We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30th Wedding anniversary”
Review of The Shady Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shady Oak
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“30th Wedding anniversary”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My wife and I chose The Shady Oak based on the reviews on this website. We wanted just a couple of days to get away from our rat race life in Birmingham in piece and quiet and in a trad country pub so we can crash after a few beers and good meal. We could not fault a thing. Craig and Sue make you more than welcome, the room was very spacious, the beers good, but the food was amazing. If anybody ever considers to complain about the cost of the breakfast I suggest they look at what you get. My wife called it the "Belly Buster". After breakfast we could not eat again until dinner in the evening. We will certainly be visiting The Shady Oak again, can't wait but I will be going on a crash diet 1st to prepare. An anniversary to remember thanks to Craig and Sue.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inglec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    39
    13
    3
    15
See reviews for
48
51
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brackley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The hotel is right on the main road which is fairly busy during the day but is quiet enough at night. The service is very good, the food is excellent, very good value and hugh portions too. I would stay here again. The mark down on cleanliness is due to my own high standards and I noticed stains on some of the furniture and carpet in the room and a single hair in the bath. this wouldnt put me off staying there again though.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrackleyGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Rooms were comfortable but on arrival the cleaner seems to have forgotten to hoover our room. However this was put right immediately. The service was good, and our rooms were made up and towels changed daily. The owners Sue and Craig were helpful and gave us tips on local attractions. The views from our room was lovely. The food was all home made and truly delicious, especially the cheese and potato pie with suet crust pastry.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frumpymam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia, USA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

While we did not sleep at this Inn we did stop in for food. What a find! The food was amazing. The place as very clean. The food was beyond anything we were expecting from a pub we happened to stop by. The food was something we would have driven out of our way to find! They even have a room for guests who bring their dogs with them. If you are anywhere in the area we highly recommend you stop in for lunch or dinner. You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMC_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creswell
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We booked this Pub for 1 night to go walking in the area,We had a very warm welcolme from Craig.The rooms were very comfortable,with fantastic views of The Goyt Valley,We had the Credit Crunch Lunch,3 courses for £7.95 and was well worth it,everything was cooked and presented to perfection,Our breakfast was equally as good and plenty of it.All in all this pub is well worth a visit if not to stay then just for the food,we will be going again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue Chattaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whaley Bridge
4.0 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,670 reviews
4.6 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,055 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
185 reviews
2.4 mi away
Old Hall Inn
Old Hall Inn
#9 of 160 in Peak District National Park
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shady Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shady Oak

Property: The Shady Oak
Address: | on the A5004, Fernilee, Whaley Bridge SK23 7HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Whaley Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Whaley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shady Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Shady Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shady Oak Whaley Bridge, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing