We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a relaxed celebration with friends”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Carr Cottage

View of the cottage from the enclosed garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the cottage from the enclosed garden
View to the house from the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
View of the cottage from the enclosed garden
View to the house from the garden
Garden
Looking down the garden
Newly fitted Shaker kitchen - velux windows make this room very bright.
Kitchen with breakfast table
Kitchen with breakfast table
Dining area
Looking towards the living area
Living area
Living area
Wood burning stove in  living area
Main bedroom with views of the garden
Main bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
characterful wooden doors throughout
Combs valley, 5 minutes by car
The Goyt Valley, 5 minutes by car
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whaley Bridge, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ecgNortha...
Northants
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a relaxed celebration with friends”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

So glad we found this beautiful cottage. Our stay was short, but the cottage facilities and the location would be perfect for a longer visit. We enjoyed spending time in the village and also loved our train journey to Disley. We had a great meal in The Cock on the Friday night, with staff friendly and helpful. All of the locals made us feel very welcome. Would highly recommend this cottage for a relaxed visit to Derbyshire.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review. We're so glad that you enjoyed it at Carr Cottage. Best wishes
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodyloyne...
Norwich
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed 17 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had a lovely weekend in Carr cottage at the beginning of December with another couple of friends. The cottage was bigger than it looked in the pictures, and very homely and warm. It snowed while we were there but the cottage was so warm, and the fire was great for the cold evenings. We stayed in Whaley bridge so we could travel to Manchester for the Christmas markets. The cottage was about 10 minutes walk from the train station and it took less than an hour to get to Manchester on the train. It was lovely to return from the busy city to this quaint little village/town and our lovely warm cottage for the weekend. Helen was great, very helpful during the whole booking process. I would definitely stay again if visiting this part of the UK again. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again in Whaley Bridge.
Best wishes
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“excellent stay”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014

Had a great week at Carr Cottage which is well equipped and very comfortable . Perfect for our autumn break and a great base to explore the nearby delights of the Peak District such as Goyt Valley, Buxton, Bakewell and Castleton with its world-famous Blue John caves.

We were also able to visit the Science Museum in Manchester which proved a great choice for our two boys who both loved it.

Whaley Bridge itself is well served with nearby supermarket, rail station and good walks ( Millennium bridge at New Mills is worth a visit) .also good takeaways and The Cock Hotel serves excellent (generous!!!) meals.

A great holiday home and location for anyone looking to enjoy the picturesque peaks at any time of year.

Mr. Saunders, Winchester

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review. Hope to see you at Carr Cottage again soon.
Best wishes
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme B
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A brilliant family friendly cottage in a quiet location”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage was everything we hoped and more - very clean with a warm welcome courtesey of complimentary shortbread! Lovely open plan renovation with modern kitchen and the best bit for us - loads of kids games - we didn't get out ours out all week. Location is great - just off the main road but very quiet. Local town had good takeaways (essential with small kids) and the canal is well worth a wander for its local history.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you appreciated the child friendly aspect of our cottage!
Hope to see you again.
Best wishes
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth793
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely clean, comfortably furnished and well equipped cottage. Great location to get to the peak district etc. Would happily recommend this cottage to anyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort and well equipped, quiet
Liked least: television
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review,
Best wishes
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise N
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous, cosy and well equipped cottage in a great location.”
Reviewed 14 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We found this cottage on Owners Direct which catered for our every need with a fully equipped kitchen, loads of maps and guides for the surrounding area, books and games to keep us and the children amused after a day out, cosy and comfortable set back from the road so felt like a little haven hidden away from the world.
Just what we were looking for and would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fully equipped
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review. The cottage is indeed hidden away which makes it very special!
We're glad that you enjoyed your time here.
Best wishes
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Reviewed 11 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review.
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage.
Best wishes
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing