We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whaley Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kinrara Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Neston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“What a fantastic place”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our host Jean was lovely and a great cook too. Her other half tended huge gardens with 7 acres to manage and the formal gardens are superb as are the views. We only stayed one night last Saturday 21st June. It was very clean comfortable and friendly with amazing scenery.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ver0nica002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJDerbyshire_UK, Owner at Kinrara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your weekend - it was a pleasure to share in your enjoyment of the family celebration you had come for! Let's hope there will be many more in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
29
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Blessed with lovely weather, we've just spent a great first weekend in the Peaks; equaling the beauty of the location was our cosy, friendly B and B, run by Jean and Phil who gave us the warmest welcome, the most delicious breakfast, elegant and comfortable rooms and guided us to the best walking areas in the Peaks. By the end of our stay we felt like best friends and will definitely return to them, next time for longer - so much to do and see in the area. Almost forgot - Kinrara has the most beautiful views and a gorgeous garden to die for. Thanks J and P for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on the back of the house with the glorious views of the valley and lake bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJDerbyshire_UK, Owner at Kinrara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful Peak District and that you felt so comfortable in our B&B. We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a great stay here, the owner, Jean went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. Great view from the balcony, the breakfast was awesome and the local high street is only a 10min walk away. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamcrickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJDerbyshire_UK, Owner at Kinrara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We get a lot of visitors here from New Zealand, Australia and the US who are researching their ancestry and I was so pleased that your visit was a fruitful one, and that you felt so 'at home' with us. We hope to see you again in the Autumn when your parents come to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Booked my father into Kinrara for three nights in mid May. He is a fussy seventy-something year old who has fond memories of visiting Derbyshire in his youth. He is hard to please but he loved this B&B. I asked if he would stay at Kinrara again and without hesitation he said he would. He has never said that about anywhere else. I know that the Land Lady, Jean, took excellent care of him because he is still mentioning to me things she surprised him with. Kinrara is the perfect distance out of the village: just a walk away and has great views, a large well-kept garden and a rural, tranquil feel. The value was unbeatable, particularly for a person staying on their own. Jean is very efficient at communicating through email and was considerate enough to let me know my father had arrived safely. I can recommend this B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: Contact the owner, Jean, by email and she will get back to you very quickly. Jean will let you know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJDerbyshire_UK, Owner at Kinrara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
It was a real pleasure to have your father to stay with us and to share his birthday with him. He was so appreciative of everything and enjoyed everywhere he went. We just hope we're that enthusiastic and get so much out of life when we reach our late seventies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I have stayed in a few B and Bs, however my recent stay at Kinrara was excellent. Jean and Phil are welcoming hosts and are very attentive to peoples needs. They are a mine of information and I have no hestitation in recommending their b and b as a most suitable place to stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJDerbyshire_UK, Owner at Kinrara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
It is always great to see you Charles and we look forward to your annual visit. I think you must be our 'oldest' guest, not literally, but in terms of the number of years you have been coming to stay at Kinrara! Thanks again for this lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here with my 2 year old and baby. Our host was so helpful -she offered a travel cot for the baby, a high chair for my toddler and found some bath toys for them both to enjoy!

The location was absolutely stunning - I wasn't prepared for the view and it took my breath away when we pulled on to the driveway.

There was a radio but no TV - for me this was a positive feature :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahSK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJDerbyshire_UK, Owner at Kinrara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you so much for your very positive review. We do our best to make everyone welcome and try to do whatever we can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. It is nice to escape the TV from time to time, however we do have a guest lounge with TV and DVD player, which I obviously neglected to show you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

From the moment you arrive Jean and Phil are the perfect hosts. They make you feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The house is in a fabulous location with wonderful views and glorious gardens. The rooms are very clean and the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is yummy, freshly cooked and sets you up for the day to explore Derbyshire. Jean has great knowledge of the surrounding areas and is only too willing to give information and advice on places to visit. I visit regularly and would never stay anywhere else, go on, give it a go, you're missing out!!

Room Tip: The balcony room has great views over the reservoir. The garden room has lovely garden views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SomersetKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whaley Bridge
3.9 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
5.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
423 reviews
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.6 mi away
Springbank Guest House
Springbank Guest House
#1 of 4 in Whaley Bridge
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinrara Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinrara Bed and Breakfast

Property: Kinrara Bed and Breakfast
Address: Kinrara Macclesfield Road, Whaley Bridge SK23 7DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Whaley Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Whaley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinrara offers you high quality B&B accommodation at Whaley Bridge in the heart of the beautiful Peak District of Derbyshire, England. This beautiful Edwardian detached house, built at the turn of the century, has stunning views over Toddbrook reservoir and the hills of the High Peak of Derbyshire. It is set in 7 acres and has lovely mature landscaped gardens with several ponds, a woodland and seating areas, which guests are encouraged to use. Accommodation at Kinrara consists of two double and one single/twin room, available on a B&B basis only. There is a separate TV room available for guests, with free wifi internet access throughout the house. There is also ample off-road secure parking. Whaley Bridge has several good restaurants and pubs, with many more easily accessible by car in the surrounding villages of Derbyshire. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kinrara Bed And Breakfast Whaley Bridge, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing