjoying their work, sometimes of a night we would be going back to our from and I would think to myself I want to join there party!

We went on the free sunset cruise and seen so many dolphins... This was fantastic!

Snorkelling off the beach was great, yes we saw triggerfish, familiarise yourself with what they look like before you go (don't you tube the attack videos haha) and swim away if you see any. We also swam with turtles here, unicorn fish, nemo fish.

We did a day of snorkelling on board the Britt, the staff on here were all so welcoming and friendly, really looked after us, would definitely recommend this trip and the snorkelling sites were amazing. Think this cost 120usd each.

We also went night fishing, which was 40 usd each, this was a great experience, mainly smaller fish, but we also caught a huge coloured fish, a dog fish and a massive triggerfish, which we ate for dinner the next night.

We took usd to use, but everything is charged to your room which you settle the bill at the end of your stay, probably worth just taking a few usd for tipping and paying at the end by card.

Plugs in the rooms are British three pin so no need for adapters.

You don't need special shoes for the water, but take your own snorkelling equipment and flippers as they cost about 60usd at the shop here just for flippers.

Entertainment of an evening was not great, but this was expected. I did think a lot of people would turn up for particular nights, such as the ocean discovery show, but it was not real entertainment and you could not always hear what was being said, and I always found there was not enough seats for people to sit around and watch or join in. So I do think the guests would prefer a better entertainment programme. We made our own entertainment so this was not a problem to us.

Drinks were great, not watered down, and cocktails included in the all inclusive package.

Also, take just one pair of shoes as you are literally bare foot the whole holiday!

If you are looking for the larger sharks, make your way to the jetty at around 9:30pm and look under the boats.... You will see 5-6foot reef sharks, take a good torch to spot them with and your camera!

All in all, we had a fantastic holiday here and would love to go back again, we are missing the Maldives so much!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank simone j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Simone,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Kuredu.
It is kind of you and important that you have pointed out, that the current project at the Sangu Resort to build an infinity edge swimming pool, was of no inconvenience or disturbance.
Ali, your Bonthi Waiter will be very proud to get a mention in your review.
It sounds like you took advanatage of the many activities available at Kuredu and I am delighted that you enjoyed the full day sailing excursion on our Britt yacht and had a successful Night Fishing trip.
It is good to hear that you are already thinking about a return trip, so we will be looking forward to welcoming you then.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

You've always wanted a bounty experience, but didn't know where to go to? Well, try this island. From Malé to here by seaplane, get your swimming trousers and relax. Great views, great swimming, good reading, good everything. It's all inclusive, but then the right way!

Room Tip: For the Beach villas, try to get one not in front of the water villas. It blocks a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michiel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Michiel,
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa.
We hope to welcome you back one day.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuredu
13.2 mi away
Cheval Blanc Randheli
Cheval Blanc Randheli
#1 of 1 in Randheli Island
175 reviews
4.9 mi away
Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
16.6 mi away
The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hurawalhi Island Resort
Hurawalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Hurawalhi
722 reviews
3 mi away
Kanuhura - Maldives
Kanuhura - Maldives
#1 of 1 in Kanuhura
150 reviews
12.7 mi away
Soneva Jani
Soneva Jani
#1 of 1 in Medhufaru
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuredu Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuredu Island Resort & Spa

Address: Lhaviyani Atoll, Republic of Maldives
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Lhaviyani Atoll > Kuredu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Price Range: £265 - £991 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuredu Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Kuredu, in Lhaviyani Atoll. It is 1800 meters long by 325 meters wide, about 57 Hectares (143 acres). Your seaplane transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 40 minute flight. The 383 Rooms include 10 Sultan Pool Villas including 1 Villa Family Suite, 50 Sangu Water Villas including 1 Honeymoon Suite, 100 Jacuzzi Beach Villas, 93 Beach Villas, 90 Beach Bungalows & 40 Garden Bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Destinology, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, Southall Travel, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kuredu Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuredu Island Hotel Kuredu
Kuredu Island Resort And Spa
Hotel Kuredu Island
Kuredu Island Maldives
Kuredu Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing