We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wholesome food and reasonably priced”
Review of The Shady Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shady Oak
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great wholesome food and reasonably priced”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We have visited this place a couple of times and the food and service is brilliant. The pub welcomes dogs which was great for us as well.
Recommend the cheese and potato pie, its fab, homemade and really tasty!!!
Well worth a visit if you are in the area, and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    38
    13
    3
    15
See reviews for
46
49
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Had a lovely stay in the Ashbourne room with my husband and daughter. The room was spacious enough for the 3 of us. The shower was excellent with plenty hot water. The only complaint about the room was the bathroom was cold as only had a heated towel rail for heat, which didn't really manage to heat the large bathroom and caused condensation in the bathroom. The owners were friendly and the food was excellent. A great breakfast as well. Very dog friendly in both the rooms and the pub. Location was ideal for walks and close to where we wanted to be.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

Recently visited for Christmas dinner and it was amazing, plenty of meat, gravy and potatoes and nice selection of veg to accompany it! 2 other members of our party had 2 huge gammon steaks with a generous portion of chips!

Fab waitress she was lovely.... but the landlady was diabolically rude (couldn't even be bothered to turn her head around from the bar after we said bye and thank you and didn't take her eyes off her laptop until 5 minutes after we walked in baring in mind we were the only ones in there!)

Lovely Christmas decorations to give it a cosy feel! Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank F10Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcs
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We didn't stay here, we just went for Sunday lunch. Three of us had the traditional roast, which I have to say was very good. Home cooked, quality meat, generous portions and fresh veg. Husband had the steak pie with suet crust which he said was delicious. Unfortunately dessert wasn't so good. We had fruit crumble which was slimy, oversweet tinned "fruit pie filling" with a dusting of crumble mix on top, not nice. Seems a shame to go to such efforts with the homemade made courses and serve tinned pie filling for dessert, as its the part of the meal I look forward to, and it's not like a homemade apple crumble is difficult to make. Still, nice pub, great views and a nice bit of roast beef.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonia1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Always on the look put for places to visit following a dog walk and the shady oak did not disappoint - there is a section of the pub where the dogs are permitted - far too much choice we were spoilt for choice!. Specials board is fantastic, fortunately we were advised that the portions are generous so decided against ordering starters (maybe next time I will make sure I am ravenous!) the choice again is phenomenal - I so recommend the shady oak - definite keeper

Room Tip: Didn't stay over but seriously considering next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrishW01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We have eaten many times in this pub.There is a large varied menu, including a credit crunch menu which is very reasonable. The food is always delicious- piping hot, and plenty of it! Craig, Sue and staff are very welcoming and friendly. Can't fault it!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhoughton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We called at this pub after a 7 mile walk as the sign outside said 'walkers welcome!' We were not dirty or muddy and removed our shoes at the entrance, however, the landlady was the most hostile person we had ever come across! She was clearly upset that we had ordered drinks - we had disturbed her looking at ''facebook' on the laptop on the bar counter!!!
We will never cross this doorstep again and would encourage fellow walkers to walk on by!!
Ps: vulgar humour on the posters in the toilets....clearly the landlady has issues!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whaley Bridge
4.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
19.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
4.6 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
4.3 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shady Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shady Oak

Property: The Shady Oak
Address: | on the A5004, Fernilee, Whaley Bridge SK23 7HD , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Whaley Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Whaley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shady Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Shady Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shady Oak Whaley Bridge, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing