We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation”
Review of The Shady Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shady Oak
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Had a lovely stay in the Ashbourne room with my husband and daughter. The room was spacious enough for the 3 of us. The shower was excellent with plenty hot water. The only complaint about the room was the bathroom was cold as only had a heated towel rail for heat, which didn't really manage to heat the large bathroom and caused condensation in the bathroom. The owners were friendly and the food was excellent. A great breakfast as well. Very dog friendly in both the rooms and the pub. Location was ideal for walks and close to where we wanted to be.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

Recently visited for Christmas dinner and it was amazing, plenty of meat, gravy and potatoes and nice selection of veg to accompany it! 2 other members of our party had 2 huge gammon steaks with a generous portion of chips!

Fab waitress she was lovely.... but the landlady was diabolically rude (couldn't even be bothered to turn her head around from the bar after we said bye and thank you and didn't take her eyes off her laptop until 5 minutes after we walked in baring in mind we were the only ones in there!)

Lovely Christmas decorations to give it a cosy feel! Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank F10Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We didn't stay here, we just went for Sunday lunch. Three of us had the traditional roast, which I have to say was very good. Home cooked, quality meat, generous portions and fresh veg. Husband had the steak pie with suet crust which he said was delicious. Unfortunately dessert wasn't so good. We had fruit crumble which was slimy, oversweet tinned "fruit pie filling" with a dusting of crumble mix on top, not nice. Seems a shame to go to such efforts with the homemade made courses and serve tinned pie filling for dessert, as its the part of the meal I look forward to, and it's not like a homemade apple crumble is difficult to make. Still, nice pub, great views and a nice bit of roast beef.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snaptravel-767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Always on the look put for places to visit following a dog walk and the shady oak did not disappoint - there is a section of the pub where the dogs are permitted - far too much choice we were spoilt for choice!. Specials board is fantastic, fortunately we were advised that the portions are generous so decided against ordering starters (maybe next time I will make sure I am ravenous!) the choice again is phenomenal - I so recommend the shady oak - definite keeper

Room Tip: Didn't stay over but seriously considering next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrishW01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We have eaten many times in this pub.There is a large varied menu, including a credit crunch menu which is very reasonable. The food is always delicious- piping hot, and plenty of it! Craig, Sue and staff are very welcoming and friendly. Can't fault it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Sue494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We called at this pub after a 7 mile walk as the sign outside said 'walkers welcome!' We were not dirty or muddy and removed our shoes at the entrance, however, the landlady was the most hostile person we had ever come across! She was clearly upset that we had ordered drinks - we had disturbed her looking at ''facebook' on the laptop on the bar counter!!!
We will never cross this doorstep again and would encourage fellow walkers to walk on by!!
Ps: vulgar humour on the posters in the toilets....clearly the landlady has issues!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

No welcome on a cold wet day we were the only people in the pub. I grew up and lived in this area and this place does not make you feel welcome.
Microwaved or deep fried offerings. How can you serve cold mushy peas?
Keep on driving past this place. A pity as it has great views.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Butty63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Shady Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shady Oak

Address: | on the A5004, Fernilee, Whaley Bridge SK23 7HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Whaley Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Whaley Bridge
Price Range: £57 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shady Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
The Shady Oak Whaley Bridge, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing