We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Amble, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Catlbo
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A fab cottage with a homely feel. A perfect base for discovering Northumberland!
We spoke on the phone to the owner Tim who was friendly & helpful, he advised of some great places locally.
A Lovely welcome hamper was waiting in the cottage!
Everything was clean, fresh and comfortable. It really did feel like a 'home from home' especially with the wifi access, washer/dryer and great central heating system.
The location is perfect, overlooking the bay & pier. Great for people watching too!
Idea for dogs as the beach is less than a minute walk away and all the dog walkers we met were friendly & chatty. When it went dark all the rabbits came out and were hopping about on the pavement outside! The back garden is a bird magnet with feeding tables etc, we enjoyed keeping them well fed for the week.
The website photos don't do it justice at all, I'd recommend updating them.
Three of us stayed here, myself, husband and 15 yr old daughter along with our Border Collie. We hope to return very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and feeling of being in a home.
Liked least: The graffiti wall art in living room :D
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooneyWes...
west yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable house in fantastic location with wonderful views”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The house was perfect for us. wonderful views from the breakfast bar with passing boats, and little shore beach and grassy area just across the (quiet) road. This beach is enclosed by the harbour wall so is calm and safe for kids. Amble Links Beach, a 15 min walk or 2 min drive, is lovely. The house is comfortable, with all our needs thought of, the owners left a welcome pack of milk, bread, biscuits, wine etc which was great. The southfacing patio is enclosed and private, and the shrubs are a little haven for lots of tiny birds who feed on the birdtable. Location is great for beaches and castles (we did a walk from Craster to Dunstanburgh castle amidst spectactular coastal scenery, and afterwards had a lovely pub meal in Craster and bought kippers from the smokehouse). In Amble, plenty of local shops, amazing icecreams from Spurelli's cafe, lovely Puffin cruises from the harbour. a great holiday.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam D
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely house, nice location, good views”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Booked this cottage at the very last minute on Christmas Eve for a stay starting on Boxing Day for 1 week. Reasonably equipped house, lots of children's games. Woodburner gave the cottage an Xmas/winter feel but also the central heating was very efficient. Lovely picture window for watching the world go by. Walk out of the door and straight onto the beach. Good location for the rest of Northumberland

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abershand...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed here July 2014, two adults and our 16 year old son, great size for us.

s well as all the equipment , owner provided a welcome pack including a bottle of wine!

Great location overlooking the bay close to bars, cafes and supermarkets, ideal for exploring Northumberland. An information pack was also provided with all the sights to see and walks around the area..

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean D
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic holiday cottage”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My self and my wife enjoyed the cottage. It's right on the seafront with a green and beach across a small path. The cottage was spacious,all mod cons and lovely and clean. We received a welcome pack which was great.
There is a small co op just up the road for provisions or a tesco express in town.
The chip shop locally is fantastic and there is a resturant called the boat house on the quay which was lovely.There is another in the town but didn't go there but was always full. There are plenty of walks locally and there is a file at the cottage with loads of info in it. We loved it and will be back

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S
1 review
“a lovely place in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

2 bay view is an ideal place to stay to explore Northumberland, a spacious 2 bedroom house overlooking Amble harbour.The owners were very welcoming and helpful with some walks in the area,the welcome pack was much appreciated,and we would definately stay there again some time in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view from the breakfast bar
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mertonggi...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good base for a walking holiday”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed here for a week (10 to 17 May) and really enjoyed ourselves. We have a black lab - River, who absolutely enjoyed herself, but I think she was the only one glad to go home at the end of our stay as she was shattered with all the walking and swimming she did! Very close to the beaches and town, which has all you could need - good butchers, Tesco and Co-op supermarkets and banks, and some really good walks. We were contacted by the owner before our holiday and she gave us some really useful information. Also left a welcome package which included a very nice bottle of red wine and some eggs from her own hens - lovely and so fresh. The cottage has everything you might need, including a BBQ, which we used several times, and a woodburning stove, which we used even though it was not cold enough as it just looked so nice! There are loads of information leaflets/booklets to read through and plan days out with. Big picture window in the kitchen proved to be an ideal spot (at any time) to sit and look out over the grassy area to the beach and watch people, dogs and the birds. Very nice farmer's-type market on Sundays at the harbour - fresh fish, veg and meat. Bought a bag of mixed sole/plaice fillets, but could not eat it all as there must have been around 20 smallish fillets - this cost £5, good job River likes fish! Friendly local people, who are more than willing to pass on their local knowledge and help out if you are unsure of where to go. Hope we are able to go back one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting by the breakfast bar and looking out over the grass to the sand and the sea.
Liked least: Garden was slightly untidy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing