We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place, lovely hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shady Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Shady Oak
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A lovely place, lovely hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night only whilst in the area for a wedding, but were made very welcome, unusual as a lot of places stipulate minimum 2 nights.
We stayed in the Bakewell twin room, very comfortable, extremely clean and best of all a bath as well as the shower, HEAVEN. Plenty of hot water, good tea/coffee facility incl choccy chip biccys lol !!
Given a key to separate entrance if wanted to be late back ( we weren't late but nice to have the choice).
Breakfast was perfect, can't say enough about that.
We're shown to room immediately on arrival at 12.00 midday, another bonus as plenty of time to get ready for a 1.50 pick up, most places would insist on 2.00/3.00pm but I had phoned Sue in the week and she immediately said 12.00. Would stay again no question if/when in the area again, Thankyou Sue and Craig

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sceneit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    38
    13
    2
    15
See reviews for
45
47
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We were recommended to try this pub for a meal after being let down at Cavendish Golf Club. As it turned out, it was a silver lining in the cloud. The food was very good and the service was excellent. There were 9 of us, but it was no trouble for the staff to look after us so well at such short notice. They have a varied menu with a good choice of specials on the board. Everyone enjoyed their meals and the choice of ales. I'll definitely call again when out that way.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Have visited here many times as the food is good, plenty to choose from and great value but often wonder why the staff work here as they don't appear happy nor welcoming.
Outside seating available shaded and non-shaded.
Decent size carpark.
Love the cartoons in the toilets.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzzybee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We have visited this place a couple of times and the food and service is brilliant. The pub welcomes dogs which was great for us as well.
Recommend the cheese and potato pie, its fab, homemade and really tasty!!!
Well worth a visit if you are in the area, and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Had a lovely stay in the Ashbourne room with my husband and daughter. The room was spacious enough for the 3 of us. The shower was excellent with plenty hot water. The only complaint about the room was the bathroom was cold as only had a heated towel rail for heat, which didn't really manage to heat the large bathroom and caused condensation in the bathroom. The owners were friendly and the food was excellent. A great breakfast as well. Very dog friendly in both the rooms and the pub. Location was ideal for walks and close to where we wanted to be.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

Recently visited for Christmas dinner and it was amazing, plenty of meat, gravy and potatoes and nice selection of veg to accompany it! 2 other members of our party had 2 huge gammon steaks with a generous portion of chips!

Fab waitress she was lovely.... but the landlady was diabolically rude (couldn't even be bothered to turn her head around from the bar after we said bye and thank you and didn't take her eyes off her laptop until 5 minutes after we walked in baring in mind we were the only ones in there!)

Lovely Christmas decorations to give it a cosy feel! Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank F10Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcs
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We didn't stay here, we just went for Sunday lunch. Three of us had the traditional roast, which I have to say was very good. Home cooked, quality meat, generous portions and fresh veg. Husband had the steak pie with suet crust which he said was delicious. Unfortunately dessert wasn't so good. We had fruit crumble which was slimy, oversweet tinned "fruit pie filling" with a dusting of crumble mix on top, not nice. Seems a shame to go to such efforts with the homemade made courses and serve tinned pie filling for dessert, as its the part of the meal I look forward to, and it's not like a homemade apple crumble is difficult to make. Still, nice pub, great views and a nice bit of roast beef.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonia1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whaley Bridge
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
4.6 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
4.3 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shady Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shady Oak

Property: The Shady Oak
Address: | on the A5004, Fernilee, Whaley Bridge SK23 7HD , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Whaley Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Whaley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shady Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Shady Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shady Oak Whaley Bridge, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing