We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing views and everything in walking distance...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Amble, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hayley H
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing views and everything in walking distance , super place.”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

After a four hour drive in the rain we arrived to a lovely cottage overlooking the estuary , pier and sea . Inside the cottage was a welcome pack of bread, wine , tea,coffee biscuits and milk also a bag of logs and lighters to get you started. Such a cosy house well equipped in the kitchen and towels alike.
Very squeaky floor boards and stairs but no doubt the age of the house it's to be expected.
Visited the boat house for lunch - amazing food . Also Sunday Amble always has a market great for fruit veg seafood meat etc.
Spurellis cafe/icecream is highly recommended. All the shops etc you can easily walk to if you don't fancy driving.
Saw some amazing tide changes over the week with wonderful weather for the time of year.
Plenty sand on the beach at low tide , a dog lovers paradise as it seems the area to walk the dogs.
Locals all seem very friendly and we were given all the help and advice from the owners prior to our arrival.
Would love to return sometime in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy cottage great views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2016
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us, we are over the moon that you enjoyed your break at 2 Bay View. It is excellent to hear that the long drive was worth it to reach such a cosy comfortable cottage, which by the sounds of it is in a stunning position! How convenient to have everything you could need within walking distance too - ice cream by the beach is certainly a must! We certainly hope that you return in the very near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenMcD201...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 26 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed over Christmas 2015. The cottage is warm, mid December and we never got around to lighting the fire, it has its own wifi, and a great view onto the bay area, and you can just sit at the breakfast bar and watch the world go by. There is an enclosed garden, so if you have a dog, they won't be able to get out, the beds were comfortable and clean, there was plenty of hot water, and it does look just like it does in the pictures! The upstairs floors do creak, but soundproofing with the adjoining cottages is very good - so if you walk around in the night you might wake up other people in your house but not in anybody else's. A family of about 10 stayed next door when we were there and we didn't hear a peep from them and the street was really quiet.

The owners were very helpful, and left a welcome basket which included a bottle of red and a little selection of Stollen, which lasted a good 5 minutes. The cottage has lots of model ships as part of the decor - and it looks like they've taken care to make it feel like a home. There are also loads of DVDs and books to read, and there were also children's games in one of the bedrooms.

There are all sorts of places to walk dogs in the area, virtually all of them well away from roads, and there's a marina and the main street, Queen Street, which has lots of small retailers. Amble is not the most picturesque seaside town I've been to, but it has a lot to recommend it in terms of places to eat, and things to do, there are at least two fish and chip shops, and a co-op just down the road from the cottage which seems to open exceptionally long hours, and a boutique icecream parlour called Spurreli's which is worth a visit.

It really is a dog friendly place - our two are quite hyper and yet they were greeted with smiles by virtually everybody we met, people were extremely friendly generally, only one person didn't say 'hello' back the whole time we were there, and the Old Boat House serves the most amazing sea food.

The kitchen has everything you would need, the oven is fairly simple but it works fine, good selection of pans and it's quite well stocked with the basics.

There are no horror stories with this place - it is exactly as described. We had a lovely time there.

Also - the booking service, Sykes Cottages - their opening hours were until 9.30pm, we rang them at 9.25pm, very apologetic at being so late, they were very friendly, took the trouble to check with the owners about whether two dogs would be acceptable, while we were on hold, and the follow up was also good - sending through instructions and confirmation by email, how to get there, and other useful bits of information.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was quiet, warm, and comfortable
Liked least: If I had to pick anything, the creaky stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ast2
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This is a fabulous little house to use as a base in Northumberland. It was warm and had very good facilities. I particularly liked sitting at the breakfast bar and watching everyone walking on the pier. Bamburgh is a 40 minute drive but the great beaches of Alnmouth, Walkworth and Druridge Bay are only minutes away. Amble had a great pier walk and its own beaches if you want to stay at home. Loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2015
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday, and thank you so much for sharing this lovely feedback with us! People watching from the property sounds perfect to us too, as do all those lovely beaches on the doorstep! We Hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter G
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our very happy stay in Bay View”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

2 BayView was all we wanted in our holiday cottage, not only was it very clean but had everything we needed to make our stay very relaxing . We were left a very welcome package of milk, bread ,eggs ,tea&coffe plus a bottle of wine , enough to start the week off and very useful after our long drive to Amble . The view from the breakfast bar come drinks bar was great and the sunset was straight out in front of the window , just prefect . Also shops were just a couple of minutes walk away and Amble harbour with it's new retail again just 5 minutes walk . Overall we really enjoyed our stay at Bay View .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald S
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Comfortable well equipt cottage with everything you need. Look out the kitchen over a lovely bay. The rims are very comfortable with a secluded garden well fenced so our dog could go out without any worry. Short walk to the harbour with exellant restaurant( the Old Boathouse ) the beaches are stunning all close by. If you are a dog owner the Pubs and Restaurants are dog friendly.
We fully recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and scenery
Liked least: No bad points
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bazagail
cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ideal Holiday Home”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed at 2 Bayview from 21st to 28th March.Everything was just perfect, a lovely welcome pack awaited us and the owners were fantastic in regards information on the area and where there if you needed them only a phone call away Amble is a beautiful place and the views from the house are stunning,you are only a short drive from Alnwick Castle where the Harry Potter films were made,also Holy Island is a nice place to visit.
We could not fault the Holiday one bit and will definitely return there next year
We can only give this holiday 10/10

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Harbour Area
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage - Great Location”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Fantastic location for a quiet, tranquil Christmas - lovely walks on beach right outside front door with the towns facilities only 5 minutes walk away. Cottage is well equipped with log burner just right for settling in front of with a glass of wine - once the dog had been kicked out the way! Pet friendly, amiable neighbours, clean tidy and comfortable - we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location - on the beach
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing