We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Amble, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LynnethMo
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Had a fabulous week staying at this lovely cottage. Perfectly located near the centre of town and the redeveloped harbour; yet one of the quietest cottages we have stayed in! Such a peaceful road. The owners greeted us upon our arrival which was lovely. The cottage has everything you could need and the yard at the back is a real sun trap in the afternoon. A lovely peaceful place to sit and rekax. Ideally located on the coast. Warkworth, Alnmouth, Alnwick, Craster and Boulmer all very close to visit -Seahouses and Bamburgh just a little further north, as is Holy Island. We would have no hesitation in recommending this cottage - so comfortable and tastefully decorated. A real home from home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
Thank you for your very favourable review. We are pleased you had such an enjoyable stay. Hope to see you in Amble again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedell
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent spacious quiet holiday retreat!”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely house with spacious kitchen & living room. We cooked and served dinner for five very comfortably. Close to everything yet quiet street with easy parking. We enjoyed warm weather though efficient heating was much appreciated on a couple of cool days. Wifi is excellent & we were pleased to have a washing machine & south facing yard for drying. Welcoming & responsive hosts. I would highly recommend this lovely home & hope to return next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Quiet & space
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Judit...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cottage & Amble both lived up to description”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Cottage very suitable for our party: granny/parents/young children 9 & 4. Comfortable, well equipped, quiet and conveniently situated.
Plenty to do in Amble for the children. We also visited & all enjoyed Cragside, Holy Island, Flodden, Craster Alnwick, Warkworth - just wish we'd had time for more exploring.

Harbour cafe in Amble good; also ice cream parlour there and in Morwick.
only place not recommended was the Masons Arms in Warkworth. (Surly staff, poor beer, not as described in guides).

Hope to return to Northumberland before long.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It would have been nice if the weather had been better but it doesn't seem to have stopped you having a good time. We would be happy to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MumtoM
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The house is freshly decorated, well furnished and very well equipped. It is comfortable and cosy and in a perfect location to enjoy all that Northumberland has to offer. The owners were there to meet us on our arrival with lots of tips on places to go in the town and further afield. Amble has a beautiful beach and a good selection of shops and eating places including an award winning ice cream parlour. Everything in town is in easy walking distance from the house. We were sad to leave. Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to welcome you back in the future so that you can further explore this lovely county.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22george1...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun, Food, Friendliness Fine Weather For Fabulous February Stay”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage is in a silent cul-de-sac close to the shops, sea and churches. Amble has plenty of good food shops, two supermarkets a butchers and fish shop It lacks a really good bakery Buses run to local towns from end of street.
The cottage has brilliant central heating. The place is warm with in a few minutes of returning from walk and there is a good shower to aid recovery from exercise. Hills and beaches good venues for walks.
The kitchen is set out like a ship's galley and is easy to use which we found when preparing the locally source delicious food.
There was heaps of room for us to spread all our "toys" Good TV but better lighting would help those who like reading in the evening, a table lamp or two would help. Bathroom good and the bedrooms are well designed with lots of storage space. The quiet environment guarantees a good night's sleep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and the kitchem
Liked least: lighting in the sitting room
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Psycho-Tr...
West Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A really nice quiet stone terrace with comfortable beds and good facilities. Ideally placed for local shops and restaurants. The owners were very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet centeral location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2015
Thank you for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our property and would love to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy P
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic accommodation for a great family break”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a lovely relaxing week in Sunflower House during February half term. Accommodation is ideal - the house is well equipped for a great family stay - everything you need, very clean, comfortable and spacious. It is situated within 2 minutes walking distance to all local amenities, i.e. shops, harbour, restaurants and an ideal base to explore further Northumberland attractions. Short walk or drive to the beach. We loved the local ice cream parlour! We will definitely be back in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing