We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food & fantastic service ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blackboys Inn

Blackboys Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Blackboys
Price range: US$10 - US$31
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Blackboys Inn is a 14th Century public house and restaurant located in the pretty hamlet of Blackboys, situated on the outskirts of Uckfield, East Sussex. The Blackboys Team have been introducing exciting new menus and offering superb hospitality as well as offering traditional home cooked Sunday Roasts. To accompany your meal, there is a superb selection of Fine Harveys Ale and also an excellent wine selection. Whether you want a family Sunday Roast or an informal gathering with friends or even a celebration with an extra special twist, you can be assured of fresh, seasonal food at its best. The Blackboys Team are very sociable and enjoy nothing more than hosting regular entertainment, live music, quiz nights and wine tasting evenings.
Battle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food & fantastic service ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Found Black boys on here whilst looking for a country pub & we absolutely loved it! Went with our 3month old for a family valentines & had amazing service with a smile! The food was served very quickly & was so so good! The Banana pudding with bacon has to be tried ! Yes bacon lol :-) thank you to the manager as well for bringing his own little 3month old down to meet our little one! A lovely day had, we will 100% be going back! Thank you Sarah & Chris

Helpful?
1 Thank Scare23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    79
    34
    33
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackboys, East Sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great pub with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is a regular haunt of ours. We went last night for a 'pub grub' meal as opposed to a full blown dinner. I had the trio of sausages with creamy mash and inion gravy - very scrummy and my husband had the pie of the day. Both were good. Afterwards we were offered the dessert menu which was very attractive. As a special pud they offered banana pudding with bacon. 'Are you sure?' we said. The friendly staff assured us they had tried it and it was delicious. Being too full for dessert we tried a small piece offered to us and I can confirm it was totally delicious. If you visit here and get offered this - do not hesitate - it is fab! Next time I'll be leaving room for dessert.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful way to see in the New Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Myself and my husband decided to celebrate New Years Eve at the Blackboys Inn with a cosy meal for two and what a great decision that was. The restaurant looked lovely and the set menu was very alluring. When each course arrived, it did not disappoint. Very well excecuted, perfectly presented and totally yummy. The staff were friendly and attentive throughout. After we had finished our cosy meal and was edging closer to midnight we headed into the bar area. It was busy and had a buzzing atmosphere. The bar man made me a cocktail which was to-die-for! At midnight we were encouraged to step outside and I was surprised and thrilled when fireworks started shooting into the sky. It was quite a lengthy display and thoroughly enjoyed. We had a fabulous night and have this wonderful pub and staff to thank for that.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I visited for a Sunday lunch and once through the door received a warm welcome. The service was excellent by all staff and couldn't help enough. The food was the best pub food I have ever tasted, all freshly made and not heated up rubbish. I forgot to tell the staff not to put gravy on my sons roast, so was completely my fault, but they went away and the chef made another for my son. The lamb burger and pie of the day was gorgeous. All in all, a fantastic experience and we will be back. Not as pricey as everyone is making out!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Christmas Eve 2013- we decided to spend the evening at The Blackboys Inn. Why? Because in the past, the restaurant has provided good quality food and the venue is an excellent example of how to get the balance right between a decent pub, serving well-kept beers etc and a decent pub restaurant with a gastronomic cuisine of which to be proud.
We were not disappointed. The food was excellent- well cooked, served promptly with a hospitable and attentive staff on hand. The atmosphere was perfect for Christmas and the very busy restaurant area and bar bore testimony to a successful pub, that clearly prides itself on good food and aims high.
Our party of four were delighted with the choice for our family start to Christmas, in a lovely old pub with its blazing fire and lovely atmosphere. Well done, Blackboys!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackboys Inn also viewed

 
Blackboys, East Sussex
Uckfield, East Sussex
 
Heathfield, East Sussex
Uckfield, East Sussex
 

Been to Blackboys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing